We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Like staying with family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

As all the other reviews have clearly stated the staff at Maison Tofani make this already great hotel utterly amazing!
The service and level of detail we received before and during our stay was top notch, it’s above and beyond what you would expect. They firstly arranged airport transfers at a very reasonable price. We, on very short notice, decided to travel with our 5 year old daughter, which they accommodated without fuss and charged less than advertised for the extra bed and even ironed all our clothes!
The maid cleaned our room continuously and on each occasion arranged our little girl’s toys and teddy's on her bed for a special touch!
They left chocolates in our room as a little surprise for our daughter and fussed over her each time they seen her. Breakfast time was an especially nice time as Maria and the other staff would take time to talk to us and fussed over the little one. The breakfast had a great selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, cakes…..all very fresh.
The room was large, bright and very, very well equipped. I have never felt so comfortable staying somewhere as I did here.
The hotel is lovingly restored and is full of charm and character. It really was a slice of Southern Italy and will definitely be returning. I had the pleasure in visiting the wine cellar, where they have so many excellent wines (red only). I picked a Brunello di Montalcino and asked if they could arrange a bottle of white to be sent up to the room. Within 10 minutes there was a tray delivered with 2 red wine glasses, 2 white wine glasses, a dish of nuts, a dish of mixed pretzels and a cork screw. It just wasn’t a fuss to them and the white wine they selected was amazing!
Giovanni and Diletta are great hosts and were always attentive. When we arrived we were shown around the hotel so we were familiar with our surroundings. About 20 mins later Giovanni rang the room to introduce himself as he was not present when we checked in and on revisiting reception I was met by a warm smile and a friendly handshake.

I could write on and on about the level of service but I think you all get the point by now. Everything about this place really is the bench mark for other hotels........plus it’s very reasonable. As far as I could see the only other place that comes close to this in Sorrento is Antiche Mura and it costs twice as much! I also doubt you would receive this level of service. Thank you to Giovanni, Diletta, Maria and the other staff (whose names I never got) for making our stay in Sorrento an unforgettable one.

Tip: the room has a fridge were you can purchase items; alcohol, soft drinks etc. The prices were reasonable but we used it to store our own water and wine. It’s rare you find a decent sized fridge in a hotel room so this was welcomed.
Also the Wi-Fi is really fast with a good connection. Go up onto the roof at sunset to get panoramic views over the gulf for those amazing photos.
It’s a little hard to find so when you are dropped off in the Piazza and walk down Via San Cesareo, the hotel is about 50 years on the left. Look out for the Exchange sign just before it on the left, the Coin store (a clothes store) on the right facing the entrance and go through the large wooden stable doors. The reception is on the right in the court yard.

Room Tip: Take a travel iron as there are no iron facilities in the room. They do have a laundry service thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mobeverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    115
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
181
523
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Warm staffs, clean and special room with balcony, breakfast is also very good. It's near the port to Capri and has a good location in the city. Regret for booking only one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Why would you stay anywhere else in Sorrento it is like staying in a beautifully restored Italian Villa great location overlooking main pedestrian mall always something to look at from balcony but very quiet at night especially when heavy wooden doors are closed.fabulous service very personalised and hotel great location for restaurants etc Great starting point for tours of Positano, Isle of Capri and Pompeii.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Maison Tofani on the last four days of our 18-day trip through Italy and it exceeded our expectations. The boutique hotel has so much character and the staff is attentive and helpful in every way. We stayed in a room with a beautiful spa-like bathroom and jacuzzi tub, where we could see the little shops and restaurants from our balcony. There is even a rooftop terrace where we sat in the evenings, watching the sun set while enjoying a glass of Italian Red. Location - in the heart of everything you want nearby. Shops, ferry to Capri, bus and train, it's all easily within walking distance. Breakfast - by far the best breakfast buffet we had in Italy, with choices of sweets, fruits, yogurt, breads, eggs, meat - all beautifully presented and home made, in the most serene breakfast room with painted ceilings. There are places throughout the hotel to sit and chat, with a lounge and a small bar where people can congregate, if wanted. Rooms were spacious with lots of storage and wifi worked great in the room. I can't say enough good about this hotel and if there was anything at all I could say that wasn't perfect, it is the fact that you have to get dropped off in the town square and walk though a couple streets with your luggage. It was fine for us, but anyone who had trouble getting around may have problems and if there is rain, it's a little unpleasant. It is a little hard to find on your own, we were lucky to happen across it the day before our stay, but the staff will give you excellent directions to get there if need be. Day trips are easily done from here - Isle of Capri is a beautiful ferry ride away, the local train to Pompeii is an easy commute and if you have a car or rent a driver, you can tour the Amalfi Coast and visit places such as Positano (our favorite part of Italy) and beaches, beautiful restaurants, etc. The desk staff is more than happy to arrange such trips for you, as well. Rooms and grounds were meticulously clean. If we ever have an opportunity to go back to Sorrento, we will be staying at Maison Tofani.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a balcony and a jacuzzi tub. Room 104, I believe. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakdale, Ca.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is like bringing ice to the Eskimos, but I'll join in.
A beautiful old mansion, lovingly restored, in a great (but somewhat noisy pedestrian street in a delightful town, with great hosts (esses). Not much not to like.
First, the small negatives. Rooms, while large and comfortable, mostly have one large window/door/balcony, so cross ventilation is minimal without opening the entrance door. I doubt this can be helped, given the age of this lovely old building. The noise, at times, even on the top floor, from the street below is noticable, but this this a price one pays for the location, location, location.
That's it! Everything else is positive. Comfortable surroundings/bed, large, well appointed bath, it's fun just looking at the old inn. Giovanni and Diletta are absolutely superb; they couldn't be more helpful, informative, and fun. (Not to mention, she's pretty cute.)
Maria, and all the breakfast staff, go out of their way to ensure a good start in the AM, served in a drop dead gorgeous old hall with ceiling frescos, at least 300 yrs. old. The choices and home made items are great, the fruits ripe and sweet.
This is the real deal; I didn't even mind climbing the stairs several times a day, and it helped me stay in reasonable shape for Sorrento hills, and hopefully erase some of the pasta damage.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can climb. Off the 'alley' is quieter, but the view may not be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philo128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#5 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.9 km away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.2 km away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#7 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,887 - ₹ 15,955
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing