We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous Mediterranean Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Glencoe, IL, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Mediterranean Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I do not agree with the reviews that describe the rooms as dated with old or shabby furniture. This is a classic hotel. The furniture is quality, almost antique. I do not understand people wanting everything new. The rooms are very large with balconies immediately looking over the Mediterranean Sea. The floors in the room are vietri ceramic and the balcony floor is also a vietri ceramic design. My sister and I stayed here for 4 nights in early October. We each had a large double or queen sized bed. At night we left our balcony door open so we could listen to the waves all night long, and the see the lights of the fishing boats. It was glorious to sit out on the balcony and take in the sun by day and the stars by night. One day there was a torrential downpour. We kept the door open and enjoyed the coziness of our room and the weather outside. The street below is tree lined and quiet because the street dead ends. It is fun to see the families out for walks in the evening. The bathtub is jacuzzi and I actually used it for a jacuzzi bath! There are towel warmers too. The room had a refrigerator, which allowed us to buy proseco and bring it back to the room for evening consumption after dinner out. The breakfast is very nice, with cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, fresh veggies and fruits in addition to the traditional breads, cakes and pies. On the first floor there is a very large, relaxing seating area with lots of couches and stuffed chairs and a very large, welcoming bar lively with people in the evening. The front desk is a combination of family and friends. Very nice and helpful. We were directed to this hotel by the tourist office. It was in our price range, which was a bit on the low side for a sea-fronting hotel. Amalfi is expensive and the sea-fronting hotels are very expensive!! This was very reasonably priced. It also has a rooftop patio that you can sit out on at any time, but we never felt the need because we were so busy and also had a great view from our room. From Amalfi, we took day trips to Capri, Ravello and Pasteum (via Salerno). Transportation to all locations is very convenient, just a block from the hotel. The tourist office is also very helpful. In general, we found the people in the shops and restaurants to be very grateful for the business and consiencious of their guests needs. On our first day while we were trying to land a hotel, the main restaurant in the plaza at the foot of the historic church in the town square let us sit there for hours with just a couple items purchased.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nelsonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    181
    84
    23
    14
See reviews for
85
220
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel as part of a group and the location was fantastic. We had views of the sea from our room which were just beautiful. The hotel itself is older and the rooms were comfortable enough but certainly not 4* standard. The room had quite a cold feel to it and the bed was not the greatest. The bathroom was a bizarre set up and the shower absolutely tiny. I am a smaller build and struggled to wash my hair without whacking my elbows constantly! The staff were absolutely lovely and the service was fantastic however the hotel overall could do with a renovation. I cannot say that I would pay the asking price to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breezey103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This hotel has seen better days. Considering this is a 4 star hotel, the standard is not up to an international 4 star rating.

The rooms, which although clean, are very dated with old and shabby furniture. The bathroom was small and old-fashioned with a weak shower and intermittent hot water.

The dining room has the potential for a great view of the harbour had it not been for the overgrown foliage directly in front of the windows.

The breakfast was acceptable but the waiting staff were condescending.

We had emailed and requested a sea view when booking our room. When we arrived, we were shown a room with a partial side sea view which was not acceptable. The receptionist was unsympathetic offering us instead a room with a full sea view at an extra cost of Eur 20 per day but with poorer furniture and a shower not bath. We pointed out that we had requested a sea view on booking but they continued to insist that we pay the extra charge. We accepted the room with the full sea view after negotiation with the management at an eventual extra cost of Eur 10 per day.

To add to our dissatisfaction with this hotel, on checking out they tried to charge us double the advertised rate for the car park.

With updating of the rooms, completely new staff and a tidy up of the exterior, this has the potential to be a great hotel in such a good location.

.

Room Tip: The only good feature is the sea view (if you have one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Hotel la Bussola is a nice family hotel. It is billed as 4*, but the rooms are not really quite up to this standard. The hotel is located just 150 metres outside the old city, overlooking the bay. this is in some way an advantage, as the old city is easily accessible, yet you avoid the usual problems of staying inside a medieval town - lots of stairs, narrow street, noise from the ever-present scooters, etc. I stayed there in the winter, a very quiet tourist season on the Amalfi coast, but there were still quite a few guests, apparently retired Italian pensioners from northern Italy staying for several weeks at the time - obviously a cheap holiday in a warmer climate for them. The room was adequate, and well furnished, but rather small as is so often the case with Italian hotels, with hardly enough space to walk around the bed. The most charming aspect of the hotel was the double doors opening to a wonderful sunny balcony, with views over the fantastic bay of Amalfi. The breakfast was more than adequate, in a very pleasant breakfast room again overlooking the bay. The Hotel La Bussola also has its own undercover parking, right behind the hotel cut into the rock face, a great advantage if you travel by car. In the winter season the prices were also quite reasonable at around 80 euro or so. This would be a perfect hotel for staying a few days or longer, exploring the Amalfi coast.

Room Tip: A great hotel for exploring the Amalfi coast, within easy walking distance to the old city of Amalfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpfSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel was very disappointing - not 4-star quality. The room had no airconditioning so we had to sleep with the shutters open at night. The breakfast was limited and poor - rotten fruit on display and coffee not very nice. The staff were indifferent and failed to pass on information to us from a tour company, almost resulting in us missing our tour. There were ants in the room, the television barely worked, and the telephone was not working. The town of Amalfi though, was lovely, and we did enjoy our time there - nice restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank australia2italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 km away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.5 km away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Property: Hotel la Bussola
Address: Lungomare Dei Cavalieri di Gerusalemme 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,156 - ₹ 41,516
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ostrovok, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing