We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,258)
Filter reviews
2,258 results
Traveller rating
1,911
262
58
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,911
262
58
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every hour gala dinner quarter past the hour shuttle bus salad bar always on time sea view evening meal fantastic hotel plenty of sunbeds waiter service half board hotel is spotlessly clean pool attendant great holiday large pool amalfi drive
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 2,258 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I recently had a ten night stay at this hotel and can honestly say it was a wonderful experience. The food was excellent, the hotel itself was clean and well presented throughout and the staff were very friendly and close knit, almost like family. Special mentions go to Franco, Pepe, Angello, Nello and Marcello. All were fantastic.

The pool area was relaxed with no clammer for sun beds, and as the clientele of the hotel tended to be of an older age, I would say 55+, the number of children on site were few.

The hotel runs a mini bus into Sorrento on the hour which only takes around ten minutes to get to, and picks you up on quarter past the hour. This was very useful as there's not a great deal immediately outside the hotel save for a beach and small village not far away. The only obstacle to the beach was the steep road down to it. We were told it was 15minutes walk down and half an hour back up!

Overall highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Dear Martin N
We cannot say anything else than thank you for the nice words had for our hotel and our way of working. It is a real pleasure for all of us to know that our guests are
so happy . Looking forward to having you back with us we send the best wishes from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed here for 10 nights and it was a delight. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was simply excellent and very well served. Though a 10 mins drive from the centre of Sorrento, the shuttle-bus is just brilliant and more than makes up for the "out of town" location. We were struck by how many people we met at the hotel were "returnees" - it didn't take us long to find out why! This is certainly a hotel we would come back to.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 174ricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Dear 174ricky
Thank you very much for your deductions and we are very pleased to read such comments of our customers and that the hard work of our staff is appreciated.
We always try to give our best to make the stay as pleasant as possible. We hope to revisit in the near future.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Not much to add to all the other very positive reviews, but to say what a great way to spend a chilled out week , with staff that care and top quality service and facilities. The weather helped too! Grazie Mille to the La Solara Team!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RooneyRumble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Dear RooneyRumble9
Thank you very much for your words and it is an honor for us to read that your words about "LA SOLARA". This greatly helps our staff who feel rewarded for their hard work to satisfy our guests.
Awaiting to have you back in the near future, please, accept our best greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel. Didn't have to lift a finger, the staff took care of everything.
The weather was very hot so didn't do any trips but thoroughly enjoyed relaxing by the pool with the odd trip into Sorrento on the courtesy mini bus.
The food was varied and the wine recommendation from the waiter excellent!
Go and enjoy!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Dear jjeffery2010
We are all happy to have satisfied your desires. We hope that this will be also in the future. Surely we will do everything to make your stay with us always to your liking. Greetings from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 11 nights on a booking with Thomson holidays. The immediate impression of the hotel was the warm welcome of the staff and how light and airy it was, this view was reinforced throughout our stay, the public rooms are excellent and the staff without exception are warm & friendly.
Our room was on the side of the hotel and although not with the best of the views it was roomy, had excellent air condition and very comfortable beds. It was also a surprise to get English channels on the TV, which is not so common in Italy.
The pool and pool area were very good, plenty of sun beds and some with shade and a nice area for lunchtime snacks, the food was excellent with a good choice.
The prices in the hotel were fair for both alcohol and food, not really expensive but this was pre Brexit!
With Thomsons we were on a half board basis which becomes a little repetitive after a while ( not the menu but not going elsewhere) so we did out a couple of times, however there was nothing wrong with the food or service.
My 2 main criticisms are aimed at the bathroom and the breakfast choice, with the former, it was impossible to shower without getting the floor wet, the unit was situated at the centre point of the bath not the end, so water was leaving the bath even with the shower curtain shut.
Regarding breakfast, there was no change in choice from day to day, Macedonia fruit salad was served every morning and water melon, it was very repetitive and also disappointing that coffee came out of a machine with milk in sachets, not fresh, we thought that could have been better.
It's well documented that the hotel is well out of town but the shuttle service is excellent and always on time, the bus is about a 20-25 seater so you don't have to worry about getting a seat.
You can walk into Sorrento but you need to be fit as its quite a climb at the start, there is nowhere to walk around the hotel in the evening.
Besides the couple of complaints, it was a very nice stay.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank grinch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H8621SIinfo, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear grinch99
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your suggestions how to improve our service to our customers.
In the future we will be more careful about everything that you've listed and I am sure that by your next visit you will enjoy your stay with us.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews