We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveller rating
401
426
180
92
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
426
180
92
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus private beach gerry's bar hotel beach amalfi coast amazing views local sita bus minute walk up the hill breakfast and dinner nice pool bit dated public areas every hour bus service room number overlooking amalfi sea view
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

It wasn’t all bad so rather than write war and peace I will list the good and bad points of this hotel.

Good
1. The view
2. The pool area
3. The lobby, bar and meal areas
4. The shuttle bus

Bad
1. The receptionists were formal rather than friendly
2. The waiters at dinner were inconsistent, some very good, some very disinterested
3. The rooms are dark and dank with no natural light and in serious need of a makeover. If they spent just a little bit of money updating the rooms it would be so much better. I couldn’t stand to spend any time in my room.
4. I paid for a sea view, but my ground floor balcony was set so far back that there wasn’t really much of a view.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Linro76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Not perfect, but some of the ratings should be 10s, so it deserves a 6. We drove there over the mountain, so my wife was in shock for over a day especially because we scraped the rental car against a wall. The staff were very concerned and helpful! The hotel strongly suggests not to bring food or drink from outside, but we did and nothing can compare to having a picnic on that balcony! They had the same menu for all 4 days of our stay and, although good, it did not appeal to us. Thanks to the staff who were wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

What a spot. A little out of town but quiet. There is however a shuttle and also a city bus. The room was clean, comfortable with a nice terrace. The view is spectacular. The common areas have a wonderful view and the staff reception staff really go out of their way to be helpful. The common area was so comfortable that we spent a good deal of time there. We were awaiting a bus from our tour but didn't at all mind the wait. The breakfast was fantastic. I ate one dinner there and it was so so.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We spent a day on the beach at the Excelsior Mare Club. We did not go to the hotel up the hill.

Te beach is fantastic, highly recommended. We were staying up the road closer to the town of Amalfi. Hiked a short way up the road, checked in at street level, paid the entrance, got our towels, and took an elevator all the way down to the beach (a long, long way). No steps to talk. We had a fabulous time, the beach is very nice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank collinstw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We spent a portion of our trip to Italy at the Excelsior. The hotel sits on the top of the cliff overlooking the water. The view is the best thing about the hotel. We had a beautiful view from our terrace and enjoyed waking up to the sunrise each morning. The room was large and comfortable with a nice size balcony which seated 4 people with chairs and a table. We had another couple over a few nights for drinks and we were all very comfortable.

We had breakfast here each morning which was a nice variety of hot items, cold cuts and pastries. We would take our breakfast each morning on the deck overlooking the pool. We did not eat dinner here and were disappointed in the room service offerings. A cheese board and wine for an afternoon repast on our terrace would have been ideal as would a late night pizza or small plate offering.

The shuttle is convenient but at times unreliable due to the Amalfi Traffic. So if you do not want to spend time traveling back and forth to Amalfi do not stay here.

The grotto bar and the beach were closed when we visited the first week of October which was disappointing. We laid by the pool and swam here one day--no bar service poolside, and its quite a steep climb to carry drinks back and forth.

The views and ambiance made it a beautiful place to visit, but be prepared as there is no where to walk to if you want to dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews