We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 1:30 PM, 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful tour of Matera

We booked a two hour evening tour with Guide Matera. Our guide for our tour was Luca. We covered... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2017
Alec D
,
Seattle, Washington
A moving experience!

Last month, my wife Margherita and I decided to treat Daniela, an Australian friend of ours, to a... read more

Reviewed 16 October 2017
NicolaT2234
Read all 341 reviews
  
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
314
20
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
20
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three hours hour tour luca cave history region
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We took a 2 hour tour of the Sassi in Matera with Marta and it was excellent - she answered all of our questions and had tons of great information and insight into the area. We were not rushed and had time to take plenty of pictures and choose the places we wanted to go. She gave us some great recommendations for things to do on our own, restaurants, etc. A guided tour is definitely a must in Matera to understand more of the history, and Marta did an excellent job.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We are 'cultural tourists' everywhere we go, and always seek educated knowledgeable guides for our tours.
Antonio Manicone led us through Matera and we were extremely pleased. He is first class in every way and we endorse him should you want detailed descriptions. Thanks Antonio!!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Getitright212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have Theresa Barbaro as our guide today in Matera.
Her knowledge and enthusiasm for the city was wonderful. The fact that she has lives here and her family has made it all the more interesting. Don't come to Matera without doing a tour as it gives you an appreciation of the city. The tour is cheap compared to other cities... Don't miss out and ask for Therese a lovely guide. Thank you

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Anne57Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Antonio Manicone accommodated us at quite short notice and was a wonderful guide for the Sassi. We learnt so much more than we would have just wandering around by ourselves with a guide book. He speaks excellent English, was generous with his time, extremely knowledgeable and gave us choices about what to see rather than just a packaged tour. He was also very reasonable. Finding information in Matera is not easy for a non Italian speaker. The information kiosks are privately run and have their own guides many of whom have very limited English and are expensive. We found Antonio through Trip Advisor and were very glad we did. He is very highly recommended. His wife does the Italian tours

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank ArtLindaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Marta was our guide, walking us through this World Heritage site. We started in purgatory, rather the church named after that place, in the baroque section of the city. Her explanations were complete, knowledgeable and maintained our fascination in what we were seeing. She highlighted what was in front of us and pointing out the unnoticeable. She then took us through Sasso and brought us to a cave house where people lived in luxurious squalor. The whole family sleeping in the same bed, with the chickens under the bed and the farm animals a few feet away in the attached lower stable room. A kitchen to the side, a cool storage room below. All the implements and tools of daily living displayed around us. From there we walked to the cave church of Santa Lucia. Again, utter astounding and strangely evocative. She described the frescoes, the rooms and the long history completely keeping our interest. We walked through the Sasso back to our car and drove across to the Murgia. From there she pointed out where we visited and sites we did not see in the town. We walked with her to the edge of the plateau to see the valley below and around the corner to a hidden cave church. A wonderful day with an excellent teacher.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Winnipeg1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews