We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk about a Room with a View”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This hotel is close to the ferry port which is important in these towns. The hotel is overlooking the piazza & the main duomo with the best view in town of the church. Being a Saturday we watched 3 weddings while we sat on our balcony with a glass of wine. The hotel itself is 900 years old & the area is a UNESCO site. The hotel could do with a bit of repairs but it was comfortable & the breakfast upstairs on the terrace also overlooking the square was very nice. They have cereal, fruit, yogurt, salami, cheese. Tomatoes,bread,croissants,cakes,& the usual drinks.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

I booked 4 nights in Amalfi and paid extra to get a good room. When we arrived the hotel had no record of the booking! They don't even have an agreement with AlphaRooms.

NOT THE HOTEL'S FAULT. They were lovely people and very patient. All responsibility lies with AlphaRooms.

We spent hours on the phone arguing with support, who were rude and flaky and totally unhelpful. Got us nowhere, and really ruined our first day of holiday. Eventually we paid for another hotel, and weeks later I'm still fighting AlphaRooms to get my money back.

Stay away from AlphaRooms, they are completely unprofessional.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The hotel is right on the piazza by the church. Great location. It has a wonderful breakfast on a patio on the top floor. It can be a little loud at night.

BUT, THEN THERE IS SAIF!!!!! He was like our personal tour guide and helped us find everything that we needed to make our trip to the Amalfi coast fantastic. He knows all of the hikes and train schedules and bus schedules and ferry schedules and just everything about the area. And he is happy to share all of his information with you! He even made the croissants for breakfast and put all of the breakfast out. Maybe the hardest working man I've ever seen at a hotel. Thanks Saif!!!

Room Tip: rooms away from the piazza would be quieter, but it was also fun looking out over the piazza at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roxann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We were only staying one night and we booked the room with a balcony and duomo view and when we arrived we were told the toilet in our room was broken. Obviously this wasn't true because we could see people put on all four balconies at the hotel. This was not the first time I have dealt with hotels that overbook and it is annoying that people staying shorter periods of time are not treated as well.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank andrewrussell16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

This is a classic budget hotel, just one step above a hostel. The location is great, if not very noisy. The staff is mostly unhelpful. There are a bunch of stairs to get up to the hotel, if you have heavy luggage I recommend hiring a luggage delivery cart down by the docks to bring your bags up (10-20eu). Beds are average, they do have bed bug covers on the mattresses which always freaks me out, as they are often used to trap the bugs inside the mattresses. We checked carefully and didn't see any evidence of infestation, but I would be careful. Also the room flooded when I took a shower, I think the water came up the drain in the middle of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
670 reviews
0 km away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
252 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#29 of 29 in Amalfi
302 reviews
0 km away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
162 reviews
0.1 km away
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini, | 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: ₹ 4,690 - ₹ 9,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing