We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,529)
Filter reviews
1,529 results
Traveller rating
1,073
319
98
30
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,073
319
98
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtesy bus sea view bay of naples a la carte restaurant grand buffet brick wall superior room waiter service evening meal piano bar hotel bus pool area fantastic hotel roof terrace amazing views salad bar half board
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 1,529 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Just spent two weeks at Grand Hotel President and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. This was the third time staying here and I will definitely return again. The staff are so friendly, and it was especially nice when we arrived that they recognised us from our previous stay two years ago.

The hotel itself is lovely, the classic rooms are quite basic but very clean and all you need for a comfortable stay. A few more coat hangers for those of us who don't travel light would be good. Half a dozen for two weeks worth of clothes not really enough. The public areas of the hotel are so comfortable with incredible views there is no need to spend time in your room other than to sleep, wash and change.

The food is wonderful. We did not have a disappointing meal in the whole two weeks. An A La Carte restaurant has been opened since we were last there and it's definitely worth a visit. There is a supplement to be paid for this but it's worth the extra. The whole dining experience was lovely. Franco, the Maitre d' is very attentive and professional, it was a classy affair. We had the opportunity to meet the chef too which was a nice touch and gave us the opportunity to thank him for fabulous food.

The food in the main restaurant is delicious, lots of choice and different dishes each night. Bit limited for any vegetarians but the staff will try and accommodate as best they can. The staff in the restaurant are so friendly yet very professional. We noticed that no dirty plates are left, no tables left unset even if it's the boss who is keeping things moving. Antonino who is in charge, is very charming, professional and friendly as are all of the staff. They make you feel like you are getting special treatment but I am sure everyone gets the same treatment.

The bar staff are so friendly and helpful. Carmine, Antonio and Guiseppe all deserve a special mention.

All of the staff in this hotel make your stay memorable.

The views from the public areas are amazing. Sitting on the roof terrace, overlooking the town, Vesuvious and the hillside to the right, phenomenal !

Location of hotel is perfect. Close enough to town but best location for fabulous views. Ten minutes on the courtesy bus down into the town. A 20 minutes walk down but all uphill back.

Great staff, fabulous views, delicious food, very comfortable hotel. Hopefully be back very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LD3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile


This hotel is made up of phenomenal views,big selection of authentic Italian food,great pool,stylish rooms,relaxing spa and incredible staff! What is there not to like!we spend our honeymoon here for 2 weeks in June and it was perfect we were welcomed in and didn't want to leave!
If you like things to do,there's a courtesy bus into Sorrento which is a buzzing town with lots of shops,bars,restaurants and there's plenty of other places easy to get to to visit too-Pompeii,mount Vesuvius and Capri to name a few.So the holiday is really what you make it of!
A big thank you to all the staff but in particular thank you to Antonino,Tony in the restaurant,Giovani and his sidekick(the best bar tenders in town!and Tony(bus driver) see you next year!x

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CH4MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We have just come back from 11 nights staying at the Grand Hotel President in Sorrento. Brilliant hotel! Our room was lovely. Clean, spacious and beautiful bedroom furniture and tiled floor. We arrive at 11.00pm at night feeling very hot and tired. When we went to our room, our cases were already there for us. There was a really nice cold meat and cheese meal waiting for us that was fresh and delicious! When we stepped out onto the balcony, we were pleasantly surprised to find it was a very spacious sun terrace with deep cushioned chairs and sun beds with a beautiful panoramic view of the bay of Sorrento. It definitely had the wow factor! The public rooms were lovely and the food was as excellent and as good as the cruise holidays that we go on. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. One evening, I was not feeling very well and went to my room. A member of staff brought me some soup and asked if I would like anything else to eat. They were so kind. We had a great time visiting Pompeii, Herculanium, Vesuvius, a boat trip to Amalfi and Positano.
I know that not all the rooms had the same sun terrace as we had, but I would recommend this hotel and would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: I booked this holiday a year before we went and I think this might be the reason that we had a room with a sun terrace.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KEETON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Just got back from a week at the Grand Hotel President and we would highly recommend it. You know the view is going to take your breath away but the friendliness of the staff and the general layout of the Hotel has made this holiday for us a must repeat experience. The only negative aspect of this holiday was having to come home.

Room Tip: Get a sea view (Worth any extra expense)
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jdweagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a week at the President and I would highly recommend it.
Firstly, the staff, every one without exception were friendly and helpful. It is not a very big place so you felt you knew everyone there and everyone said good morning to each other at breakfast and passed on tips about there sight-seeing experiences.
Our room was not a sea view, we didn't request one but as we were on the top floor at the back it was very pleasant and mainly quiet. Because everywhere is tiled you can hear people walking in the corridors and on the floor above so if you are a light sleeper noise could be an issue. We were lucky that most people seemed to go to bed and the place was pretty quiet once we had retired for the evening.
The room, as all the other areas of the hotel was spotlessly clean, with the exception of the floor around the sunbeds. This could have done with being mopped properly more often

The beds were comfortable and the bath/shower powerful. Loads of hanging space and drawers for clothes etc.

Food, breakfast was buffet style with loads of choice and plenty of tables inside and out. Evening meal was waiter served where you had a menu with half a dozen choices for starters and half a dozen choices for main course. You could help yourself to salads to start and desserts to finish.
Again the staff were excellent, they greet you at the door, ask where you would like to sit and take you to your table.

Lovely swimming pool with plenty of loungers and shades. Snack bar by the pool ( I thought the drinks were a bit pricey 4 euros for a can of coke) but I am from Yorkshire!
Gardens are gorgeous with sitting areas and a hot tub - all of this overlooking the bay of Naples and mount Vesuvius.

The views from this hotel are magnificent but come at a price - it is a bit of a trek down into Sorrento. There is a courtesy bus driven by Tony, he is a lovely man and does his best to accommodate everyone (the 3.15 back up to the hotel from Sorrento is usually oversubscribed but he usually gets everyone on or goes back for the ones left behind).
We are quite fit and able bodied and walked down quite a few times and it took around 20 mins, but because it was red hot and humid you are quite sweaty by the time you get down into Sorrento.
Walking back up is doable but again in the heat it is quite tiring and would take nearer 45 mins.

We planned on doing a lot of sightseeing but because of the heat we cut down on our trips out and spent time by the pool.

We were unlucky to have a few noisy children there at the same time as us, this place is not really aimed at kids. I would say it suited mature couples.

This comment is nothing to do with the hotel, but the transfer from Naples airport is very long and tedious, that is the only thing that would deter me from going to the President again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews