We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and friendly”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

we found this hotel very comfortable, and the staff helpful and friendly. The food was of good
quality and always hot, with a good variety. Our room was large enough, if not spacious, and
was kept spotlessly clean. The shower worked perfectly and the air conditioning was great.
We chose this hotel for it's central location and were given a quiet room on the 4th floor.
The pool area was kept nice and we could always get a sunbed. I couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    245
    166
    65
    48
See reviews for
113
287
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Have just returned yesterday (06/07/12) after a weeks holiday to Sorrento with Riviera Travel and feel compelled to share my experiences with you all . To say it was all good would be an understatement it was excellent. Luigu the owner has got it so right its a small family run hotel headed by his son Alen with support from Simone (007) , Guisy and Nello . At dinner you were seated by someone different every night which we thought was great (my mum and me she is 77 years young) we meet and enjoyed an array of interesting people and by the end of the week we were all one happy group, the head waiter Franco was a true professional nothing was to much trouble and i am sure if you wanted to sit alone that could of been accommodated for. The excursions were great Capri, Pompeii, Mount Vesuvius, The Bay of Naples, Naples and the wonderful Amalfi coastline. Our tour manager was Jane who was a font of knowledge and excellent at her job. We meet some life long friends on our holiday and i am truly blessed to have been a part of such a wonderful experience . Our room was spotless clean sheets and towels daily and a little balconey. I am in my fifties have stayed in 5 * hotels around the world who's food has been better , rooms better equiped and greater facilities ... but the Hotel Villa Maria wins hands down for its location a stone's throw from Sorrento and for what they do as i did not go on holiday to sit in my room i went to see Italy which i just scratched the surface of. Thank you Hotel Villa Maria and Riviera travel for a stunning holiday and Italy i am hooked and shall be returning in the future. PS

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor with a view of the mountains which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Villa Maria was a very pleasant stay. Three of us stayed for five nights and the accommodation was very clean and had everything you needed. It was not super fancy, so if you are looking for over the top facilities then there are better options.

The pool was nice (as was happy hour) and it was only two minutes walk to the heart of the town. Pool towels and safe were available, but at an extra cost. There was free wi-fi, but you could only use it in the dining room/lobby area.

If what you are looking for if simple, clean accommodation at a reasonable price and in a great location then we certainly recommend Vill Maria!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hasto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had two fantastic rooms with the best balconies and a view of Mt. Vesuvius.
Room needs some repairs to the shower stall. The dining room was a little ostentacious for
the food being served and the dining room manager did not staff off of the backs of the staff
even when doing their jobs and within the hearing of the guests. Other than this a thoroughly enjoyable three days.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 313 or 314 fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We visited the Hotel Villa Maria in May this year and after reading some of the other reviews we wanted to pass on our opinion. We received a warm welcome at reception and the staff there were able to help us on many occasions with any queries we had. Our room was in the annexe and we had the most wonderful balcony with great views - the room was cleaned every day and it was lovely to come back after sightseeing to find the room lovely and clean and tidy. We also had fresh towels and bedding. Breakfast is a very typical continental style but there were hot egg dishes if required and our son loved the chocolate cake - the staff in the restaurant were lovely and we always got a fresh cappucino on request. The pool is great with nice steps in for me but big enough to keep our son happy. The pool bar served drinks and we enjoyed lunch there on a few occasions. One big advantage is the hotel's location - we know people who went to Sorrento who complained that their hotel was too far out but we were in the town very quickly (and very close to the fantastic ice cream shops!). All in all we had a lovely time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dav12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
665 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
464 reviews
0.1 km away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,054 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
967 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Property: Hotel Villa Maria
Address: Via Capo 8, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,643 - ₹ 19,071
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Sorrento
Maria Villa Sorrento
Villa Maria Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing