We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
83
126
43
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
126
43
11
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I am often visit Matera for business and have stayed at the Albergo Italia over a dozen times. The staff is always friendly and helpful (I have a fondness for the owner who always greets me with kisses and hugs). The location is FABULOUS, the rooms are large, the breakfast is lovely, and the place is always clean. Love this place, and I love, love, love that it's in the middle of everything that happens in Matera. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BookCentsBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albergoItalia, Nicolò - Marketing Manager at Albergo Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello, we are always happy to have you as our special guest!!!
We are glad you find it enjoyable our hotel and thanks for the beautiful review!

See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This is a charming hotel in a great location, closed to everywhere significant, It is a fin du cycle elegant building completely restructured. The rooms are simple in term of decor but comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is pretty standard for a mid range hotel. The service is outstanding.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcopolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We arrived by train and walked in the direction of the sassi as it was signposted and arrived at the hotel in about 5 minutes easy walk. The hotel is lovely inside very classy quiet and a nice breakfast provided. The hotel staff were all very nice as was our room which had a balcony with a fantastic view of the sassi particularly nice at night. It was easy to find out way round the town and the central square had an interesting site to visit below ground and the cinema across the road had a fab cafe above with a lovely glass of prossecco and loads of snacks for E3. We loved the casa noha experience close by.

Room tip: Room with t balcony
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jet803839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped in for a night and found this place to be decorated with beautiful furnishing from the past. Beautiful surroundings. Our room was very warm and opening the window let in the noise from the people partying on the street. We were there on a Saturday night in mid September. So we closed the windows.
Breakfast was included, cold cereal, baked good, ham, cheese, bread, yogurt, tea, coffee hot chocolate, juice. Good choices...
The staff are helpful, English is not their first language, so be patient!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We were looking for the above, whilst on holiday in Matera in early September. It is very close to The Sassi di Matera which are ancient cave dwellings in the Italian city of Matera. We had our first coffee and cakes before visiting the caves (a must for everybody). On returning from the caves we headed straight for the Albergo and were welcomed again for another sample of excellent hospitality and more coffee and cakes. Do not miss this opportunity if you are a visitor to Matera.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews