We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
725
101
32
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
101
32
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa staff star hotel massive stone superb hotel old palace roof garden piazza duomo turkish bath the breakfast area high ceilings beautiful property rooftop bar sasso caveoso three night stay euros per night steam room indoor pool
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Recently my husband and I enjoyed a stay at the Palazzo Gattini, near the cathedral at the top of Matera. It is beautiful inside and we had a very large, luxurious room with a more than adequate, modern bathroom. We had a wonderful view of the Paleolithic caves which are an important part of Matera’s history. We loved the history of the city and our guide described Matera as a city where you can experience Paleolithic to WiFi. The staff was great—very helpful and pleasant but there weren’t enough of them. Matera was chosen as the UNESCO City of Culture for 2019 and we feel the town isn’t going to know what hit them as tourism is only about 20 years old and they are very casual about the needs and wants of visitors. Especially wonderful were the two young women who manned the breakfast area. Big smiles all the time, even when just the two of them were left to deal with two large tour groups on their own. The Palazzo Gattini is less than 10 years old and we recommend a stay there.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

I guess I got frustrated like another reviewer that the hotel has no information of how to get to it and parking arrangements.
We also spent time lost in a miriad of streets.
The room was acceptable,the breakfast fantastic.... but.. the rest of the food outsourced both on the terrace and the cafe.where the chicken salad came from a plastic bag..and no food Sunday..in the hotel but breakfast.
Our washing was returned unironed.
There is no compendium of how the hotel services work.
So in summary I was disappointed.. it is really a B&B where tho Hotel has been constructed and no one has thought how to run it

Stayed: September 2018
Thank 993rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This hotel is classified as 5-Star Luxury but the reality is something else. It delivers an experience that is way short of what one might expect from such a rating. We booked a deluxe room with a bath, but were shown to a small room with shower only and no view. Many of the rooms do not afford views and you have to walk the corridors to see the rooftops of Matera. We were moved to a 'Junior Suite'. A suite is a series of connecting rooms but this 'suite' consisted of one room only. The presence of a sofa and armchairs does not make a room into a suite.
The hotel seems to have an aversion to signage. The lift has no logic to the floors and room numbers - it is pure guesswork. There is a restaurant, but no menu was visible outside, nor available in the room; in any case, it was shut on the two days we stayed there. There is a bar, but it is not signed. There was no obvious sign to the breakfast room. In the breakfast room, once you had discovered the cellar where it was located, there were a series of smaller rooms and alcoves where food was virtually hidden away, often in dark recesses. In reception there was a display of jewellery and handbags, with no prices nor any indication as to where they could be purchased. A Roof Garden overlooks part of the city, but it was unattended and there was no indication of how to get service there , nor any phone point or means of communication.
The signage hang-up extends to the exterior, too. This must be the only hotel in town that is not signposted. If arriving by car, do not in any circumstances try to reach the hotel in your car. - you will never find it. After half an hour circulating the town, we had to park up and ask local people for directions by foot. Four or five locals had never heard of the place! Eventually we found it, and were informed that the parking area was a kilometre distant. We probably wasted 90 minutes just trying to park the car and get our luggage to the hotel - there is a courtesy shuttle but of course you have to wait. It was the same on check-out: another 45 minutes before we eventually got returned to our car by the shuttle. And check your bill!! Although parking was described as free,a 40-euro charge for two nights appeared on the invoice, although it was deducted after complaining.
The hotel is in a nice location, with stunning views from the Cathedral square across the old town. But the square is bedevilled with beggars, some aggressive, tugging at your coat tails and wailing in mock misery. The city fathers really ought to clean up this aspect of Matera, it makes the place a discomforting town to visit.
In summary, Gattini is a snob establishment, overpriced and over hyped by its rating.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank petermD7849OV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in the best location in Matera. You simply have to find the cathedral (Duomo) as it is directly across from it. Rooms are nice and service has been excellent. 5 star all the way!

The most difficult thing is driving here. If you arrive at night, you may think have taken a wrong turn down a pedestrian mall. Not to worry, your car will part the Red Sea of people. Tons of places to eat within 200 yards. We are at Daedolo which was excellent. Breakfast at the hotel was nice, but I would skip dinner here.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank SparkyDCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We had a very difficult time getting to the hotel. a lot of roads were closed because of its location inside the old town. The Hotel was located at the top of the town next to a church. When we got to the hotel it wasnt impressive but the staff seems nice and friendly. The room we booked a junior suite wasnt big or nice. It's best feature was a high ceiling. We had two little windows . looking out of one window was a view of a small cave and houses. Overall disappointed.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews