We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay. Fantastic Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a lovely stay, but it was funny that you have to pay for the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 569 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Out of 8 hotels on this trip, this was the jewel in the crown! And very unexpected....

So then, it wasn't the cheapest of this tour (a hotel on Ronda, Spain, got that award at 21 euro) but at 60 euro (low season, march) it was the best hotel of the trip (despite some others costing a lot more).

The first thing to say is that "hostel" is not a word that would come to mind when you see this place. The reception is huge, the lounge (with piano) is huge, and indeed our bedroom was huge.

But it's not just that it's big. The room services are like a 4 star hotel (electronic control of door, lights, blah blah blah). When you look at the map, the location may seem a bit far from the centre (it's walkable from the station without too much luggage, maybe 15-20 mins,) but to get to the (west end) of the main street its only 5 mins walk. And lots of restaurants nearby.

A tip for foodies if you are visiting Sorrento. At the other end of town (a 30 min walk, past the station the other way, ie east) is a great little restaurant. Called Il Ritrivo (or "Take Away Il Ritrivo" on trip advisor, but dont be put off by the take away bit). They do have eat in, and the chef really does know what he is doing. Seriously good, and so exceptional value. Will surely be in all the travel books when they catch up. Good wine at excellent prices too.

Back to the hotel though, the point in case. Absolutely first class! For sure you will pay more in high season, but I think its still good value in the 100-150 euro range. In low season, it is exceptional value!! Only at €150 would I just start to hesitate, and at €200 maybe I would be tempted to look elsewhere.

In summary, very highly recommended. Good location. Great hotel. I could not speak more highly of our time there.

Room Tip: get a room near the lobby, can just about pick up the free lobby wifi on the sofa outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just returned from a 4 day trip to Sorrento and stayed at the Ulisse.Reception area is quite impressive for the price of the rooms.The rooms themselves dont really have 'views' ,but as we only wanted a clean and pleasant hotel and this ticked all the boxes.Rooms are a fair size with fridge. ( Good for keeping that bottle of Proseccio chilled).We asked for extra pillows and they were there in seconds. Bathrroms are huge towels changed daily and a hairdryer was in the bathroom. All the staff were just so helpful we wanted a base to see Pompei ect and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DnDNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights, in a female dorm-style room. The hostel is so beautiful, I thought I was walking into the wrong place.

Likes: very clean, free (and good) wifi, bathrooms were very nice, comfy bed, within walking distance to everything (although Sorrento isn't all that big anyway), helpful staff

Dislikes: breakfast was a bit expensive... 7 euros :( but I was able to by my own stuff at a local grocery store and keep it in the fridge... Also, no laundry...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eastcoast85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at ulisse. This is definitely not a hostel but more of a four star hotel. It's clean & extremely large rooms, our double had an extra single bed in the room & bathroom was huge.

Great value for money & just on the edge of the old town a few minutes & you are in the heart of Sorrento.

We can't wait to return to Sorrento & to stay in ulisse hotel again. Cannot recommend this hotel enough for a cheap budget stay in Sorrento. Thank you ulisse.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomindabungalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
513 reviews
1 km away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,033 reviews
1.8 km away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.3 km away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: ₹ 4,299 - ₹ 39,551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In The Heart Of Sorrento, The Hostel Boasts A Convenient Location Within Very Easy Reach Of Sorrento’s Premier Sights And Attractions. Elegantly Styled, Beautifully Furnished And Equipped With All The Service Of A 3 Star Hotel: 50 Rooms All Air-conditioned, Minibar, Personalised Safe, Wi-fi , Underground Garage, Wellness Centre And Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing