We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison Tofani
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$ 496
US$ 474
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$ 369
US$ 263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$ 1,002
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$ 612
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 889
US$ 740
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Plaza(Sorrento)
US$ 530
US$ 514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 498
US$ 375
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 445
US$ 411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 614
US$ 513
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$ 654
US$ 639
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveller rating
885
144
23
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
885
144
23
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roompainted ceilingjacuzzi showerbreakfast roompedestrian streetamalfi coastla lanternacakesboutique hotelcentral locationbeautiful roombreakfast was amazingrooftop terracetrain stationevery morningbeautiful hotelwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Maison Tofani on the last four days of our 18-day trip through Italy and it exceeded our expectations. The boutique hotel has so much character and the staff is attentive and helpful in every way. We stayed in a room with a beautiful spa-like bathroom and jacuzzi tub, where we could see the little shops and restaurants from our balcony. There is even a rooftop terrace where we sat in the evenings, watching the sun set while enjoying a glass of Italian Red. Location - in the heart of everything you want nearby. Shops, ferry to Capri, bus and train, it's all easily within walking distance. Breakfast - by far the best breakfast buffet we had in Italy, with choices of sweets, fruits, yogurt, breads, eggs, meat - all beautifully presented and home made, in the most serene breakfast room with painted ceilings. There are places throughout the hotel to sit and chat, with a lounge and a small bar where people can congregate, if wanted. Rooms were spacious with lots of storage and wifi worked great in the room. I can't say enough good about this hotel and if there was anything at all I could say that wasn't perfect, it is the fact that you have to get dropped off in the town square and walk though a couple streets with your luggage. It was fine for us, but anyone who had trouble getting around may have problems and if there is rain, it's a little unpleasant. It is a little hard to find on your own, we were lucky to happen across it the day before our stay, but the staff will give you excellent directions to get there if need be. Day trips are easily done from here - Isle of Capri is a beautiful ferry ride away, the local train to Pompeii is an easy commute and if you have a car or rent a driver, you can tour the Amalfi Coast and visit places such as Positano (our favorite part of Italy) and beaches, beautiful restaurants, etc. The desk staff is more than happy to arrange such trips for you, as well. Rooms and grounds were meticulously clean. If we ever have an opportunity to go back to Sorrento, we will be staying at Maison Tofani.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a balcony and a jacuzzi tub. Room 104, I believe. Perfect!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is like bringing ice to the Eskimos, but I'll join in.
A beautiful old mansion, lovingly restored, in a great (but somewhat noisy pedestrian street in a delightful town, with great hosts (esses). Not much not to like.
First, the small negatives. Rooms, while large and comfortable, mostly have one large window/door/balcony, so cross ventilation is minimal without opening the entrance door. I doubt this can be helped, given the age of this lovely old building. The noise, at times, even on the top floor, from the street below is noticable, but this this a price one pays for the location, location, location.
That's it! Everything else is positive. Comfortable surroundings/bed, large, well appointed bath, it's fun just looking at the old inn. Giovanni and Diletta are absolutely superb; they couldn't be more helpful, informative, and fun. (Not to mention, she's pretty cute.)
Maria, and all the breakfast staff, go out of their way to ensure a good start in the AM, served in a drop dead gorgeous old hall with ceiling frescos, at least 300 yrs. old. The choices and home made items are great, the fruits ripe and sweet.
This is the real deal; I didn't even mind climbing the stairs several times a day, and it helped me stay in reasonable shape for Sorrento hills, and hopefully erase some of the pasta damage.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can climb. Off the 'alley' is quieter, but the view may not be as good.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philo128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Yes and yes to all the lovely things people have posted about the hotel. Our room was comfortable and very attractive; the bathroom was a treat; the common rooms beautiful. Breakfast--wow! Maria, the lady in charge of the hotel, grows most of the fruit served, makes the breakfast cakes herself, and even brings in the eggs from her own hens! Delicious. The cheerful little lady who makes the coffee is to be commended--and was, daily! Diletta and Giovanni, who work in the office, are extremely helpful and knowledgable.

The caveat: Our grown children shared the Family Room, which is described as having no view. It would be better described as being nearly windowless. The single, small window looks out onto a pipe and a wall about 3 feet away, so there is little light and ventilation. Otherwise the room was comfortable, if oddly configured. My children were happy in it, but I would have gone mad without better natural light.

I would gladly return to the hotel, but as we didn't particularly enjoy Sorrento, that is unlikely. However, we can heartily recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We visited the hotel in Easter 2012. I was with my family and my mother who has health problems. The staff did not spare any effort to make our stay truly unique. The establishment is very beautiful - a real pleasure to have breakfast every day under a XVIIth century fresco, finely restored to its former glory. The rooms offer comforts only matched by 5 stars hotels. Cakes baked by Signora Maria, the owner, could pass the toughest bakery competitions. The hospitality which the owner, Giovanni, Diletta and the rest of the staff gave us made our stay in Sorrento a very memorable one. We had very bad weather, but because we were so nicely pampered and look after in the hotel, eventually it did not matter. Do not look further - give yourself a treat and book here!

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to inform Giovanni, the guest relations manager, of any special needs you have ahead of booking. He was very helpful in my specific circumstances.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent a few nights at this lovely hotel with our daughter this spring. The location is wonderful, our room had a small terrace over a pedestrian shopping street. The staff is very gracious. We came home each evening to the common room where we shared a cup of tea before turning in. The staff was always ready to make us a hot tea or coffee no matter the time of night. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. I don't think you'll be dissapointed with your stay here.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank donnaPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews