We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
135
35
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
35
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful oasis other guests amazing place location is great pool cheese suite reception town car cave
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Although this is a little hard to find, it is a beautiful place when you do.

Do not expect this to be in, or near, the centre of town. If you don’t have a vehicle, don’t stay here.

But the rooms are beautiful, the staff very helpful and the pool and surrounds gorgeous.

The peace and quiet at night are quite wonderful. The view is spectacular and the ambience of the hotel excellent.

As long as you are driving, highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank 881peterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We were in the Masseria , well ... not really in the right time of the year ( February-March ) but Antonella and the whole team did everything to make us feel good and spoiled us where they could.
Very beautyfull room with hammam and a very good breakfast.
And Antonella was more than fantastic in helping us along with restaurant reservations, sight seeing ( locations closed because of snow etc ;)) and all sort of things.
The premisses are a bit out of the town of Matera. I suppose this could be a big + when the temperatures are getting high. As for that : the pool ( we didn't use it - it was - 3 celcius out there) was looking great too !!!

Room Tip: The towerrooms are really beautiful !!
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Waetervee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

This Masseria us as lovely as all the previous reviews and photos. We had a family suite for 2, so lots of room. Lovely rooms that were well appointed. Pool and garden areas looked amazing and would be great in warmer weather. Breakfast was typical Italian, but more generous than some. Not many other guests, so nothing ran out. We had a nice drink in the evening up at the bar area. It is a drive into town for dinner, but not that far. Building works above the property started at 7.30am each morning, which spoiled the silence. Would be great to stay longer.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MeggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We stayed here for 6 days over half term and are already thinking about when we could go back. The hotel, as others have stated, was gorgeous, and spotless. The staff, particularly Hakim and Antonia, bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. It was very quiet and we were the only ones to use the pool. Sitting in the sunshine, enjoying the amazing view while our son splashed about was the height of relaxation. Matera is also a fascinating city with so much to see and do. Breakfast was lovely - this is Italy, you are not going there for a full English! Loved it!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank schoslak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel looks exactly like the pictures and it is pristine. Our room was lovely, spotless and had a few nice extras, I.e the shower doubled as a steam room!!!!

We are out of season so the hotel was very quiet, this translated into an underwhelming breakfast. There was for example no cereal, and a small bowl of fruit salad which ran out on 2 of the 3 days.

Whilst the staff were very pleasant, there was no attempt at all to give us any information or assistance when we checked in or indeed at any point.

That being said this a very nice place to stay but missed opportunities to be excellent

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KCl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews