We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bravissimo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“bravissimo!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great location right in the center of the old town with minutes of walking to ports, beaches, buses and center square.. Room was very clean, new and everything was in order. Great views and fantastic breakfast on a terrace! Hotel has arrangements with the garage and helps bring baggage to/from luna parking.

Special words reserved for Ferdinando. He is very cheerful and helpful.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imodlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    158
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
150
410
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel in June, and were pleasantly suprised that such an affordable and lovely hotel would be available in whta i thought was a very expensive area of italy.

The hotel is in prime position – behind the famous Saint Andrews Cathedral and Piazza Duomo, and just off the main street that winds up the hill. Not that you will have to worry about getting there as the lovely hotel staff will pick you up from the bus station in a golf buggy and drive you and your luggage to the hotel door. Very amusing and very handy. Once inside, the hotel staff greet you like long lost relatives, and I immediately WANT to be in their charming Italian family. Detailed guides and explanations for all the local sites and activities, a full run down of breakfast and the upstairs terrace and we are ready to go.

We get upgraded to a family room (not sure why as there were only the two of us?) and the apartments are spacious, with a full lounge and kitchen area and huge windows that open up to views of the hillside villas and apartments. The bedroom is a little dark, but perfect for afternoon naptime, an essential when catching stupid o’clock easyjet flights. So it might not be a designer boutique hotel choice – but it is basic, clean, spacious and all that is needed for a short Italian weekend break. For a family, the room would be perfect, and a longer stay would mean you could take advantage of the full kitchen and dining area.

But the best of the hotel is not the room, but the rooftop terrace where the true beauty of Amalfi is presented before you. Views out to the ocean, the rooftops of multi-coloured houses, the church bells, the mountains….just fabulous. Breakfast can be brought up to the terrace, and sun loungers laid out on the balcony are perfect for breakfast round two (the lemon filled doughnuts are to die for). The breakfast buffet is extensive and provides a good opportunity to try a few of the local delicacies –i.e. lemon everything.

The staff are so wonderful and helpful, organising a last minute taxi for us and helping us out paying in different currencies and being very flexible. Antonella is quite possibly the most lovely front of house staffer i have ever met. Our inability to speak Italian was embarrassing for us, but all the hotel staff spoke english and were gracious when there was a little language barrier.

We have already reccommended the place to friends, and would love to return.

Room Tip: The family room was massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellapad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Our time in Amalfi from July 21 to July 27 was incredibly special not only because of the Amalfi coast area, but especially because of the hotel we stayed in. Hotel L'Antico Convitto has it all - perfect location right in the centre of Amalfi, with a beautiful terrace overlooking the Mediterranean Sea; bright and super clean spacious rooms (a luxury in Europe!); a constant "how can we help you" attitude; and finally an owner manager Gabriella who is personally involved in all aspects of hotel service. Not forgetting the delicious breakfast buffets served up each morning, included in the very reasonable high season rate of 115 Euros per night for a double room looking onto the exciting street below (yet somehow the room was absolutely quiet with the windows closed)! From restaurant recommendations to travel arrangements, no request was too much for the people of L'Antico Convitto. There really is no reason to look any further than this hotel. We will definitely return to stay at L'Antico Convitto.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

we stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed it very very much. everyone at l'anticio convitto was so friendly and eager to help! loved the location, too. no stairclimbing. the duomo, beach and restaurants just around the corner.
the roof terrace is a highlight. i mean that's when you know, you're on holidays, having breakfast (delicious btw) on a terrace like that, under a pergola, overlooking the see ... pure bliss!!

the room was nice, the shower a highlight, the air condition a blessing :)

if i come back to amalfi (and i hope so!) i will definitly stay here again.

grazie gabriella, gennaro, antonella e ferdinando!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I think the most important thing to note when reading my review is that this is my first of 8 accommodation reviews that hasn't scored 'very good' or higher. I'm not hard to please, a serial complainer or anything of the sort. Far from it.
To be fair, I'll start with the positives. The location is fantastic, right in the heart of Amalfi. Its only a short stroll to restaurants, shops and buses to travel along the coastline.
The buffet breakfast is pretty good. Whilst it never changes the options available are pretty generous. You can eat on the roof top terrace with water views which is a must.
The room itself is pretty good. Our only complaint would be the noise from above. We can't quite work out what it is but it sounds like someone is dragging tables and chairs over tiles. It happens regularly and for long periods when it starts. We hear it everyday numerous times and we're not in the room that often. We're on the first floor so it's not from the terrace, a bit of a mystery.
The cons...
The wifi. Paying 110 Euro a night we'd expect to have pretty sufficient wifi as promised. This has not been the case. It worked well enough the first day and a half and then dropped out completely. When we enquired about the problem they said it related to the weather. It rained mildly for one hour. When we enquired on day two, same response. Day 3, same respone. They finally got a technician out to fix it late on the third night. I felt their attention to this issue was poor but forgivable.
Beds. Paying 110 Euro a night, two single beds pushed together. Forgivable.
Cleaning. Our stuff always seemed to have moved or had the look like it had been gone through most days after we had it cleaned. Nothing was ever missing but was still a bit weird. Again, we don't complaint so didn't say anything. One day after coming home at 7pm from a day trip we found our door not only unlocked but open for anyone to enter, presumably from the morning after it had been cleaned, I was pretty fed up at this stage so went and advised reception. They were apologetic and asked me to advise if anything was missing. We dont think anything was but weren't going to trek back up to reception for their peace of mind and instead thought they might check in with us... Wrong. No mention of it at breakfast the next morning, or when we paid on check out... All we wanted was for someone to show they cared about the issue and asked that everything was ok. In Australia for these sorts of issues they'd give you a bottle of wine, voucher or deduct the price. We weren't after this, just some consideration.
The issues I raised above, mainly about poor customer service, not forgivable.
If no issues came up I think our opinion would be different as the staff are all pleasant and nice to deal with. But issues did come up and they had no idea how to handle the issues during or after the fact. For me, it's extremely poor and incompetent service and I can't recommend this hotel as a result.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Percy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirettoreAmalfi, Proprietario at Albergo L'Antico Convitto, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Sir,
First, thank You for writing your report.
I am very sorry that Your experience at our Hotel disappointed your expectations.
I only would clarify a few points :
1) the Wifi problem was caused by an unexpected event (there was a storm and not a slight rain). I understand your disappointment but I remind You that the problem involved only the rooms on 1st floor and not the entire property, therefore the Wifi worked well both in the Hall or on the terrace (where You used it for all the duration of the blackout reassuring us that it was not a big problem). Also, it was always available the free Internet point in the Lobby.
2) About Your complaint that the waitress accidentally forgot to lock the door of your room I just want let you know that the waitress was immediately blamed for this regrettable error. The Hotel promptly assumed his responsibilities asking you to check if something was missing (if so, of course we would reimburse the damage). You answered that nothing was missing and only wanted to do the complaint to the maid (who apologizes for the incident).
Therefore, we believe to have well managed both situations.
About the discount or the bottle of wine, this was not done because we never felt any discomfort in You: until Your departure You reassured us that everything was OK, so we thought we had nothing to be forgiven. We welcome our guests with passion and professionality, so we apologize if Your stay was so unpleasant; we'll try to improve on what we can.

With my kindest wishes,
Gabriella Laudano
Hotel L'Antico Convitto*** - Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
1.0 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.4 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 km away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo L'Antico Convitto

Property: Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Address: Via Dei Curiali 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,514 - ₹ 19,866
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing