We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweet Hotel Continental
Ranked #36 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed at The Continental 22nd-25th June for the Grand Prix weekend. We had a room on the 4th floor and it was very clean and the bathroom was good with good power shower. The problems we occurred were the tv didn't work but we weren't really in the room for long enough to watch it. The other thing was the air conditioning- it was on for most of the time and couldn't be turned off by individual rooms due to it being centralised, we found it VERY cold in the room especially during the night.

The location was very central just adjacent to the town hall square, very nice area although choice of places to eat wasn't great. The breakfast in the hotel was ok, the first morning we were given croissants and there were choice of cereal, fruit and toast. The 2nd and 3rd mornings however they must've been running low on stock because we weren't given croissants and had to make do with one knife to share between us. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

All in all I'd come here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty_Kat201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    445
    128
    25
    11
See reviews for
119
350
67
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A few meters from one of the main squares, Ayuntamiento, this well-situated hotel is easily walkable from either Colon or Xativa metro stations (the former is probably an easier walk). Having spent in the past 40euro on much less agreeable hotels, this was excellent value for a single room, breakfast included.

The room (210) was quite satisfactory in terms of size. The bed was rather hard even for someone who likes a firm bed. The walls were rather thin and might be a concern unless one uses earplugs. The bathroom was stylish and functional, with great water pressure.
The breakfast was quite good considering it was included in the room rate: brioche, sliced white bread (and toaster available), cornflakes, fresh coffee and orange juice. There was no fresh fruit nor yoghurt available but one can easily stock up on carbs for the tourist day ahead.

The receptionists spoke English and Italian and offered advice when requested .
The hotel is a safe choice in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I was in Valencia for the Grand Prix last weekend and stayed here. The hotel has some good features: it is clean, in a great location, and the breakfast is ok. Unfortunately, the hotel's air conditioning policy is quite odd. The air conditioning is centrally controlled, that is to say, there is no thermostat in your room, so the hotel controls it. They keep the air conditioning on for certain parts of the day and off for others. Overall, the air conditioning is on for about only half the day. I inquired about the reasons for this policy and they said that they receive complaints from customers that their room is either too hot or too cold, so this is their compromise. This is a ridiculous solution. Surely, they could change the temperature of the AC, but turning it off is ridiculous. First of all when it is 30 degrees during Grand Prix weekend in Valencia, air conditioning should be on. I barely slept the 4 nights I spent there, because I woke up soaked in sweat. If you are complaining it is too cold, put on a blanket. If it is too hot, you cannot do anything about that. Also, people are more likely to stay in your hotel if they read a review complaining it is too cold than if they read one saying your air conditioning is off half the day during the hot Valencian summer. Finally, this hotel has engaged in false advertising by claiming on their website that they have air conditioning, because the air conditioning is on only half the day. Their website should read "air conditioning for only half the day". Because of this false advertising, if air conditioning is on only half the day, I believe I should pay only half the rate I paid (380 Euro/2=190 Euro). Unfortunately, when I was checking out, they would not accommodate this request. If this hotel shapes up and chooses to run their air conditioning all day, it would be a great place to stay; until then I would stay away.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller999994321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Had a great time at Valencia thanks to this awesome hotel. I only talked to the morning staff, but he was awesome. Very friendly and helpful. Close to everything so we walked everywhere. Room was basic but clean. Breakfast was only croissant and bread, but it was enough.

The only flaw is that wifi is only available in the lounge. Also, the walls are pretty thin. I can hear every conversation in the hallway.

Overall, I really liked it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alcazares, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Excellent price for the location,nice clean and very friendly hotel.Room basic but went to see the city not to sit in hotel watching tv.location superb for train station although when we arrived we took a taxi which only cost 4 euro's.would definately stay again and have recommended it to lot's of people.Thanks to the staff for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toncaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
#13 of 99 in Valencia
479 reviews
Melia Plaza
#29 of 99 in Valencia
834 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 99 in Valencia
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia Vintage
Casual Valencia Vintage
#17 of 99 in Valencia
284 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia del Cine
Casual Valencia del Cine
#27 of 99 in Valencia
568 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 99 in Valencia
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Hotel Continental

Property: Sweet Hotel Continental
Address: Calle Correos 8, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,264 - ₹ 10,078
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city of Valencia is the Hotel Continental, next to the square Aytuntamiento the train station and Columbus Street.We love our work and we know very well what we want, that you find it enjoyable stay.Calm and pleasant, warmly decorated.Bright and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sweet Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing