We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions are important ”
Review of Baccanti

Baccanti
Ranked #39 of 366 Restaurants in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 33 - US$ 60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We chose this place from the reviews and it was close to our hotel so we knew after all our walking and tired legs it would be a quick trip home. Despite being slightly off the main drag and tucked away it was heaving with people even though it is a large restaurant. As our Italian is very poor we had been on the website which gives you an English version and we were able to look at the menu in advance which was so helpful as neither of ya eat seafood. Fortunately we pushed past our first impression of the waiter on the door who needed a happy pill and to chill. He was just plain grumpy. Not a great first impression. Luckily for them everyone else was engaging and pleasant despite it being a busy full house.
The food was amazing. We had a starter and a main each. The bread was seriously the best I have had in Italy. Served warm. The service was very slow but then we weren’t drinking on this occasion & we were extremely tired. So maybe it felt exaggerated. We had booked late so even though a stunning cave restaurant we had to sit outside on the terrace which on a warm night was still lovely. All in all a lovely meal & evening.
Paul & Sharon (New Zealand)

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank SharonB4630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

The restaurant didn't really meet my expectations when it comes to food, whereas the service was exceptional.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jelena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

As others have commented veal cheek cooked at low temperature in a vaccuum is excellent, as is lamb - but the highlight was the ravioli of 'pezzente' (sic) a local sausage. Vast wine list including two pages of local reds. Top quality professional service, atmospheric ambience - just a great place to go.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank galliardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Terrific and prompt service. Lovely atmosphere. Food was absolutely fantastic. This restaurant is on the pricer end but the food certainly delivered. I am gluten free and the staff were very obliging and offered me gluten free bread along with directing me towards the gf options on the menu. Worth a visit and I cannot fault. Highly recommend the beef check and ravioli!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Millarivette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a more high end dining experience in a beautiful cave then Baccanti is for you. The staff were very professional & provided excellent service. We were a party of 4 & we all ate different things & we were all pleased with our choices - risotto, lamb pasta, veal cheek & pork. All dishes were of a high standard.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baccanti also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to Baccanti? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing