We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel del Mare
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$ 492
US$ 475
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$ 366
US$ 263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 436
US$ 412
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$ 637
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$ 549
US$ 538
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 886
US$ 724
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Plaza(Sorrento)
US$ 530
US$ 515
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 499
US$ 374
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 587
US$ 514
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$ 1,004
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
421
286
66
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
286
66
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terraceminute walkfishing villagerooms are smallthe buspastrieshotel is locatedmain townup hillsea viewbreakfast roomeggs and baconsteep walkbreakfast stafftop floorfamily roomlovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I have just had a lovely week at the Hotel Del Mare.

The hotel is situated in Marina Grande, a peaceful little fishing village about 15 minutes walk from Sorrento.

The staff are friendly and helpful, hotel very clean and tidy and there was a wide choice for breakfast which was in a room underneath the hotel in a little cave.

We had a room over looking the road, but did not find this noisy as it only goes to the fishing village so there was not much traffic. Rooms are of adequate size and had a small balcony; bed was fairly firm. Rooms cleaned daily.

The only slight issue we had was when we arrived we tried to put the air conditioning on as it was so hot; we couldn't get it to work so my husband went to see someone about it and was told that they did not put it on until the end of May! (we stayed at the beginning). However they did put it on eventually to which we were grateful.

There are some really nice restaurants in Marina Grande next to the harbour.

Would recommend this hotel and if ever we were in Sorrento again would stay here.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarbsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

How thoughtful of you to take your time and write about your experience at the Hotel del Mare, we are delighted to hear from you.
Your only disappointment is also ours, in fact, due to the Energy Saving Act there are some restrictions regarding heating and air conditioning: in your case we had to bypass a couple of rules hoping that we will not be found out.
We are also thrilled to hear that, overall, you had a nice holiday in our area.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant futere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed in Hotel del Mare for one night as a solo traveller. It has it's pros and cons. Pros - The price was very reasonable. Customer service was good, I found the staff to be friendly, helpful and professional. It was clean, and the breakfast buffet was great (and in a very cool underground cellar!). It was also close to a family-owned trattoria (Trattoria Emilia) which does an amazing gnocchi with tomato sauce and clams!

Cons - the location is a bit awkward. It's about a 20 minute walk to the main piers with the hydrofoils, and you have to go up and down a lot of stairs. There is, however, a bus stop nearby which will take you quickly to the main street and the train station.

The room was not very large. The shower water was cold when I was there and I noticed copper corrosion around the taps - which I don't think is a major problem but detracted from the ambience a bit. I also found the mattresses too firm for my liking but that's a personal preference - other people may not mind.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Have just spent a wonderfull week at the Hotel del Mare.This hotel is spotlessly clean and provides a good assortment of fresh breakfast items. The staff are very helpfull and friendly. This area in Marina Grande is attractive and very relaxing. We shall certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have sun for most of the day and we did not miss a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARGARET T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Glad we stayed in this area for 4 days, walking distance to main street and Marina Grande restaurants. Hotel is very clean, staff helpful and friendly, good assortment for breakfast. My only complaint is internet access 1 € for 10 minutes 3€ for 30 minutes but it takes 5/6 minutes just to get to a site also if you get 30 minutes you cannot go off and back on.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor (top) had a view from the window (no balcony) but the 4th floor has the whole roof top with lounges.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you so much for such an appreciative review regarding your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you. With reference to your major complaint regarding internet, we must point out that WI-FI connection is completely free of charge throughout the hotel; on the other hand if you use the house computer situated in the reception area there is a charge, this is understandable because the fees are put towards maintenance costs; recently we had to buy new machinery.
We can only apologize for some misfunctions of our connections, we have complained many a time to our provider and things seem to have improved considerably since. Thank you again for your kindness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Friendly , clean excellent all round place to stay
Travelled with my son we arrived early for check in no problem
Staff very helpful very informative of the area. We only stayed one night not long enough
We over slept in the morning and breakfast was finished again no problem they served us and allowed us to check out 30 mins late again no problem
Will be back for sure
Thanks for a great stay

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you very much. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews