We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
732
102
33
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
102
33
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa staff star hotel plunge pool massive stone old palace roof garden piazza duomo junior suite excellent hotel the breakfast area high ceilings turkish bath beautiful property rooftop bar sasso caveoso euros per night steam room
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Located in the Centro Historico the Palazzo Gattini is a five-star hotel in every sense. Service is impeccable at all levels: dining room, bar, room, check-in. The hotel is strategically located within walking distance of the many stores and restaurants that make Matera the must-see city that it is. If your travels take you to Basilicata, this is the hotel for you.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAL_GATTINI, Booking Center at Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Frank C

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are truly happy to learn how impressed you were by the hotel and all our services, it has been a pleasure to make your stay comfortable and memorable.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Donato Festa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Our rooms were beautiful with the most comfortable bed that we encountered in our 3 weeks in Italy. We had a little trouble with the wifi but it was functional enough for us to keep on top of work at home. The location was amazing with views of the city everywhere you looked. The staff was very helpful and responded quickly to questions and requests. They set up a trip for us to the cave side of Matera. Our only complaint was our confusion when we arrived in Matera as to where to go with our rental car. I called the hotel and they gave me great directions and sent a van to pick us up. It would have been a little easier for us if we had been emailed instructions prior to arriving in the city. The breakfast was perfect and the women serving us were friendly and helpful. The spa is gorgeous and worth a visit. We used the Turkish bath and pool and really enjoyed our time there. This was my favorite hotel from this trip to Italy. I would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanikaiLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

This lovely old hotel is situated right in the centre of town in the Cathedral Square. Everything is smart and well maintained and the glass elevators are a delight. Service was excellent. There are many restaurants within walking distance, but of course involving many, many steps.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Recently my husband and I enjoyed a stay at the Palazzo Gattini, near the cathedral at the top of Matera. It is beautiful inside and we had a very large, luxurious room with a more than adequate, modern bathroom. We had a wonderful view of the Paleolithic caves which are an important part of Matera’s history. We loved the history of the city and our guide described Matera as a city where you can experience Paleolithic to WiFi. The staff was great—very helpful and pleasant but there weren’t enough of them. Matera was chosen as the UNESCO City of Culture for 2019 and we feel the town isn’t going to know what hit them as tourism is only about 20 years old and they are very casual about the needs and wants of visitors. Especially wonderful were the two young women who manned the breakfast area. Big smiles all the time, even when just the two of them were left to deal with two large tour groups on their own. The Palazzo Gattini is less than 10 years old and we recommend a stay there.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

I guess I got frustrated like another reviewer that the hotel has no information of how to get to it and parking arrangements.
We also spent time lost in a miriad of streets.
The room was acceptable,the breakfast fantastic.... but.. the rest of the food outsourced both on the terrace and the cafe.where the chicken salad came from a plastic bag..and no food Sunday..in the hotel but breakfast.
Our washing was returned unironed.
There is no compendium of how the hotel services work.
So in summary I was disappointed.. it is really a B&B where tho Hotel has been constructed and no one has thought how to run it

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank 993rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews