We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a panoramic sea view... but partial sea view”
Review of Residenza Pansa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Pansa
Ranked #15 of 43 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not a panoramic sea view... but partial sea view”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We did our reservation directly with the B&B and asked for a room with panoramic sea view and balcony. Once you figure out and find it location, you soon realise that no rooms has really a panoramic sea view balcony but only a partial sea view... after streatching your neck...

The rooms are cristal clean with ocean colors but you soon feel that it is a bit empty. Who cares if you are here to visit? True, but it is different when it is pouring rain outside. The balcony is large, but again, not with a panoramic sea view.

The breakfast may vary from one day to another. The first morning, you could get half a glass of juice, yogurt, coffee and pastries. The next day, you will have only 1/4 of glass of juice and no yogurt. Why? No specific reasons...

Be careful, the owner may argue with you if you go complain. "The costumer is always right" does not exist here. At the end, the owner may make peace with you. In summary, it could be ok, but the misleading advertising could get on your nerves. Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flight_Planners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    53
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
117
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

The rooms and bathrooms here are gorgeous and much more spacious than the photos on the website imply. The bathroom, tile floors, furniture and bedding seem very new and are immaculately clean. The balconies are cute (some more spacious than others), and the wi-fi is fast. Though the breakfast is may be limited according to the standards of other reviewers (croissant, orange juice, fette biscottate, coffee, and yogurt), I found it more than satisfactory. The croissants come from Pasticceria Pansa and are some of the best I had during 3 months of travel through Italy and Spain. The owner, Roberto Pansa is extremely charming, welcoming and helpful. When I arrived in Amalfi, he met me in the Harbor, walked me to Residenza Pansa, and even helped me carry my backs up the steps. Though he speaks limited English, this is not a problem because his amiable assistant is fluent. Not all the rooms have much of a sea view, so if this is important to you, make sure you book one that does.

Though my room at Residenza Pansa was one of the best values I found in Italy, I found the town of Amalfi a bit frumpy. Personally I prefer the younger, more picturesque Positano, which is why I gave a rating of 4 instead of 5 for location. However, if you favor the more laid-back atmosphere of the Amalfi town, you simply cannot go wrong choosing Residenza Pansa.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This B and B was a very nice surprise complete with a spectacular view of the beach from the terrace. Breakfast was delivered to your room each morning. Eva was very friendly and I would recommend this B&B to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renswoude
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Upon arrival in Amalfi, we called and waited a few minutes when a small car came to pick up our luggage and the driver delivered it at the residenza (for free). A few minutes later somebody else brought our car to a parking (15 euro for one day). When we checked out, luggage and car were handed over to us at the main square. Residenza Pansa is a bit difficult to find. But the lady was so kind to meet us at the cathedral because we couldn't find the place. Spotless clean rooms and breakfast was served after we said that we were ready for it. It was room service without extra charge!! The lady was very helpful and friendly. We certainly recommend the residenza.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renswoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Recently renovated, spotlessly clean, all equipment worked as expected. Breakfast in room was fresh from the family bakery. View from the balcony was of the town facing the beach. Soundproofing was excellent. A very restful place handy to the main town square. Access was up 60 odd stairs and a little difficult to find initially. Ask a local for directions. Luggage was picked up from the Bus station, gratis.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
799 reviews
0.1 km away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.1 km away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
642 reviews
0.3 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Pansa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Pansa

Property: Residenza Pansa
Address: Via di San Nicola dei Greci 11, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,756 - ₹ 12,530
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residenza Pansa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few meters from the wonderful "Duomo Square", it's possible to find Residenza Panza. One of the most attractive hotels, situated in a building of the eighteenth century. Residenza Panza is composed of six rooms and four of them face direct the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residenza Pansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing