We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner ”
Review of '900 Restaurant

'900 Restaurant
Reserve with
'900 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 366 Restaurants in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 34 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A totally new concept, a place to live food as a cultural experience, to savor the taste and the history of the ingredients. The chefs will welcome you with the best products of Italian tradition and the short chain of production. A truly unique dining experience .......
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Go there u will not regret!!! The food is absolutely amazing! The best meal we had this time in our vacation in Italy! Just fantastic! And interior is nice and service is great... 5 from 5 !!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank NeteliMeteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant due to the positive reviews received. There is no questioning it's elegance in design and we certainly had high hopes whilst waiting for the food. The Wine was delicious however have to say every course was incredibly underwhelming on flavour. My other half had the salt cod as the main and it was literarily 6 pieces of cod on a plate with a dehydrated pepper on the top - dry and totally uninteresting. My duck was tough with no sauce or side - thank goodness for the spinach I ordered. For the price we paid and the expectation created by the surroundings, the kitchen seriously has to review its menus and flavour combinations.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We visited ‘900 largely because we had a short space of time in Matera and this was one of the highest ranking restaurants on TripAdvisor that you can book online (hurrah ‘The Fork’!!). The restaurant is a modern design and this is reflected also in the food. It uses lots of local ingredients and produce without veering too far on being pretentious. The matera wafer bread wrapped in cheese taste like savoury cannoli and we’re very tasty; as was the raviolo. My lamb wasn’t great (but then this is my fault for selecting it out of season?) but the pork was lovely.
The restaurant owner did a great job and made us feel very special and welcome. Would recommend. It’s not in the busy centre but only a short five minute walk away. Book for 9pm; we were the only people in there at 8pm when it opened!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Sodyathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

It's a tiny restaurant with 35/40 seats in a very characteristic ambient. Service is excellent, high quality food and wines. Very nice dressed tables. If you stop in Matera, try to eat here lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Alessandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

A pleasant blend of fancy and comfortable, both in decor and cuisine. Our favorite Matera restaurant. We found the interior much more comfortable than others that are truly in damp caves. The meal started with an "amuse bouche" of ricotta mousse. Main dishes of pasta, lamb, and barley (farro) were all excellent. So was the semifreddo dessert. The house wines were reasonably priced and very good. Don't miss seeing the very unusual faucet in the bathroom near the front door!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jerseyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed '900 Restaurant also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to '900 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing