We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent La Badia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Badia
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent La Badia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Not much to add from what has been said by other reviewers... My only comments are not really about the hotel but worth knowing if you stay there:
1. If you dont walk too well the walk into town (downhill) is quite hard work and even harder coming back (uphill). The hotel's location does mean that you will have to take a bus or arrange a taxi.
2. If you take a taxi get the hotel to organise it. They are much cheaper than the ones in Sorrento.
3. The hotel gave us information about a community bus which runs between Priora and Piazza Tasso in Sorrento (1 Euro each way - see http://www.cooptasso.com/news/lineaurbana.php) but the Sita bus that operates on the Torca-S.Agata-Priora (via Nastro Verde)-Sorrento route is much more frequent (2.40 Euro each way, tickets from Tabacchi shops. See http://www.sitabus.it/sitabus/campania/orarioCAMPANIA/QUADROXIV.pdf)
3. There are two Room 34s! The one we had was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dean15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    165
    24
    12
    3
See reviews for
68
277
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tring
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We booked independently whereas most of the guests were on a Riviera package. We had a large room with wonderful sea views - it appears not all Riviera clients were as lucky. Hotel predominantly English visitors. View from dining terrace absolutely superb; food reasonable, as good if not better than many restauarnts in these parts - not cordon bleu but excellent service and jolly atmosphere. Helpful and pleasant staff, family run. Nice walk down to town, a real slog coming back up in the heat! Would recommend hotel, much nicer than the many "concrete blocks " in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I don't wish to repeat the same things that have been mentioned in the last two reviews. I agree absolutely with all the good remarks made. The location is fantastic, the views wonderful. OK the food is not cordon bleu but is well cooked, hot and cheerfully served. The Gala Dinner was lovely. The free taxi a bonus. I am a mature lady and travelled with my sister. We loved the area, the walk down to Sorrento was pleasant and not too far. Our only disappointment was with Riviera Travel. The organisation and information were abysmal. They had overbooked themselves and we suffered as a result. We booked nearly a year ago and paid extra for a seaview room but were put in a basement room (our only warning about the hotel, do not go into room 34 - it is damp and dark!) but after two nights we were able to move to the second floor. The beds are a bit hard and the pillows very solid. Apart from that glitch, I would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel or recommending it to friends. Just ring and check where your room is before you go. My sister suffered from an abscess in her mouth and Antonia cooked a special dish of fish for her so she had something soft, you cannot ask for better service than that!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 34. This appears to be the only one that is damp as it is right into the hillside, the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilibet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twix gatwick and heathrow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Ok, yes, La Badia has a pleasant pool area, a commanding sea view, convenient walk down to town, and quiet, but if you are here for a week with Riviera go expecting a small bedroom and shower room up at the top, with very poor standard of bed comfort, with low quality and quantity of food. Thankfully the head waiter is a bit of a card.
If you are on your own check the room first.

Room Tip: Reception level with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3bagsfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

La Badia is a delightful hotel on the hillside above Sorrento which gives it fabulous views across the Bay of Sorrento towards Mt Vesuvius or south to Capri. As I was travelling alone I had to pay single supplement which I did begrudge. However, on arrival I was given a double room that had a magnificent view over the bay. La Badia has character that many more modern hotels lack, like internal courtyard. The pool area is excellent with plenty of sun loungers and also a shady terrace. The pool is very deep and as a poor swimmer I found that disconcerting.
The walk up and down the lane to the main road into Sorrento takes about ten minutes and is not difficult for those who are fit. There is a local bus that will take you back up to the hotel if you do not fancy the walk up.
The family who run the hotel were extremely helpful and courteous at all times. Antonio ruled the dining room in his own charming way. The buffet breakfasts were excellent offering a good choice of cold foods and plenty of tea and coffee. The evening meals were disappointing in quality. I don't know when I last ate tinned peas - and at the Gala Dinner, too! The Gala Dinner was enhanced by the young man playing his guitar and singing to us as the sun set over Capri providing yet another brilliant sunset. I would recommend La Badia for couples and solos, because of its location and the deep pool it is not really suitable for families with young children.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenbrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
0.4 km away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
0.4 km away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Badia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Badia

Property: Hotel La Badia
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 8 | Via Capodimonte, 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,780 - ₹ 11,538
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Badia 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a small abbey, La Badia is situated in one of the prettiest parts of Sorrento, with splendid views of the Bay of Naples, and is surrounded by centuries-old olive and orange groves.Rooms: Each of the hotel's 41 rooms is individually furnished and equipped with en suite bathroom, hairdryer, telephone, air-conditioning, safe, and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Badia Hotel
La Badia Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing