We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel!”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Just returned from a week at the Antiche Mura. I would highly recommend this hotel. There were 5 of us: 2 grandparents and mum and 2 young children. We were given 2 rooms next to each other with a separate external door, so effectively had a two room suite. The swimming pool was perfect for the kids and adults - beautifully set amongst lemon trees - with a poolside bar. Breakfast was ideal - choices of hot and cold - grandad managed to fit in 3 courses!

Best of all, the hotel staff were fantastic, both friendly and helpful (special mention to Michelle whom the kids adored!). On arrival we were given a map of the town, timetables for the local trains and buses as well as details of reasonably priced tours. Oh.. and a complimentary bowl of fruit and sparkling wine in the room.

Lastly, the hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing in and around Sorrento. It is situated right in the picturesque old part of town and is an easy 10 minute walk to the train/bus station for trips to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius and the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Rooms 308 and 309 with outside door which effectively make two adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lastminuteplanner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,210 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Just home from 4 nights at this lovely friendly hotel. It was a return trip having stayed there last summer. Michelle greeted me like a long lost friend, so lovely. Everyone is cheerful and friendly, the hotel is spotless with a beautiful tranquil pool area and comfortable rooms. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone wanting to stay in the centre of sorrento but away from any noise and bustle. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: On this trip with my daughter we opted for the cheapest twin room with high windows. The room still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

As we approached the property the hotel bellman came to greet us and take care of our luggage. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and provided us with a map of the area as we told them it was our first time in Sorrento. It is centrally located so we could walk to the main square and wander around this charming town. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was huge. The breakfast buffet offered the best variety and quality of products out of the 2 weeks we spend traveling throughout Italy, such as, fresh fruits, lots of pastries, and real orange juice. The courtyard was full of lemon trees and we wished it wasn't that cold for us to eat outside. This hotel will always be in our memories, everything they did, from the moment we arrived to the day we left, was an example of truth hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol_loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location. Accommodation is perfect, has everything we need and would definitely stay here again? The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott72David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have visited Sorrento a number of times and have always stayed in hotels up in the hills with glorious views but have then spent a fortune on taxis to get down to the centre. Antiche Mura is right near the main square so no need for taxis anywhere!
The rooms are lovely, the staff (especially Aldo and Michelle) are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. One of our group left her evening shoes in the hotel in Naples and the staff at Antiche Mura arranged to collect them and bring them to her at no charge! How's that for service.
I could go on for hours about the location and the staff and the breakfast and the terrace and it would all be good.
If I had to make one criticism it would be that the sun loungers by the pool were not as comfortable as they could be - they have no mattress on them and also the towels are more like table cloths than the normal fluffy poolside towels that you would expect.
However, the location, rooms and friendliness of staff far outweighed these minor issues.
When I am next in Sorrento, I will definitely be staying at Antiche Mura and so will my 5 travelling companions!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
716 reviews
0.1 km away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,033 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: ₹ 10,554 - ₹ 37,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing