We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff but could use some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton International Hotel
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We were assigned to this hotel by Aura Tours on our arrival in Sorrento. We had been sent to the wrong hotel first and arrived there a little upset, as you can imagine. However, the desk clerk was very soothing and made us feel welcome. The first room we were assigned was on the pool side. We thought it was quite small and not what we had expected, especially the bathroom which had a small shower. We asked for another room. We were told it would be available the next day. We spent the night in the first room and got a great night's sleep as it is very quiet on that side. The next morning, we transferred to a bigger room, with a tub, on the other side. The view of the bay and Vesuvius was spectacular. However, there is a street right in front and it was noisier in the morning (garbage truck at 5 am). The hotel definitely caters to an older crowd, mostly from the UK. The furnishings are dated. We felt like we were in a time warp. However, the attentive service from all the staff made up for it. We had booked a boat tour through the hotel and, when our transportation didn't show up that morning, the desk clerk drove us down to the port in his own vehicle! The service in the dining room at night is very old-fashioned and formal. They had a gala dinner one night and it was quite an experience for us. The whole meal took two hours. There were two musicians, one singing and playing a guitar and the other a mandolin.The waiters carried each course in on trays in a procession. The dessert was brought in with the lights dimmed, sparklers lit and musicians playing. You could tell the maître d' and waiters wanted to impress. Worth mentioning : they give you this huge room key and safe key (no key card here) but we realized afterwards you can hand it in to the desk when you go out. Also, we had check out at 10 am and we weren't leaving until 3 p.m. They told us to leave our luggage in a small room off the lobby that anybody walking off the street could access. They should have a locked room. All in all, great location, great view, clean but a little rundown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 388 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

lovely hotel centrally located to all amenities,good food,friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TESS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Happened across this hotel when arrived in Sorrento for a two night stay without pre-booking a hotel! Fabulous room at a great discounted rate, sea view - magical, warm and cosy, staff excellent English and very helpful, breakfast has been better in other regions of Italy but it was perfectly adequate. Spacious room, really felt we got a great deal overall. Thanks to the Carlton!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelanieBriancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

My partner and I stayed here for a week last October. We had a front facing room with great views of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples. There was quite a bit of noise though from the neighbouring bar though at night. The room was spacious but basic. The dinner was very formal but the food was good quality. Great scrambled eggs for breakfast too! The pool area was nice too. The location of the hotel is what makes it special. It is just round the corner from the main square which is very handy! I didn't envy the people staying in hotels where you had to get a bus to get back! Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_C007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Awful.Never again. Only good thing if you do not want any views is that this hotel is very central, but 'no views' sacrilage in such a beautiful area. Never known so many people to be moaning about their hotel. Food poor, staff well what can i say, maybe arrogant is a word that comes to mind, especially the management. Pool area awful, (looks great in the photos ha) nicer to sit in someones garden, the adjacent hotel also have use of the pool with their children etc, expensive sunbeds so nobody hired one and we all made do with the slightly uncomfortable deckchairs. Rooms clean and alright, views terrible, either other buildings if pool side of hotel or busy road if front of hotel. Piano bar next door have many parties in the garden area so very noisy on many nights till approx 1/2am. Nobody used the bar as it was the most unwelcoming part of the hotel, small no atmosphere with odd decoration, nobody used it. We have stayed in many fantastic 3 & 4 star hotels in sorrento over the years, in the centre and just outside. All we would recommend for different reasons unfortunately not this one. 4* unbelievable! Sorrento is superb and we have been coming here for many years always with happy memories, this hotel spoilt our well earned holiday. Never again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwood_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
482 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
727 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Zi Teresa
Hotel Zi Teresa
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
373 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
821 reviews
1 km away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton International Hotel

Address: Via Correale 15 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: ₹ 7,095 - ₹ 15,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton International Sorrento
Hotel Carlton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing