We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a breathtaking area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This Hotel was our first stop in a two week tour to Italy. We actually arrived a day early so we could get acclimated to the time change. We spent three nights here and we had a wonderful time. The hotel itself goes back over a hundred years and has an old world charm that can't be beat. It is located right on the Bay of Naples and the views, including sunsets are simply awesome. The rooms are quite nice and nicely appointed. if there was one negative I would say it was the WiFi. It is not available in the room and you have to go downstairs to a room off the lobby to get a signal. The grounds at the hotel are private and well maintained. Simply put, you will love the charm and service at this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Dnsatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest,


thank you very much for your nice review . We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our services. The Wify is available in all public area, including the pool the terrace and will be extended to all the rooms within next month. Our aim here at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria has always been to make feel our guests at home!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the EXVITT!!!
My warmest regards


Guido Fiorentino
Presidente & Ceo
Grande Albergo Excelsior Vittoria SpA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 883 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

We only had one night in Sorrento at GHEV and I wish we could have had more. The hotel is stunning and located in the very best location. If you are taking a ferry to Capri this is the place to stay because they have an elevator from the hotel to the boat. It couldn't be more convenient. Our room was stunning with incredible views. When we arrived the staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating for our needs. The concierge was great and arranged for dinner, tickets for the hydrofoil to Capri and parking for our car while on Capri. They also called and had our arranged for our arrival with our hotel on Capri. The hotel hasa beautiful pool, an amazing and quiet citrus orchard, a playground for kids and a spa that I unfortunately did not get to try. The breakfast, which was included with our room, was a great buffet in a beautiful room overlooking the water. There is a great bar for evening cocktails witha spectacular view. When we come back to Italy we will definitely stay in Sorrento for a longer period of time at GHEV. Overall, it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckeyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your very nice comment
We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our hotel and in particularly our Staff, the service and the food and we are already looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria - Sorrento!

My warmest regards,
Guido Fiorentino
President
Grande Albergo Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We arrived on a rainy chilly day to a very scattered front desk person. He seemed overwhelmed that we were checking in. The concierge took us to our beautiful suite with a terrace overlooking the sea, but a bit cold. He couldn't figure out how to turn up the heat and told us he'd do it from downstairs. The WIFI doesn't work in the room (although the front desk person told us it would) so we went to the lobby. The concierge had forgotten about the heat in our room. Again, he told us he'd take care of it. After sitting in the lobby for about 1 hour (pouring rain), we asked about our heat. Yup, you guessed it - that concierge was gone only to be replaced with a new one - who was actually much nicer and proactive (at least he tried) - He told us that the heat didn't work and we had to wait until 4pm (it was now about 2 pm) for the technician to arrive. We sat for awhile in the lobby (no one from management ever spoke to us or acknowledged us - we just sat in the lobby on our computers). Although we thought it was crazy that we had to wait, we weren't in a rush because it was still raining out

Fast foward to 4pm - no one ever spoke to us, which amazed us for a 5 star property that prides itself on being one of the Leading Hotels of the World. Service was not in their vocabulary. No manager ever came out from behind the closed door. We finally told then they had to do something and getting us another room was in order - They agreed (duh!) and showed us the famous Caruso Suite - which would have been great - all we wanted at this point was a room with heat - so we agreed and waited for them to prepare the room. About 30 mins later I asked what was up - yup, no heat in the Caruso Suite. Why they couldn't find us and just tell us was beyond me. They finally gave us a very modern suite, which was lovely, had heat, and took all of about 5 hours to move us into!

You've got to be kidding me. The measure of a hotel is not what happens when all goes smoothly, but what happens when it doesn't. No one ever treated our problem as if it were a priority or even a cup of coffee. Skip the hotel! The gardens are lovely, the hotel is grand (much larger than I had imagined..) but not worth the money in any way shape or form! This one is a big skip!!! You can do much better!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Mr. Grossman,

thank you very much for bringing to our attention you impression as well as feed back about your stay with us.
As CEO, President and member of the family owner of the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria Hotel since 1834, I’m very sorry you could not experience the warmth of our hospitality we are use to deliver to all our guest.
Needles to say that I am not happy too with all inconveniences occurred and I kindly ask you to accept on my behalf as well as on behalf of the entire family, our deepest and sincerest apologies.
Since 1834 our Family has been managing and running this Hotel and we are very proud of our heritage; we strongly believe that paying attention to little details is the most important things in our job and I can assure you we will be taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.
I know you are already in touch with our General Manager and please feel free to contact us directly at any time and it will be a pleasure to be at your disposal.
I hope and I like to think we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento; it will be a pleasure for me to meet you personally.

In the mean time, I thank you very much once again for sharing your thoughts which will certainly help us to improve our performances.

Sincerely

Guido Fiorentino
C.E.O., President & Owner
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed in the hotel in April 2012, with our 4 year old son. The hotel is very well located in Sorrento, a few minutes from the town center and restaurants. It has beautifully designed gardens with lovely orange and lemon trees. Our son loved picking up oranges from the trees to have them as a juice for breakfast. The breakfast buffet is decent with limited choices from everything. It might get a bit boring after a couple days. However the breakfast room is stunning with painted ceilings, live piano music and a view overlooking to the sea from high above. The style of the hotel is old style more like a palace. We chose a very basic room, however it was a very sizable and comfortable room with a corridor at the entrance, a bathroom with a shower- tub- separate toilet area and two washbasins, and a sleeping area with two french windows, a big cabinet, tv, writing desk, two sofas etc. It had more space and amenities then many of the luxury rooms we stayed in other hotels. One thing the hotel must improve is the mattresses and the pillows. The mattress was not comfortable and the pillows were the hardest I ever had in a 5 star hotel. I asked for softer ones and they were horrible, as the filling separated the minute you put your head on. It rained 2 out of 3 days we were there so we could not use the pool or the little outdoor playground for kids. There is not much to do inside for kids, so definitely must have toys or books with you. I have mixed reviews about the staff. Even though there were a couple staff who were very friendly and fast, most of the staff seemed a bit bored of what they were doing, rather than trying to give you the warm italian hospitality. At breakfast we always had to stand up and get the attention of the waiter for more coffee (they are around but avoiding eye contact!) and I had to take my dirty plates and put them on a serving table to make room for a second plate from the buffet, every morning ! And the concierge! If you are thinking that you are going to a world class hotel with many visitors so the concierge will know exactly what to recommend you can't be more wrong. When I asked them what we could do, the just gave a map and circled the hotel and showed the main road where we can walk. (Which is pretty obvious thing to do!). No ideas for galleries, churches etc. Not even recommending the little tourist train that takes you around town, which by the way leaves next to the hotel entrance, which also would be number one on the list for recommendation for a family with a toddler! For restaurants the recommended a pizzeria nearby, -only one restaurant!- we insisted on more names, he insisted on that one, then finally gave a couple more names. We went to that pizzeria to see the what the fuss was about, (nothing special) and later in the day saw its owner in our hotel- which explains the insisting. So do your sightseeing and eating homework before you go!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you can find a grander, more centrally located resort hotel in Sorrento with a staff of professionals that are as friendly as they are responsive to every need, then go book it. For my money, this is the grandest resort hotel of them all in Sorrento — and the only hotel to have an elevator that can take you directly down to the dock where the boats leave for Capri and the island tours. The staff, particularly Corrado at the concierge desk and Silvestro at reception, are charming, friendly, and totally accommodating. When we arrived at the hotel, Corrado greeted us by name and escorted us to reception where were quickly checked in. The grounds of the hotel are large and include an incredible outdoor pool area, with surrounding outdoor lounge and dining areas. The orange and lemon groves are perfect for a quiet walk. There's even a children's playground and separate soccer and basketball areas for the kids. The guest rooms are large and richly appointed. The included breakfast every day is a gourmet feast. We took advantage of it every morning! You are within a two minute walk of just about every restaurant and shop you would ever want to go to in Sorrento. Finally, the views of the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius, Capri and the other islands are breathtaking. We will come back to this hotel as soon as possible!

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to a deluxe sea-view room, go for it. It's worth it! The large outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido2011, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Mr. Bob,

thank you very much for posting your very nice review on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you appreciated our staff and food especially the breakfast.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento

My warmest regards,

Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,152 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
1.0 km away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
981 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

Address: Piazza Tasso, 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: ₹ 24,103 - ₹ 51,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Hotel comprising several buildings & newer villas in a clifftop garden, with fine views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Excelsior Vittoria
Grand Excelsior Vittoria
Sorrento Hotel Excelsior
Sorrento Excelsior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing