We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Matera's shining gems!”

Osteria San Francesco
Ranked #18 of 366 Restaurants in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 40 - US$ 62
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 November 2018

In an area of Italy known for earthy, down-home food Osteria San Francesco stands out for its food, service, and wine. This is a white tablecloth restaurant in every sense of the word. While we did not have a reservation, we did catch the restaurant as it opened at noon. In no time every table was taken. And its no wonder. The food is outstanding as is the service. A wine list is priced reasonably as is the case all over Puglia. If your travels bring you to this region of Italy make sure this place is on your short list.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2018

Classy setting, table with view onto the busy kitchen, friendly chef, delicious local food (especially the lasagna!).
A little on the high end of pricing though and the puff pastry dessert wasn't outstanding, but I would recommend the restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 527Blandine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Starters were octopus and Burcat a which were very nice. The octopus could’ve been a bit more tender. The ravioli was very disappointing but the veal cheeks were good. The service was good but got slower as the restaurant filled. A good wine selection and good recommendation for a nice local red. Overall good but wouldn’t recommend the ravioli.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LdnTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I just had the most wonderful meal at Osteria San Francesco. All dishes were absolutely delicious, but the soft poached egg served with Parmesan cream and fresh shaved truffle “petals” was extraordinary. Likewise the ravioli and lasagna were fantastic. We finished with the pork chop that was out of this world. Service was excellent with great wines by the glass paired to each of the courses as we dined. Thank you fir a lovely evening! Howard & Christine

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

This is an elegant, modern restaurant in the heart of Matera Sassi. We were warmly greeted by the chef and owner, Nicola. The decorations are quite simple, however, the uplighting and quality linens let you know you are in good hands. We are 2 couples from San Francisco and we all live Italian food. We had many dishes that were lovely and tasty but the outstanding dishes were the eggplant tower , the veal cheeks and the lasagna. The bread was also remarkably good. The food is rich, so make sure you are hungry. Bravo!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria San Francesco also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to Osteria San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing