We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton International Hotel
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

This is a perfectly located hotel, 2minute walk from the heart of the bustling Sorrento piazza.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly, speak impressive English and couldn’t be more friendly.
We had a basic room, which looked out to mount Vesuvius. The rooms are very clean but fairly dated with the decore- this was something that doesn’t not personally bother us for such a short stay. There is a safety deposit box available free of charge- something you don’t always get.
The pool area was nice and again staff couldn’t be more helpful, always available to serve a cheeky cocktail or two. Ample sun beds available due to the quiet time of year we visited. Warning- freezing pool if dare!
They offer a continental breakfast with a choice of pastries, bread, cereals, juice etc. It was ok- we generally prefer to cooked breakfast but it set us up for the day. This hotel does not offer any other meals so you do need to go out of the hotel for lunch and dinner. We enjoy dining out on an evening but did miss a pool snack bar during the day.
We flew to Naples Airport and found it easy to locate after taking a 1hr 15min shuttle bus to Sorrento and then a short walk (5min).
Overall, a pleasant and enjoyable stay with basic facilities in a perfect, central location.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Just returned from a wonderful week in beautiful Sorrento, based at the Hotel Carlton. We were upgraded from a previous Hotel 2 weeks before leaving and so glad! Situated only 2/3 Minute walk from central Sorrento, and yards away from the El Lauro Parking area where many of the trips around Amalfi pick up from, it is an absolutely ideal location and easy to wander round Sorrento in the evening to the shops, restaurants and harbour area.

Lovely staff, beautiful pool area - be warned it is unheated but wonderful for a cool off once you brave it! Excellent continental breakfast and immaculately clean. The Reception staff could not have been more helpful and one lady in particular saved the day for us when our Airport Transfer did not turn up and we faced missing our flight, by finding us a local Taxi immediately.

Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room with balcony and Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hazel52Falkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a gem! It is located right in the centre of Sorrento and offers great rooms with balconies overlooking the Naples bay including Vesuvius. Large swimming pool with plenty of sun time, well stocked pool bar and excellent breakfast. Do not be fooled by the dated decor, and although the rooms have seen their better days, this is definitely worth the try for a holiday in Sorrento especially when compared to the otherwise many times more expensive competitors. Strongly recommend!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank mikkomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We stayed a couple of nights recently with a party. We had a sea facing room which was clean with comfortable beds. I gather that others in our group were not so fortunate Staff efficient, breakfast ok although I do not know why so called 4* hotels serve such cheap and awful orange juice. I don't know if evening meals are served but hotel is located close to lots of excellent restaurants so we did not want to eat in.

Room Tip: Sea view - some rear views are poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

- unfriendly staff
- very old facilities and rooms
- not very clean - bathroom in particular
- no sound insulation between rooms and common areas
- no linen change
- no gym
- no restaurant/room service other than breakfast
- no parking
- uncomfortable bed with uneven springs
- bathroom very small

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Giampi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
726 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
1 km away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,787 reviews
0.8 km away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,389 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton International Hotel

Address: Via Correale 15 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: ₹ 7,893 - ₹ 38,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton International Sorrento
Hotel Carlton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing