We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Placerville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Lovely hotel and very helpful staff and free wi-fi, and included an ample breakfast. We had a beautiful sea view room, and the one night we had dinner in the restaurant, it was thoroughly enjoyable. We really appreciated the free shuttle into town and hooked up with a bus tour to Positano and Amalfi from the bus station in Sorrento. Didn't use the pool as we went into town each day, though we walked around the grounds and everything was well maintained. The weather was very warm and humid.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    422
    208
    59
    37
See reviews for
294
482
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
310 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Really nice hotel, perched up on the hill above Sorrento. About 25 min walk to the town up/down a dangerous road. But there is a free shuttle bus. Fantastic views, but you will need to pay for a sea view room - costs about £20 per night. Well worth it in our opinion. Breakfast great - and easy enough to make up rolls etc for your picnic lunch too ! Small gym, but fantastic pool with great views of the bay and Vesuvius.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view, but will cost you an extra £20 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paulspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The Grand Hotel Vesuvio was, for us, outstanding in every respect: the location, the views, the cleanliness, the pool, and especially the food. The Restaurant Manager, Nino, deserves special praise for his friendliness and charm, and for the way he made mealtimes fun for our fussy-eater son. Nino is the Lionel Messi of restaurant managers! Thank you Nino!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 796Crier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Vesuvio on a semi-escorted tour from Rome to Amalfi in October. We have traveled extensively in Europe, and Italy, for decades so are not new to hotel variety and quality, or what to expect by the star ratings. The hotel was selected by the tour operator, so we had to go along with their choices, though it was to include 4 star hotels for each of our stops. The lobby and hotel were clean, but beginning to show some wear. The reception staff were truely excellent and professional, taking care of our requests for extra linens and pillows, even changing out a matress on our bed which was way too hard. The room had a king bed and tiny outdated tv, though it did have a nice modern bathroom, plus a balcony overlooking the hillside. The views of Sorrento from the roof and second floor terrraces were exceptional, though not from our room. Unfortunately for us, the weather had gotten cold for a days before we arrived, then warmed up again. The hotel had turned off their air conditioning so our room was inexcusably hot, and the fan setting for the room for the thermostat barely stirred the air; we kept the balcony door open as long as we could, but the mosquitos and flies forced us to close it for the night. The bed was as hard as a rock, and even the changed out mattress the second night there was just the same. We could hardly sleep at all and were exhausted.

As our tour included breakfasts and dinners there, we did not have much of a choice for food-- the breakfast buffet was excellent, no doubt about it, but the dinner selections were average at best and mostly miss: the veal was tender one evening, but the beef steak was a piece of shoe leather-we watched other diners try to eat that inedible mess and give up even though it came out medium rare. Minestrone soup was a watered down broth with a few miniscule slices of vegetables, lentil soup and many of the pasta selections were flavorless starches. The servers and waiters were generally very attentive, but one server had apparently not bathed for days--his body odor lingered wherever he walked causing us to try and change seats or leave the dining area as quickly as we could; who do you complain to about such a situation, don't the other wait staff notice this problem in personal hygiene?

Avoid this hotel if you can. We won't be back and will be commenting to the tour operator as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tigerseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the whole experience. Hotel is beautifully maintained and service level was excellent at front desk and in restaurant and bar. Meals were an occasion with lots of good menu choices and extensive wine list at reasonable prices.
Hotel has shuttle bus to town & back. A great base for day trip to Isle of Capri, Pompeii and old town core of Naples.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Sorrento and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
24.5 km away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
1.0 km away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,577
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing