We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
100
52
12
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
52
12
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic sights be patient beautiful hotel beautiful room junior suite place to stay steps heart cave town car luxury renovation bath maze rock
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Amazing experience in this beautiful hotel with rooms with doors opening onto the streets. I loved the gorgeous breakfast, served in Regina Core restaurant. If Armani did breakfasts, he would be proud of this. Delicious fruit, cheeses, hams and sun-dried tomatoes, artichokes etc. Best cappuccino in Italy so far.
We had a rocky start however (pun staying). I was so looking forward to being in this stunning troglodyte city, and we couldn't find the reception. A local artist told us to go to the Sant'Angelo luxury resort hotel which owns the Casa di Lucio. That's a few minutes walk awayawayk down slippery cobbled steps. When we were shown our room, I started to cry as it was in a real cave (beautiful, stylish, but no windows). My claustrophobia couldn't cope and the kind reception upgraded us with a deal. Our suite was fabulous, with swimming pool bath and great views, very comfy bed and spaciousness. The car parking service is essential. (25euro per day). Matera is so excited about Capital of Culture. It will be amazing. There are lovely restaurants and delicious food. The people are happy and friendly. The crypt of original sin (20km away, is interesting, if you have the time). Can't wait to return and see even more. Lovely art shop at Arterego.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We spent three nights here in May to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. This hotel has it all: luxury, adventure, great food and drink, kind staff. We loved the climbs to the room and to the restaurant each morning for breakfast. The room was so unique built in to rock and we truly felt we were dwelling in a cave. We loved the winding pathways, stairways, landings and courtyards of the hotel property. Exceptional bell staff who helped with any and all needs. The staff at the main reception were accommodating and helpful. Matera is like no other place and we felt this hotel was the perfect place to enjoy the town's uniqueness.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prissyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biagio S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Casa di Lucio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Wow!

This is one of the best review that we have never read!
Not only because there a lot of compliments on service and location, but because you was able to fully appreciate what is considered one of the wonders of the world, Matera and his ward.

Thanks a lot!
We hope to see again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

It s a beautiful hotel with a great location. We had a few issues with our room unfortunately. We didn t get the feeling of sleeping in a cave as we were expecting, the shower temperature regulator was stuck, the aircon was as old as the Sassi and could only go either really cold or really hot. For us it was a 2 Star but I gave it 3 because the breakfast was absolutely amazing served in a very suggestive restored cave and it deserves the extra point.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TripGau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Enjoyed an amazing week in Matera. Reception was a little difficult to find but welcomed by Lorenzo in a most tremendous storm. He really was so lovely and kind. Made us lovely coffee and told us the history of Matera before showing us to our beautiful cave room. We had a delux double and we were delighted by the standard of renovation and stylish decor. The walk to breakfast was delightful, so central and after a few minutes climb we were delighted to find ourselves in the Regina court restaurant where breakfast was served. The breakfast was superb with so much variety and the candle lit cave setting was contemporary and nothing was too much effort for the very friendly staff. We walked around the beautiful streets and found great cafes and restaurants and walked in the National Park.Matera is preparing to be European city of culture in 2019 and more renovation is going on so its a great time to come. As it is a Unesco heritage site parking controlled and the hotel charge €25 euros per night for valet parking.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Jude315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biagio s, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Casa di Lucio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear guest,

thank you for your great review!

The parking isn't allowed in Rione Sassi, for this reason we proposte to our guest an external parking but you can choose to park everywhere you want in the city.

We hope to see you, as soon as possible, again in Matera.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Great service, very welcoming feeling, thumbs up! The room was amazing, spectacular, worth every penny! Clean and tidy, very fresh, decor was trendy and comfort. And the bed - haven't ever slept so great! The mattress was best ever and the bedsheets very good quality. Towels were fluffy and thick. Luxury everywhere! :) Location was perfect.

Room tip: From the room number 4 the view was straight to church hill, great!
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PiaH1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews