We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison Tofani
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel del Corso(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Tasso(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tasso Suites(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Astoria Hotel(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alambra(Sorrento)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveller rating
879
143
23
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
143
23
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roompainted ceilingjacuzzi showerbreakfast roompedestrian streetamalfi coastla lanternacakesboutique hotelcentral locationbeautiful roombreakfast was amazingrooftop terracetrain stationevery morningbeautiful hotelwonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have just returned from a one month trip to Europe that included a 2 week river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. We stayed at Maison Tofani for 4 nights during our first week and must say that it was our favorite place. Our room overlooked the bustling narrow street below and we enjoyed the views from our little balcony. When we closed the doors we were surprised when the noise from below magically disappeared and we were left to our spacious and airy room. The hotel truly gave us the feeling of living in an 18th century home!
Many have already mentioned Giovanni and other staff and we too must say what a delight they all were! We have only one regret: we did not take Giovanni's recommendation of renting scooters and riding up the Amalfi coast - alas, I think we may have to return! The recommended boat trip to Capri is highly recommended (the boat was brand new and crafted in Sorrento - BEAUTIFUL!!!).
The breakfasts were amazing and could be enjoyed in the beautiful fresco-ed dining room or eaten in the sunny courtyard. The croissants were better than any we tried in Paris!
Thank-you to all and we look forward to another visit on our next trip to Italy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blkpearl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I, both 60, spent one night at Maison Tofani in mid June. We travel a lot and thought our room, a Superior Double, was one of the most comfortable we've stayed in. It was clean, spacious and had more amenities than many. The shower was excellent, all the bells and whistles, though we should probably mention that if one has a physical disability, it might be difficult to get in and out of it as it is in a high tub and one also has to maneuver a bit around the glass enclosure. Once in, however, it is great. The room was also very quiet, especially for being in the center of Sorrento (we were on the 3rd floor for Americans, 2nd for Europeans). The hotel itself is quite lovely; a recently remodeled 18th century house with some beautiful original features retained and restored. The central location was especially convenient for us because our stay was so (too) short and we enjoy walking. One steps out of the courtyard of the hotel directly into a bustling pedestrian street of shops and tourists. We parked ourselves, in a city car park, and, having only small rolling bags, walked the very short distance to the hotel.
Giovanni greeted us most warmly and was extremely helpful during our stay. At his suggestion, we ate dinner at L'Abate where the meal, service and location were all very good.
The breakfast was very nice, with an outside seating area as well as inside.
We would like to go back to Sorrento one day, perhaps in the less busy season, and would definitely stay at Maison Tofani again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great hotel location. Room 303 (loft with terrace) was wonderful. The hotel is right in the middle of town, but despite that we only heard distant ambient noise from outside. Lovely roof terrace. The only downside is the shower was very tight - not sure if that's true of all the rooms or just the loft rooms.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank memoriesandmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Certainly lives up to the many other excellent reviews here on tripadvisor. Giovanni and Diletta are the perfect hosts, all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had one of the loft rooms, with it's own balcony, plenty of room (but mind your head on the beams!) and a superb bathroom.

We'd driven down to Sorrento from Rome - a top tip is that you really, really don't need a car in Sorrento! Everywhere is easily accessible by public transport (trains, buses or ferries) be it the historic sites or nearby towns. Parking in Sorrento is difficult (Maison Tofani have an arrangement with a garage, but it's 15 euros a day and our car stayed in the garage for most of the week...).

The breakfast at Maison Tofani is a daily highlight - not just the selection of cheeses, cold meats, fresh fruit, breads and juices and the cakes (oh yes, the cakes!) but the dining room itself, with its amazing fresco ceiling and the welcome we received each morning, just set us up for the day.

It's difficult to find fault - perhaps 10 euros for a 1.99 euro prosecco in the minibar is a little excessive, but you're paying for the convenience and it's not compulsory to drink it. My new wife thought the hair dryer could be a bit more powerful; but this is just the dust on the collar of a bespoke suit, the detail only a hyper critical tailor might notice - Maison Tofani, we salute you!

Room Tip: Our loft room was fabulous, the only disturbance was when Italy scored the winning penalty against England in the UEFA quarter-finals, but I doubt there was a room in Sorrento that didn't shake from the cheers and fireworks!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sean_1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed 3 night at this charming hotel in the heart of Sorrento and loved every minute of it!! The staff was very helpful and informative. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast every morning. If you book this place for your stay in Sorrento, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annhib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews