We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Dolce Vita in Pogerola...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita in Pogerola...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The first morning i woke up in my seaview room at this magical hotel and i heard a rooster singing his wake up call,followed by church bells and many dogs barking in the mountain somewhere,i thought i was dreaming...Then i just lift my head from the bed and the open french doors gave me a view that took my breath away...and im still pinching myself looking at my pictures to make sure i didnt dream all this,that a place like this really do exist and its called the Amalfi Coast,especially at the Exelsior ,Amalfi...

This entire review could go on for very long as my fiance and me had the time of our life just enjoying the beauty of the place,the wine,the magnificent pool,the lovely staff who were so caring,warm and attentive to our every needs...This hotel is the perfect location for seing everything the Amalfi Coast as to offer,as the marina is a 20 minutes bus down from the hotel...Everyday is a fantastic new experiences,taking the shuttle bus down to the village,you cant be nervous about their driving,its just unbelievable how good the drivers have to be on thoses roads...We visited Amalfi of course but also Pompei,Capri,Positano,Salerno,Ravello,Sorrento,Maiori,Minori...all beautiful little village,town.islands that i could write a book about but just keep in mind is soo perfect to go EVERYWHERE by boat,its not that expensive and much more enjoyable than the bus!!

As i said before,the hotel as a fantastic pool,thats perfecto after a long day of sightseeing and there s a cute little bar right next to it to enjoy a cold Nastro Azzura(italian beer)or whatever you feel like!!The food at the lunch terrace is wonderful,so fresh and tasty,as everything tasted better in Italy anyway!!At night,you have your dinner outside with the crazy view of Amalfi and we had amazing gnocchi,buccatini,fish,and so much more delicioso pasta meals theres too many to describe!!And its a good thing you have great food at lunch and dinner because the breakfast ,even thought it was always fresh ,is really minimal...Pastries,cheeses,cold cuts and scrambled eggs...Which is pretty good to start your day but dont expect crepes,waffles,eggs unless you pay additionnal for it.But it really didnt bother us at all!!

As for the decor,i really cant understand all the negatives critics saying the place is old,dated and in need of renovation???Seriously,you are in Italy,in the gorgeous Amalfi Coast,where you hopefully go to enjoy the culture and history,the magical beauty of ancients times and your in a country atmosphere!!!The hotel is so well managed,everything is spotless everywhere and the decor is just so rustic,campania style...as it should be!!!

We are alredy thinking of going back to this hotel,we miss Antonio s smile(maitre D )Maria s kindness (dinner waitress)and of course waking up to a rooster and church bells every morning in this little piece of heaven on earth!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have seaview,i think but we were high up and cant believe there can be better views th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SunnyAnneMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    361
    144
    68
    63
See reviews for
164
583
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I would not stay at this hotel again. While the views were stunning, the hotel was old and needs a major refurbishment. They had wonderfull facilities, a cave bar for example, a nice pool, but absolutely nothing going on. After dinner the place totally died, guess nothing to do but go to sleep. There was a shuttle bus that went into town during the day but takes about 25 min. If you get stuck in Amalfi by missing the shuttle or traveling outside of hours of operation the cost of a taxi is 40 euro one way.They also charge to use the beach at 10 euro per day, which doesnt seem right as a guest of the hotel.The staff I did not find to be friendly at all and frankly pretty rude. There has to be better in the Amalfi area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casekobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

My husband, daughter and I decided to take a trip to Amalfi over Easter. I looked at reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to choose the Excelsior Grand Hotel. Even though some of the reviews stated that the rooms were "dated" we did not find that to be a bother. Views from the balcony were breath taking, the rooms were very clean and the staff were extremely helpful. There was a shuttle that went down to the town of Amalfi and back several times a day, even at night. The young woman at the desk made sure we knew about local activities during out stay i.e. trips to the island of Capri, Easter celebrations, and beach spots. The breakfast in the morning was mouthwatering. We ate outside on the deck over looking the coast. Don't overlook this accommodation! It is a great place for a good price. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vtlover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We spent four nights here and it was disappointing because it's so dated, there were no sun beds, the pool was dirty, the bedroom walls paper thin and the breakfast ok but tasteless scrambled eggs and cold bacon isn't good enough.

The positives were the view, friendly staff and private beach.

Room Tip: Suites have a nice view across the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We thought Excelsior was average, dated & did not deserve a 4* rating but our main complaint was the disappointing food. Breakfast was almost inedible, we eventually gave up & went to Amalfi to eat. The ala carte was poor quality; small, over priced, dry and tasteless.

The view was amazing but definetly would not go back as the stay was not enjoyable. The hotel were trying hard to provide a posh food experience but delivered the opposite.

Back to basics, get the little things right first.

Robert, England

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmynorris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.4 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,317 - ₹ 23,118
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing