We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely quiet hotel in a wonderful location”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Caterham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely quiet hotel in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had a lovely week in this lovely quiet hotel just minutes from the Marina Grande. The staff are friendly and professional. The breakfasts are lovely with everything you could want to set you up for the day. Although there is no pool there is an amazing sun terrace overlooking the bay. The location is perfect with a short walk to the main town of Sorrento but far enough away to be in a quiet location near the Marina Grande. We had a room with a balcony which overlooked the front of the hotel and there was some noise from the road but nothing that would spoil your stay. The hotel is clean and reasonably priced, the perfect base for a stay in Sorrento with the best of both worlds with the town nearby and the marina just minutes away.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms do not have a sea view but you can go to the sun terrace for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    263
    58
    23
    9
See reviews for
174
347
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I have just had a lovely week at the Hotel Del Mare.

The hotel is situated in Marina Grande, a peaceful little fishing village about 15 minutes walk from Sorrento.

The staff are friendly and helpful, hotel very clean and tidy and there was a wide choice for breakfast which was in a room underneath the hotel in a little cave.

We had a room over looking the road, but did not find this noisy as it only goes to the fishing village so there was not much traffic. Rooms are of adequate size and had a small balcony; bed was fairly firm. Rooms cleaned daily.

The only slight issue we had was when we arrived we tried to put the air conditioning on as it was so hot; we couldn't get it to work so my husband went to see someone about it and was told that they did not put it on until the end of May! (we stayed at the beginning). However they did put it on eventually to which we were grateful.

There are some really nice restaurants in Marina Grande next to the harbour.

Would recommend this hotel and if ever we were in Sorrento again would stay here.

Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
How thoughtful of you to take your time and write about your experience at the Hotel del Mare, we are delighted to hear from you.
Your only disappointment is also ours, in fact, due to the Energy Saving Act there are some restrictions regarding heating and air conditioning: in your case we had to bypass a couple of rules hoping that we will not be found out.
We are also thrilled to hear that, overall, you had a nice holiday in our area.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant futere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed in Hotel del Mare for one night as a solo traveller. It has it's pros and cons. Pros - The price was very reasonable. Customer service was good, I found the staff to be friendly, helpful and professional. It was clean, and the breakfast buffet was great (and in a very cool underground cellar!). It was also close to a family-owned trattoria (Trattoria Emilia) which does an amazing gnocchi with tomato sauce and clams!

Cons - the location is a bit awkward. It's about a 20 minute walk to the main piers with the hydrofoils, and you have to go up and down a lot of stairs. There is, however, a bus stop nearby which will take you quickly to the main street and the train station.

The room was not very large. The shower water was cold when I was there and I noticed copper corrosion around the taps - which I don't think is a major problem but detracted from the ambience a bit. I also found the mattresses too firm for my liking but that's a personal preference - other people may not mind.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANSFIELD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Have just spent a wonderfull week at the Hotel del Mare.This hotel is spotlessly clean and provides a good assortment of fresh breakfast items. The staff are very helpfull and friendly. This area in Marina Grande is attractive and very relaxing. We shall certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have sun for most of the day and we did not miss a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARGARET T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Glad we stayed in this area for 4 days, walking distance to main street and Marina Grande restaurants. Hotel is very clean, staff helpful and friendly, good assortment for breakfast. My only complaint is internet access 1 € for 10 minutes 3€ for 30 minutes but it takes 5/6 minutes just to get to a site also if you get 30 minutes you cannot go off and back on.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor (top) had a view from the window (no balcony) but the 4th floor has the who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review regarding your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you. With reference to your major complaint regarding internet, we must point out that WI-FI connection is completely free of charge throughout the hotel; on the other hand if you use the house computer situated in the reception area there is a charge, this is understandable because the fees are put towards maintenance costs; recently we had to buy new machinery.
We can only apologize for some misfunctions of our connections, we have complained many a time to our provider and things seem to have improved considerably since. Thank you again for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
0.3 km away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
474 reviews
1.1 km away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,725 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Property: Hotel del Mare
Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,398 - ₹ 14,858
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing