We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

A very good four star hotel set within walking distance of the centre of the town. Excellent food ( very varied menu on half board with good vegetarian options and some gluten-free choices too), good service (attentive but not too full on - it was there if you needed it) and lovely setting overlooking the bay of Naples. The rooms were traditionally Italian and lovely toiletries etc. It was more a hotel for couples than families - not particularly equipped for young children, although they were very welcome. Lots of steps and different levels - plenty of lifts - but not well suited if you struggle with stairs etc

Room Tip: Dont go for the garden rooms or the partial seaview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    527
    149
    66
    42
See reviews for
429
1,329
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. We were a family of 6 and had to get 2 rooms - but it was worth it. (Of course wished for families there was a cheaper alternative or even a discount on second room - but to no avail). The sea view rooms were what we expected with great balconies and nice views of the town and sea. The rooms were very clean and quiet and AC worked well. Pool was great - and the Pool lifeguard was great to our kids.

The breakfast was great. It was a easy 10 minute walk into town - very do-able even which children.

We wished that the rooms had a hot-pot/coffee maker in them - something that seems to be within expectations of a 4 star or 5 star hotel. Then we could have enjoyed the balcony a bit more! Free Wifi which worked well enough. Food at the pool was maybe a bit overpriced but was good.

Would come back again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor overlooking the front of the hotel and the sea. Quiet enough. Though on W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cthurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel did not disappoint. Stunning views- exceptional staff- very good half board menu which could be swopped evening for lunch so as to enjoy the wonderful choice of restaurants in Sorrento. Close to Sorrento, ten minutes walk was described and was that- so often details say that and is not the case but is a fab location for all the area has to offer which is considerable in itself.
The staff are wonderful- helpful, personable and offer a very personal touch.
Guisy, Carlo, Giovanni, Gianni, Raffeal, Vincenzo, Enrico at the pool- thank you all so much- particular appreciation to the 'egg waiter' at breakfast who knows more about eggs than anyone else I know and delivers delicious omlettes, perfectly boiled eggs again and again.

One small point was in respect to the room we were offered- I had partcularly asked for not a 'cave room', we were very diappointed that despite booking a lomg way ahead and making enquiries we still had this problem- we asked to move and this was accomodated after a week, although we were told possibly Mon/Tues, then Thurs, finally moved on Friday, only to find that the hotel offered us a beauttiful room with a view but had failed to notice we were 3 in a room and then had to relocate again, offered another room just above the 'cave room', better as looked at vines/gardens but still not we had wanted or requested.
Found the reservations manager a bit curt but may just have been is manner.
He indicated the fault with this lay with the agent but I feel not as our reservation request was clear on booking details and the hotel could have observed this and contacted us if was an issue or going to cost us more money. The rooms themselves are good, exceptionally clean, ours of a good size. Many have full views over bay or partial and was more annoying as the rooms on opposite of our block faced out to bay and were occupied by children , 3 or more so would have been OK for us.

This said the place is wonderful, we had a fab holiday and the staff cannot do enough for you.
The pool area is one of the best I have ever seen, adequate space for you still to feel private- no problems with sun beds, we found space anytime of day.
Views amazing any time of day from all over the hotel terraces- picture postcard stuuf.

We will be back but would make sure on room this time- look at rooms 700 and make sure if you def want a sea view, check your prices.

Room Tip: high floors with sea view expensive but views are stunning if you are the sort of perople who retire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

A week's break, for once without our teenage kids, taken at the Capodimonte. The reviews on trip adviser were not great, so I was a little worried, but what a lovely surprise! Excellent position, beautiful room (we paid extra for a sea view and balcony although all other rooms seemed to have a lovely aspect )

The staff were friendly and the restaurant outstanding. We ate on the balcony in the restaurant each night. We normally avoid 1/2 board, preferring to try out the various local restaurants and bars but this is not a buffet set-up and rarely were we offered chips, which is refreshing! The food was of a high standard, we were able to choose from a menu that was different each eveniing and the house wine very good.

Clearly new or newly furb'ed, we struggled to fault this place , there are private little areas for sun bathing lying next to the tiered pools, the top one of which gives an infinity impression over the sea. We didnt feel like we were lined up like sardines. There were pretty garden areas and plenty of shade to read under- very charming.Another advantage- only 5 mins stroll to the old centre but built into the cliff, so we had a gentle breeze in the hot sun whereas the centre was unconfortably hot. I expected lots of up-hill walks but there were none!
Any criticisms? I didnt stay long enough. Will go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked through a tour company and after seeing our counterparts get dropped off at beautiful seaside hotels we were worried....why were we driving up the coast towards the cliffs? This hotel sits perched in a great location to see all of Sorrento and Vesuvius. I personally think that we got the BETTER view than being right on the ocean. It is about a 10 minute walk into the heart of Sorrento. Some rooms have great views, and others not so much. The breakfast is nice (omelet station), but the dinner is fantastic! You can't beat a 3 course meal with the view of the sunset over Sorrento. Our tour included food so we weren't stuck with the bill - except for drinks! A diet coke was 8.50 euros while a beer is 10.50. But if you are staying at this hotel out of pocket, I would imagine that would be pocket change. All in all, it was a great hotel! (But very pricey!) Very good customer service as well.

Room Tip: Get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.6 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.9 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,772 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,312 - ₹ 37,255
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing