We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel and staff”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Belair Hotel. We had a lovely holiday and found the hotel to be great. The location, whilst a 15 minute walk from the center of Sorrento, had wonderful views of the bay from your balcony or terrace. Many of the hotels in the area appear to charge supplements for sea view/balcony but these seem to be standard at the Belair. The bus stops outside the hotel for routes around the penninsular and so is great for gettng about and doing some beautiful walks. As the rooms are below the road level, you are protected from the noise of the coast road. The staff will go the extra step to ensure you make the most of your stay. From the general manager, reception team, bar and restaurant staff and maids, everyone was always patient and willing to help with my many queries. .

The food is excellent and if you don't like your choice at dinner, the staff will have a long discussion about what you would prefer without it being any trouble. The barman will kindly lend you his reading glasses to choose drinks ( I forget mine a few evenings).

The sun does pass over the hotel in the afternoon but I managed to stay in the sun until 4pm by the pool - this is not heated.

The hotel achieves a high standard and "does things properly" without being too formal/stuufy. We would recend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,339)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belair
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 794 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Belair the last week in April and enjoyed the very good April rates.
We have stayed here once before, one other hotel in Sorrento, one in Amalfi, and about 20 in Europe. We stay in the 150-250 Euro price range. We were in room 309, superior room.

Overall - This is my best value hotel in Europe, great location, view, service, room.

Room - Very good sized room and bathroom. Very attractive. Overall perhaps 12 ft by 28ft, Very nice tile floor and bathroom, Safe, mini frige, new 32 in Samsung TV. Huge terrance, We requested a large
terrance on the 3rd floor and that is what we got. Room was kept super clean.

Hotel - Excellent service, Unlike some hotals in Europe or USA, they will gladly do anything
within reason to help you out. Outstanding service at the front desk, room service, and breakfest.
Other reviews have talked about the killer views, I was told by management only one room has no bacony. Breakfest is excellent, you have to ask for made to order eggs and cappicino and both are worth asking for.

Stay here, you will not be disappointed, Special thanks to Gianlucca, you are the best.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have the biggest terrances and perhaps are a bit more quiet,
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuriNorthernViginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

nice hotel couldent fault ,,staff all helpfull and pleasent ,,enjoyed our 30th anniversary there ,

Room Tip: we were in 206 nice size room
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Let me start by saying that this hotel has it all. We were greeted by Francesco and he was as wonderful and helpful on day six as he was on day one. The staff are all great. Monica greeted us every morning and helped us with bookings and local restaurants. Rossano is the bartender from 5pm until midnight. What a great and funny guy he was each and every night. The wait staff were incredible. So let me tell you about the hotel:

1. Rooms-Easy check-in and the bags were delivered to your room. All rooms come with a balcony and the most amazing views. Across from the rooms is the view of Mt. Versuvius. The lights at night are spectacular. I went down to the dining room and got breakfast on a tray to eat out on the balcony one morning. Just superb!! There is a hair dryer and toiletries in the bathroom. There is a magnifier mirror attached to the wall for make-up which was nice. The towels are the size of beach towels and delivered each day along with clean sheets each day. Beds are firm and very comfortable. They turned down your bed at night. The room was immaculate with a flat screen tv, safe, & most of us had king beds. E-mail Francesco with a bed request if you are unsure and the floor you want. TIP* If you like a face cloth then bring some along. Our rooms were on an April special for 104 euros a night.There were 18 of us and not one complaint to be had!!!

2. Breakfast- The first table is cereals, fresh fruit, yougurt and juices. The next table is all kinds of breakfast pastries. A wonderful assortment of fruit tarts, cakes, scones, and filled desserts. They change daily. The next table has breads, rolls, cheeses, meats, tomatoes, and a toaster. When you sit down the waiter will take your order for coffee, cappuccino, or tea, eggs and bacon and sausage. The breakfast is just a wonderful start to the day.
We did have dinner there on Thursday evening April 19th and what a treat. It was a candlelight dinner. The food was great and we were treated to the most amazing singer. Just wonderful.

3. Sorrento- Just an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel. It has many wonderful restaurants and plenty of shopping. TIP* If you need a cab then the desk will arrange one for 12 euros. It is a good deal because we got one back from the city for an elderly friend who walked in but was too tired to walk back and the cab fee was 17 euros. TIP* Always carry a package of tissues with you as many of the public bathrooms do not have toilet paper.

4. Bookings- Francesco helped us in advance hire a minivan and driver that took us around the Almalfi Coast. We had the van, driver and guide for 7 hours. The guide was 180 euro for the day and the van 60 euro an hour. It was a total of 600 euros. All the quotes I got before that were 1,200 and 1,300 euros. We also took the minivan to Pompei for 4 hours along with a guide. The guide was 150 euro for the trip and the van 60 euro an hour. The minivan took us to Naples for our return flight home for a flat fee of 180 euros. You couldn't beat the price for the size of our group.

Enjoy because you feel like you are in paradise here!!!

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms for the best views. They are all good but higher is even better.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freckles2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just returned from a lovely four day break in Sorrento staying at the fabulous hotel Belair and cannot recommend the hotel rnough, the five marks at the top are not enough, it is should be a 10 or more, it is a fantastically run hotel, stunning views, five mins walk from town, bus stop outside, the friendliest, most efficient staff we have ever met, we didnt want to leave. The breakfast buffet is lovely, the service is super efficient during breakfast, nothing is too much trouble but is is very relaxed and everyone smiles. The bar service in the evening is likewise superb and the housekeeping team do an excellent job, the place is spotless. No matter what time of day you leave your room there is always someone at the Reception desk with a smile, ready to help with anything you need. The friendliness of the staff makes your stay second to none, coupled with lovely big rooms and superb views over the bay. The perfect place to holiday. Your couldnt ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Just ask when you book for advice, they will answer you honestly and efficiently.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerja952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,621 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: ₹ 12,970 - ₹ 34,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing