We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and hotel”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great location and hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great hotel location. Room 303 (loft with terrace) was wonderful. The hotel is right in the middle of town, but despite that we only heard distant ambient noise from outside. Lovely roof terrace. The only downside is the shower was very tight - not sure if that's true of all the rooms or just the loft rooms.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank memoriesandmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    131
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
218
576
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Certainly lives up to the many other excellent reviews here on tripadvisor. Giovanni and Diletta are the perfect hosts, all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had one of the loft rooms, with it's own balcony, plenty of room (but mind your head on the beams!) and a superb bathroom.

We'd driven down to Sorrento from Rome - a top tip is that you really, really don't need a car in Sorrento! Everywhere is easily accessible by public transport (trains, buses or ferries) be it the historic sites or nearby towns. Parking in Sorrento is difficult (Maison Tofani have an arrangement with a garage, but it's 15 euros a day and our car stayed in the garage for most of the week...).

The breakfast at Maison Tofani is a daily highlight - not just the selection of cheeses, cold meats, fresh fruit, breads and juices and the cakes (oh yes, the cakes!) but the dining room itself, with its amazing fresco ceiling and the welcome we received each morning, just set us up for the day.

It's difficult to find fault - perhaps 10 euros for a 1.99 euro prosecco in the minibar is a little excessive, but you're paying for the convenience and it's not compulsory to drink it. My new wife thought the hair dryer could be a bit more powerful; but this is just the dust on the collar of a bespoke suit, the detail only a hyper critical tailor might notice - Maison Tofani, we salute you!

Room Tip: Our loft room was fabulous, the only disturbance was when Italy scored the winning penalty against E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sean_1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed 3 night at this charming hotel in the heart of Sorrento and loved every minute of it!! The staff was very helpful and informative. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast every morning. If you book this place for your stay in Sorrento, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annhib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel is full of charm and character, a beautiful old building in the heart of historic Sorrento refurbished to the highest modern specifications. The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient. All in all a great place to relax in Sorrento. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I heard about the Maison Tofani before from many reviews in topadvisor, however I believe wards cannot do justice to this hotel. This is a 5 stars hotel with no doubt located in the heart of the old city. I traveled with my Mom and stayed one night June 16 and we enjoyed every moment there. The room was clean, lovely, and elegant. The management was extremely helpful, informative and welcoming. I was amazed with the service they provide. I truly recommend this hotel and we will come back soon for sure….

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhalidAfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,310 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,119 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,694 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,311 reviews
0.1 km away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,243 - ₹ 21,117
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing