We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - What a VIEW!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW - What a VIEW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay. We had a fantastic time, loved the views from our balcony with the bay of Naples and Vesuvius one way and Sorrento the other. The pool area looked fantastic. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, food very good and a very efficient free shuttle bus service into Sorrento. We are hoping to return soon. Thanks again Alberto!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Chris989,

Thank you for your kind review!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Sorrento!

Have a wonderful day,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    341
    133
    50
    38
See reviews for
145
625
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here for the second half of our honeymoon. I'm really not sure why there are any moans, the hotel views are stunning, as is the pool.
The staff were brilliant, and polite, one even giving us a lift up the hill when there was a mix up on transport with a tour we'd booked. (another company, not the hotels fault).
The shuttle bus runs regularly, and on time, and the food is simply brilliant. Myself and my partner simply cannot praise the hotel enough. It is one hotel we shall definitely return too.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lady_toxica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Lady_toxica,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
This is very much appreciated, I hope to welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit to Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

this was an excellent modern hotel with friendly helpful staff,the courtesy bus to and from the centre of Sorrento is punctual and at very good times, hotel clean, food of a decent standard waiters usual Italian friendly.Reception staff very obliging.Only down side was finding this hotel up a very narrow hillside road,not unusual for Sorrento,but still awkward to find.Overall would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.not the ones under the swimming pool,it gives a better view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear MR David P,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I do have to admit that the road is steep, but once that you reach the hotel, you can enjoy the best view over Sorrento Coast.

Hoping to welcome you again at Gran Paradiso, I am here to send you my best regards,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We arrived at the Grand Paradiso Hotel on a rainy day in late october 2011. the general outside appearance and lobby was dated and unattractive.
the hotel sits on top of a hill which is quite a walking distance up through an unattractive, depressed looking, narrow road from the main street. the hotels staff were very nice and tries their best to be accommodating. however, the hotel itself including the lobby area and elevator are tired looking and old fashioned, our of the 50's.
at night you constantly hear dogs barking and church bells ringing every 15 minutes, if you keep the doors open as we had to, since the air-conditioning was shut down and the air in the room was stagnant.
while we did not use the pool it looked very attractive and modern with a negative edge quality. the pool area overlooked sorrento.

the room & hotel was kept nice and clean. the shower was terrible with only a trickle of water. towels were badly dated.

i must say their buffet breakfast was very nice presented in a large room overlooking the pool area and the skyline of sorrento. eggs were available but not cooked to order.

a nice quality of the hotel is the shuttle service to & fro the main square of town on a pre-set schedule.

I think this hotel to be a 3 star hotel nothing more as it stands now.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bigsteven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear bigsteven1,

Thank you very much for posting your point of view on our hotel.

I remember personally when you arrived at Gran Paradiso in a rainy day of the end of October.

As you might remember, you asked to see if a suite was available, and we showed to you, as you wanted to stay relaxed in a big room for the 1 night stay.

We told you that it was possible to allocate you in this suite with a supplement. But you did not wanted to, that is why now the shower is small and the air conditioning (set to hot temperature) was stagnant, but for sure not shut down as we do provide hot water with the AC engine.

I also remeber that you wanted to change 3-4 times your plane ticket because you wanted to have the best seat available in the plane in middle row, burt with a space between your two seats in order to have more space during your flight, so we worked hard for you in order to call the plane company and set your seat at pay line that costed you only 3 Euros.

In Italy churches are one of the most impressing tip to a holiday, and also you need to be aware that in our area there is a incredible concentration of Churches, fro example in Sorrento there are 10s of churches, so the bell ringing are almost impossble to avoid.

In case you will be back to Sorrento for 12 hours, I will do my best to book a Suite free of charge for you even if you have paied for a low cost room.

Thank you for choosing Sorrento for your stop over.

Yours sincerely,
Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I wanted to celebrate my 60th with friends and family and I am so glad I chose this hotel again. I had stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and found they are so helpful, friendly glad to see that even some of the same staff are still there. It was clean, comfortable and with that fantastic view from the balcony we all had agreat time everyone wished they could of stayed longer than the 5 days and all of us want to come back and stay here again. So a big thankyou to all the staff there for making my 60th so special.

Room Tip: Must have a sea view room with a balcony to make this extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busylizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear busylizy ,

Thank you for coming again to Gran Paradiso, to celebrate your 60th anniversary!

It has been a pleasure for us to have you here, I hope to welcome you again in the next visit in Sorrento.

Yours sicerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.7 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
1.0 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
2.4 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
2.7 km away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,638 - ₹ 25,211
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing