We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in sorrento”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
waterloo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great stay in sorrento”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Fantastic hotel in a great city. Only complaint would be the pillows!, stiff!! Breakfast great with great selection. Excellent front desk staff. A great thanks to Giovanni for going out of his way to help with excursions and restaurants etc!!!

Room Tip: Not 102. It was next to kitchen and noisy if you're not up yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnutzWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    122
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
202
548
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have just returned from a one month trip to Europe that included a 2 week river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. We stayed at Maison Tofani for 4 nights during our first week and must say that it was our favorite place. Our room overlooked the bustling narrow street below and we enjoyed the views from our little balcony. When we closed the doors we were surprised when the noise from below magically disappeared and we were left to our spacious and airy room. The hotel truly gave us the feeling of living in an 18th century home!
Many have already mentioned Giovanni and other staff and we too must say what a delight they all were! We have only one regret: we did not take Giovanni's recommendation of renting scooters and riding up the Amalfi coast - alas, I think we may have to return! The recommended boat trip to Capri is highly recommended (the boat was brand new and crafted in Sorrento - BEAUTIFUL!!!).
The breakfasts were amazing and could be enjoyed in the beautiful fresco-ed dining room or eaten in the sunny courtyard. The croissants were better than any we tried in Paris!
Thank-you to all and we look forward to another visit on our next trip to Italy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blkpearl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I, both 60, spent one night at Maison Tofani in mid June. We travel a lot and thought our room, a Superior Double, was one of the most comfortable we've stayed in. It was clean, spacious and had more amenities than many. The shower was excellent, all the bells and whistles, though we should probably mention that if one has a physical disability, it might be difficult to get in and out of it as it is in a high tub and one also has to maneuver a bit around the glass enclosure. Once in, however, it is great. The room was also very quiet, especially for being in the center of Sorrento (we were on the 3rd floor for Americans, 2nd for Europeans). The hotel itself is quite lovely; a recently remodeled 18th century house with some beautiful original features retained and restored. The central location was especially convenient for us because our stay was so (too) short and we enjoy walking. One steps out of the courtyard of the hotel directly into a bustling pedestrian street of shops and tourists. We parked ourselves, in a city car park, and, having only small rolling bags, walked the very short distance to the hotel.
Giovanni greeted us most warmly and was extremely helpful during our stay. At his suggestion, we ate dinner at L'Abate where the meal, service and location were all very good.
The breakfast was very nice, with an outside seating area as well as inside.
We would like to go back to Sorrento one day, perhaps in the less busy season, and would definitely stay at Maison Tofani again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great hotel location. Room 303 (loft with terrace) was wonderful. The hotel is right in the middle of town, but despite that we only heard distant ambient noise from outside. Lovely roof terrace. The only downside is the shower was very tight - not sure if that's true of all the rooms or just the loft rooms.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank memoriesandmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Certainly lives up to the many other excellent reviews here on tripadvisor. Giovanni and Diletta are the perfect hosts, all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had one of the loft rooms, with it's own balcony, plenty of room (but mind your head on the beams!) and a superb bathroom.

We'd driven down to Sorrento from Rome - a top tip is that you really, really don't need a car in Sorrento! Everywhere is easily accessible by public transport (trains, buses or ferries) be it the historic sites or nearby towns. Parking in Sorrento is difficult (Maison Tofani have an arrangement with a garage, but it's 15 euros a day and our car stayed in the garage for most of the week...).

The breakfast at Maison Tofani is a daily highlight - not just the selection of cheeses, cold meats, fresh fruit, breads and juices and the cakes (oh yes, the cakes!) but the dining room itself, with its amazing fresco ceiling and the welcome we received each morning, just set us up for the day.

It's difficult to find fault - perhaps 10 euros for a 1.99 euro prosecco in the minibar is a little excessive, but you're paying for the convenience and it's not compulsory to drink it. My new wife thought the hair dryer could be a bit more powerful; but this is just the dust on the collar of a bespoke suit, the detail only a hyper critical tailor might notice - Maison Tofani, we salute you!

Room Tip: Our loft room was fabulous, the only disturbance was when Italy scored the winning penalty against E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sean_1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.4 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,336 - ₹ 20,732
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing