We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
202
215
98
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
215
98
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamalfi coastexcellent locationthe bustown centrereasonable sizelounge chairssuperior roomlovely hotelstayed here for nightsincluded breakfasttravel agentoverlooking the seabeautiful viewcroissantsprivate beachharbourbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Hey Hotel Bussola!

Sorry it took me so long to leave a review.
Me and my partner took a trip to Capri this June and Hotel Bussola made our holiday the best it could be! Picked up in a car from the station in Anacapri by a really friendly driver. We asked him a bunch of questions which he assured us in lovely english would be answered inside! We got inside and the hostess, i forget her name, told us every square inch of what to do from east to west on the Island of Capri. We really got the moved out of our holiday because of these recomondations and we cant thank her enough! I had emailed beforehand saying it was a special occasion, expecting perhaps something small on arrival and our room was covered in fresh lavender and flowers, amazing bedroom etc! we were so so so so happy! breakfast everyday was lovely, coffee to die for as one expects in the south of Italy. Roof top has lovely clean pool and beautiful views. amazing place to buy a few beers, beat the capri prices and make your own little sunset paradise. thank you everyone at hotel la bussola for an amazing holiday! We will be back :) thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alexanderamy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

thanks for the review
But you have "lost the compass" ... This Hotel La Bussola (maniner compass in Italian) is in Amalfi not in Capri
We are pleased that you have kept a good memory of Capri and ... I hope also of the coast of Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour to the Amalfi Coast. The check-in process was friendly and painless and we were shown to our room some distance away from reception. This is an older hotel that is in obvious need of refurbishment but is kept clean and reasonably well presented.

Our room was a reasonable size with a small balcony that looked directly over the water - the best part of our stay. The bed was a bit on the hard side but not too bad.

The bathroom was tiny and we could barely fit into the shower recess. We had been warned that European hotel bathrooms can be on the cosy side but this was uncomfortable to move around in. If you wanted to use the bidet you had to slide in under the sink to get to it. We had previously been on a river cruise and this bathroom was smaller than the one we had on the boat! The shelves were also placed at a high height and there was nowhere really to hang your towel to dry. The lighting wasn't particularly good either.

The hotel Wi-Fi was included but was very slow and intermittent, making it hard to upload photos.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant was included for the two nights - on the first night we were seated at a table with our room number on it, given a limited choice menu and offered only water (sparkling water was an additional cost). We had to ask for the wine list and we weren't asked if we wanted any wine until we had finished our entrees. The food was very disappointing - I had a risotto that was tasteless and overcooked, a main meal that was hot fish, hot potato and stone cold green beans and a dessert that was inedible. The service was dismissive and bordering on being rude. The staff were more interested in looking after a table filled with people ordering from the full menu including a number of bottles of wine. We felt like we were second class citizens. This was not a good experience so we chose not to eat here on the second night even though we had already paid for it. Breakfast is also in this restaurant with the same staff serving, apart from a young man who served the coffee and tea. He was always friendly, professional and engaging. The older staff could learn a lot from him!

We loved the view and location, were indifferent to the room and disappointed with the restaurant. Certainly didn't meet all our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thanks for the review.
We are sorry if not all was welcome, at the next opportunity we can recommend booking a Superior room for better services.
We are glad you have a good memory of Amalfi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We had stayed at another hotel previous but were thrilled to find out we were booked into this one. Right in the heart of Amalfi. Our room was great we had a balcony that over looked the beach and Sea, our fridge seems to be having its own trouble staying cold with the very high heat and sun. Very nice staff and good breakfast assortment and dinner options. This hotel is right on the beach or it seems, you cross a small street and there you are on the boardwalk. A few nights after dinner the family took a walk along the board walk and then into the sea waters, nice cooling and refreshing. The hotel also has its own private beach ( dock with lounge chairs and life guard ) you are a 4 minute walk from the main square in Amalfi and the main street or the ferry terminal. You can also purchase bus tickets from the local store for the sita buses. Great views during the day but better once the dusk starts to come in and the lights come on,you will notice that the beach fills up real fast ..like 7 am.. but nice to hear kids playing.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Perfectly located hotel in Amalfi, across from the water, near the ferries and the main street. Rooms were spotless, staff very friendly. Restaurant was quite good. We somehow booked a half board with our rate, which includes breakfast and dinner. What a surprise as the meals were excellent. We looked forward to the dinners.I would recommend doing this.
They have "for fee" parking, which is the only way to go if you drive there.
End of day, go on the 4th floor terrace and take in the views.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms, some with patio, others with balcony
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tonydab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

My first visit to Amalfi Coast Italy! I love Italy and their beautiful structures! The people are wonderfully pleasant and friendly! We checked into this hotel I must say the customer service is excellent!!! They take care and cater to all our needs without hesitation! At the front desk all the customer service were great! I can go on and on with their kindness and helpful information they go all out to get for us. Very clean and a quiet hotel. Pet friendly and very convenient to the beach and taking boat trips to Positano, Salerno, Amalfi Coast, Sorento and other beautiful towns! I gave this hotel a four star B/C there was only one thing I was frustrated with...their WiFi wasn’t great. Well maybe it depends on your carrier but during my 4 days stay I didn’t have hardly any connectivity unless I stepped outside. Otherwise my stay here was relaxing and enjoyable! Thank you Hotel La Bussola for making our stay comfortable!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Neki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore H, Direttore at Hotel la Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for the good judgment
We apologize if you have had problems with the wifi, but in recent months we have improved the service and it seemed that everything was ok.
We are sorry for your report and we will do some checks.
Thank you for appreciating our work and the location of the hotel
  see you soon, keep a good memory of Amalfi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews