We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Sorrento”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic Sorrento”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just arrived back from Sorrento what a beautiful place loved it. Stayed at the Eden it was very nice spotlessly clean and the staff were lovely and so helpful nothing too much trouble for them. The room was minimal but that was ok it had everything you needed. We went half board and the food was ok but boring and basic the breakfast was the same everyday no variety at all we have had continental breakfasts before and each day there has been something different ie different fruit or meat etc but at the Eden it was the same all the time. The meals at night again were ok but chicken one night pork the next and chips all the time. We thought perhaps we might get some Italian cuisine the only thing was a pasta and tomato starter this again was on the menu each night. Nevertheless the staff were lovely so we skipped the meal on the last night and went out that was brilliant!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    263
    101
    44
    25
See reviews for
156
332
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
whidbey island, wa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a fabulous room with a balcony as big as the room! We looked right out at Mt. Vesuvius! The hotel is a really great location, there is a "secret" door that leads you right out into the middle of Sorrento! The hotel is quite and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Eden for three nights in July '12 with my wife and baby, visiting Sorrento primarily for a friend's wedding. The hotel was absolutely perfectly for our needs. It is situated literally three minutes walk from the main square, and the surrounding network of side streets of shops and restaurants. The hotel's pool was a comfortable size and temperature, with staff frequently stopping by to offer drinks. Our room was not huge, but was clean and well-maintained. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient. Our fourth floor room gave us a lovely sea view over the bay and Mount Vesuvius beyond - although whether all the rooms would offer this I do not know. Overall we would love to revisit the town of Sorrento and would definitely stay at the Eden again if / when we do.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TractorBoy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have just returned from a week at this hotel in Sorrento with my partner. Our bedroom was in the new part of the hotel and decorated in lime, navy and white. Unfortunately, it was a bit sparse in that it had not one single picture on the wall, but on the plus side, it was clean, fresh and had a free safe, fridge, and a really modern bathroom. The air con was excellent and was really needed as it gets very hot (as in mid 30's or more) in Sorrento in July. The hotel entrance is inviting and is marble floored; there is also a bar, a lounge and an outdoor, roofed area to sit having drinks. The gardens are lovely and the pool is very nice but seems to belong to the adjoining restaurant. You cannot take any food or drink to the pool, not even water. This has to be purchased from the bar. Also, as was said before, shutting at 6pm sharp is a shame as we would have loved a dip after an excursion.
On the first night, we were the first into the restaurant at 7pm, but nobody told us that we had to go down to the front to get our vegetables. All this consisted of was a bowl of chips and some salad. My partner did complain but the waiters did not want to know and passed it onto the management, who then passed it back to the restaurant. The food was really bad for Italy. the pizzas were burnt and did not have much topping and most days the meat was a breaded cutlet of chicken. In fact, chicken was the main meat done in different way, mostly grilled and lying in grease though. When we asked for vegetables, we were told that in Italy one did not eat hot vegetables. I have Italian friends so know this to be untrue. We had a rather unfortunate start to the holiday because of the food trouble and when we subsequently tried to contact Thompsons who were our holiday reps, we were promised 3 return calls which never arrived. WHen we spoke to Tom (our resort rep who is a really nice young man) he was not even informed (despite their promise to tell him in the morning) of the problem. We were offered another hotel, but Tom later told us that the man we spoke to on the help line in London had no business to offer this to us and in fact it would have cost us double the price of the holiday. Breakfast was ok, but having stayed in other hotels in Italy in the past, I would say the choice was very small with only ham or Mortadella and cheese, cake, croissants, toast, scrambled egg, yogurts, a bowl of fruit salad (tinned) and various teas, coffee, and juice (all machine). All in all the food does let this hotel down. the location is brilliant and the newer rooms great with large balconies. After the initial bad start, the staff were very nice and helpful. Improve the food and you have a winning hotel. Oh yes, the bed was the hardest I have ever slept on. I sleep on an orthopaedic bed at home but this was rock hard.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itismehdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

When we first arrived at the Hotel Eden we were pleased to see the beautiful landscaping and lovely marble lobby area. Unfortunately, when we opened the door to our room, we were less than thrilled to discover a dismal gray and white room void of any decorations (not a single picture on the wall) with worn bedspreads and a luke warm refrigerator. It looked like a depressing, old college dorm room. As we discovered later, the air conditioner also was luke warm and barely stirred the air, let alone cooled it. We had requested an upper floor room with a view. Our 2nd floor "view" consisted mostly of the roof of the restaurant below. When we asked if there was another room we were told, "No." The pillow case on my bed was also dirty with makeup - not sure if it just didn't come out in the wash (hopefully) or was not cleaned at all. Each day we had to ask for more toilet paper and more soap - items which are typically replenished daily. The included breakfast grew tiresome as it never changed and included disappointing items such as diluted orange "drink" (not juice) and canned fruit rather than the real things. Coffee came from a machine, unlike at the other hotels we visited during our 2 week stay in Italy, which had wonderful coffee for breakfast. On the plus side, the gardens are beautiful and the pool is also quite nice. It is unfortunate however, that they close the pool at 6:00 when it is full of people just trying to cool off after a long day of wandering around in the heat. Unfortunately, I would not recommend this hotel. There are other Sorrento hotels in this price range that are much more pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
381 reviews
1.3 km away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
1,079 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
464 reviews
0.0 km away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
629 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Via Correale 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,468 - ₹ 30,001
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing