We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, but overpriced”
Review of Eolo

Eolo
Ranked #1 of 103 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great views, but overpriced”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We went for our anniversary, fine dining experience but have had much better food and it was very very over priced. Views were great, but unless you have one of the two balcony tables - prob not worth it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MHughes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    91
    27
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worthy of reputation”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We rolled in at 4pm on a Friday to reserve a table, and they said they had space that night. 8pm was fine, and when we rocked up, we had a table overlooking the bay. Perfect. As was pretty much the food that followed. Stuffed squid is amazing.Enough said - just order it. I essentially ordered the same dish twice, warm seafood salad and seafood 'soup', but I can suffer fine seafood for a while, especially when the clams, mussels, octopus and prawns are this good. A chocolate cake oozing with warm, dark sauce and a 2001 Tuscan dessert wine topped off a fantastic dining experience. The spectacular lightening show over the Med didn't hamper the experience either. Worthy indeed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gortonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience in the Amalfi coast!”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I went to this lovely restaurant with my husband after a mid afternoon snack, and wasn't very hungry! So I only ordered one main entree, as in Italy we usually order a starter and two main courses, a primi and a secondi I thought maybe the waiters or the chef might be a bit iffy!!! I was totally wrong, the service was first class, very attentive, the chef sent us an appetizer and a sampler of a dessert which were delicious! The view of the bay with the full moon reflecting in the ocean was breathtaking and the main courses we ordered were cooked to perfection! The wine list was varied and even though I am not a great appreciator of wine, the cave built in the rock is sure worth checking out! It was a wnderful dinner and the best service on the trip!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgems_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve quite so much praise”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Eolo has established itself as the pre-eminent restaurant in Amalfi, but our experience there didn't quite match up to the praise being heaped on this restaurant. The situation, on the balcony with a view of the sea and the town, is beautiful. Service is over-attentive - the type of place where you take a sip of water and the guy comes over to top you up again. Unnecessary and interrupts conversation.

The food was nice, but sadly I can't remember what we ate, which is not a good sign. This isn't a bad restaurant by any stretch of the imagination, but having read the reviews on TA (and other places) we felt disappointed afterwards. It's expensive as well. We preferred everything about Marina Grande.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank RSym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best on the Amalfi coast,actually Italy”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We ate at Eolo twice during our short stay in Amalfi. Both times we we very impressed by the food quality, the attentiveness and friendliness of all the numerous staff including our knowledgeable lady sommelier. The menu was sophisticated as was the wine list.
We considered the meals good value and set the benchmark for Italian restaurants.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eolo also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Eolo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing