We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
55
95
43
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
95
43
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hotel croissants receptionist guests location sassi breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

This is a simple yet comfortable place right near the center of Matera. The receptionist is very helpful. The room is quite spacious to European standard. The breakfast though, is a bit disappointing. It's only a croissant and a coffee in the bar nearby. Anyway, this is still a good option for its location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Madeleineshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

location is very good: close to the sassi and very near the train station, room are nice but not excellent, reception is not 24 houres open, breakfast is just one coffee and brioche in a bar down the street, i think price is a little bit expansive

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitto2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

hotel does not provide any parking place so be aware of the huge problem that you might face if you are coming by car to this hotel. in front of the hotel it is almost impossible to park even for 5 minutes to make check in. I asked hotel stuff where it is possible to find a parking place and they did not warn me that the traffic in one part of their street is limited (this part is just 50 meters down the road). I was circling around the hotels quarter for 15 minutes and finally I found a parking place in Roma street (the street where the hotel is)... 5 months after this trip I got a letter from Matera Police that I have to pay 100 euro because I was driving car through that part of Roma street where the traffic is limited... I sent an email to hotel asking them if I (as a guest of the hotel) had an authorization to drive a car through that part of the street and they told me that they couldn't give me any authorization... when I asked them why they hadn't warn me of that traffic rule in their street they became very impolite and in the end they were threatening me with some legal accusation if I write online on tripadvisor about my bad experience with them (I have their thretaning in my email). It is really disappointing to treat your guests this way

another problem is that there is no elevator so you must carry your luggage on stairs - which is a big problem if you carry huge big heavy suitcase

breakfast is really poor and it is served in a small bar 50 metres down the street - you get one coffee and a small brioche if you are lucky to find a free table

position of the hotel is really good if you are not coming by car to Matera - city center is just 2-3min walking distance

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank srdjandelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latorre m, Proprietario at Albergo Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017
Google Translation

Gentile cliente, il nostro hotel non si trova in ztl anche se in pieno centro e, come in tutti centri storici del mondo, in base all'orario in cui si arriva, si può trovare facilmente parcheggio o meno. In più, a 200 metri dalla nostra struttura, ci son ben 3 parcheggi custoditi a pagamento. Il posto dove ha preso la multa, si trova in posizione opposta al nostro ingresso (strada in senso unico inverso al nostro inutile da attraversare per raggiungerci) e, se c'è un divieto di accesso (evidenziato anche con cartello luminoso) e Lei passa comunque, cosa centriamo noi? Ci ha accusato di non averla avvertita, ma se la ztl e ben distante da noi e ha fatto un percorso totalmente sbagliato, ci spiega cosa dovevamo fare? Ci ha mandato diverse mail per chiedere di "aiutarLa" con la multa e difronte alla nostra impossibilità di farlo, ci ha detto che avrebbe scritto su trip una recensione negativa. Giudicare una struttura per una multa presa con l'auto, denota una certa superficialità. I portali di viaggio vanno usati con buon senso non per screditare il lavoro altrui per un proprio grossolano errore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Basic and dated 2 star hotel. Only good point it's 250 metres from the Sassi. Outdated room with an old 14" tv up on the wall. On main road so close to all the shops. On first floor and no lift so if you're old and with a big case ask for help.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Cute and warm, staff very helpfull and polite. Room quiet and cool. Bathroom immaculate and extremely clean. Cannot reccomend enough. They have booked for us a sassi excursion with a professional guide that speas very good english french.also the can reccomend very good and traditional restaurant. Breakfast is nice from the bar Orchidea next door and parking available on the street at very reasonable price. Highly reccomended

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8621luca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews