We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I loved this hotel! Theservice is excellent and the views are amazing. Not right in town, but they have a shuttle into town. I would stay here again - anytime!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    360
    144
    68
    63
See reviews for
164
583
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This hotel is all about the view. It is well positioned high in the cliff / hill. I have to say that for North American patern you may feel disapointed but relax, you are in Italy! Enjoy the spectacular views! Ask for a sea view. I stayed at the higher floor with my family. We would stay at the terrace enjoyng the sunset. If you don't get the balcony you will always have the commom terrace. The pool is nice and deep. Not much space around it but it is relaxing. The service is good. Breakfast is fair. There is a bar when you can eat a pizza Marguerita. There were some tourist who joined their friends just for the dinner and the view. They were at Amalfi at sea level and went just to check the view and were amazed.
It is far from the Amalfi center so the beach was not a daily option but we were not in Amalfi because of the beach.
The price of this hotel was above average of all hotels we stayed in Italy but that's Amalfi and I decided to prize myself.
If you rent a car you can easily drive around. The road is narrow and you will feel like inside thise Bond movies.
Wireless internet available so you can access you Trip Advisor and pist nice comments and pictures of this lively area.
You can walk downstairs and check the Yellow Lemon plantation. You could get list walking around the hotel area.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Fdcaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Amalfi coast region (even over Tuscany region) is particularily beautiful as are the views from this hotel. We had a room with balcony on the top floor approx mid building which offered an unobstructed view of the sea and coastline below. If you are prepared to be accepting of the fact this is an older hotel then do not hestitate staying here. Breakfast was on the open terrace and dinner inside overlooking Amalfi town itself..very romantic!... My wife and I drove down from Rome and were able to park at the hotel..(tip- rent a very small car- we had a Fiat 500- lovely)....staff were friendly and more than accomodating and quick to assist ....plan on taking the free shuttle into Amalfi as opposed to driving as there is very limited parking near the town or beaches. Be careful on the road; anticipate the oncoming car or bike coming around the corner on the wrong side and you'll do fine...in warmer temps anticipate long lines of cars and slower progress...We were able to travel around to Sorrento, Positano and had no problems..Took a bus to Pompei and climbed to the top of Mt Vesuvius overlooking Naples....fantastic time....should you have any questions please feel free to contact me...we will return to Italy...next time Sicily:)

Tramper

Room Tip: go with top floor corner room...pool opens later into May
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

First, the view from our room's balcony was worth the cost of admission...There's nothing that I've seen that quite compares...and I've traveled extensively. The trip on the winding roads through Positano up the mountain to our hotel in Amalfi was breathtaking...although frightening at times. The bus drivers really know what they're doing there and have a great judge of distance. It was October so we didn't use the pool at the hotel but it looked amazing and was quite large...We were there three nights and the meals were nicely prepared and there was a nice variety to choose from. We loved Amalfi and are talking about going for a month when we retire. The only negative which applied to most hotels we stayed at in Italy...is that the mattresses are terribly hard. If you've got back problems you're going to feel it on those mattresses.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jojo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We traveled to Amalfi as part of a semi-escorted tour. Definitely enjoyed this hotel, even tho it had dated decor and a miniature tv, we couldn't help but get up early to watch the sunrises over Amalfi, or spend time on the outdoor terrace bar for drinks, and gaze at the sea and town before our return to Rome. Located high on the mountainside (all the old rooms without sea views have been shut down), every room has a scenic view. The front desk staff all spoke excellent English (one is an American)--extremely helpful and accomodating for extra towels and pillows; as the weather had been cold but turned warm again our room needed help to keep cool and the staff were able to locate a great fan to help us sleep at night. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom, bed comfortable, the shuttered window doors and balconies terrific. There is a free wifi internet spot near the lobby, and one free computer to use if you didn't bring a laptop.

The shuttle bus helped us do our tours of Amalfi without paying for taxis, though there are some missing hourly return times that would have been appreciated (especially on the one day it rained forever). Food was OK, but not a highlight of the hotel. We were particularly surprised one evening when we missed the early seating and were brought into the bar until supposedly a table might open up; we were kept there for at least 40 minutes while other couples in our tour group were seated as we watched them get their dinners. No explanation from the wait staff, and we felt treated like poor relatives. The following day we had a long wait before our bus came to take us back to Rome and went to sit on the terrace; when we stopped by the bar to see if they would let us have glasses with ice since we had brought some bottled water with us, they refused even though they knew we had just spent a couple of days at their hotel and restaurant.

Nevetheless, we would consider staying there again, just not eating at the restaurant for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far side of the hotel away from Amalfi do not have views as good as those closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tigerseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.9 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,491 - ₹ 23,507
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing