We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
197
227
118
72
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
227
118
72
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus crisps free minibus mini disco kids club animation team the grill big slide family holiday the lion king spiral staircase on tap drop offs nuggets hot dogs different levels great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Visited here for a week, mid September, with my other half.

Here's a break down of how we found it...

Staff: Reception are friendly & attentive. Some of the bar staff need to learn to smile. One lady in particular was quite rude, snatches cups from you and slams drinks down on the bar.

Facilities: Good variety of places to lie in the sun, with 7 pools to choose from. Main pool area with waterfall features are very nice. Only 1 bar open, next to the restaurant, pool bar might just be open peak season.

Food: All Inclusive Food is OK, reasonable selection for adults, but mostly look warm. Not the best of selection for kids, most of then we seen eating chips.

Room / Housekeeping: Our room was quite dated, and could do with some modernisation, but, for a 3 star, you can't complain. Room was cleaned every day, beds made up and fresh towels provided if required.

Entertainment: During our stay, it was the same 2 people that looked after entertainment. They done a good job of making sure the kids were kept out of trouble, but we found the music, dances and activities quite repetitive. Other hotels we've stayed at had at least 5 people in the team, and regularly put on shows, which wasn't the case here. But, give them their dues, they done the best they could.

Hotel Location: In terms of location, it's about a 2 hour transfer on the bus from Alicante Airport. Nearest shops are in Calpe town, which is a good 45 minute walk away. The hotel do put on a mini bus transfer, free of charge, but best to book in advance. Remember, that a lot of shops will close during siesta between 2pm & 5pm.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AR Imperial Park Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Mr. David,
Thank you very much for trusting in AR Imperial Park for your holidays.
I hope you enjoy your stay in Calp with us.
We are taking notes of your suggestions to continue improving.
The entertainment staff is bigger during the high season, I recommend you to coming in July or August to see the high season shows.
We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Pros
We arrived quite late the reception man was lovely , gave us a packed lunch and water and he even got us milk for a cup of tea. We got into our rooms which they made sure was next to each other (a large family). I expected from previous reviews to maybe find it difficult to have good communication with staff however this was not the case and many were lovely especially with children. Pools were amazing and so many to choose from , if you didn't want to be around screaming kids was always able to go to another. Kitchens were fully stocked however couldn't get cooker to work but that's fine as all inclusive and was able to get a kettle at reception the following day upon request . Crisps as snacks were amazing as these were good if hungry before dinner as dinner was quite late.

Cons
Women reception staff were rude and not very helpful. The location is a problem with people who like to go visiting the town without having a set time to be picked up as it did make it a little restrictive but doable. Some older kitchen staff couldn't have been more rude however they didn't show as much in the second week which made me feel better as I felt highly uncomfortable eating around them due to their attitudes and judgement. At first cleaners were good but after a while they stopped putting toilet roll in the room and never cleaned. Worst part was the sheets didn't get changed till the end of the second week we stayed. Which I find unhygienic as the temp was high and sweaty bodies all around. Food was terrible , didn't enjoy any meals there , sometimes even inedible however we spoke to other guests and they assured us they've came in high season and it was much better. Only offer high sugar drinks which wasn't good for the children as it was difficult to make sure they wasn't to hyper as some other guests could be incredibly rude , not hotels fault for these guests but mostly English guests would get irritated from kids being exited and would make remarks. Spanish guests loved it and made us feel very welcome even though we were English ourselves. We were told entertainment was on each night but when we were there we didn't see much more than music being played. Kids entertainment was on much to late for my liking as kids would be to sleepy. Adult entertainment was cheap and some times didn't even happen.

Even though we wouldn't visit again I must say how amazing staff were to children as we had a very hyper child who loved to speak to everyone. Food and cleaning just needed to be addressed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank nicolep1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AR Imperial Park Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Mrs. Nicole,
Thank you very much for your confidence in AR Imperial Park Hotel for your holidays.
We are very happy to know you enjoy your vacancies with us.
We are taking note of your suggestion to continue improving.
I will comunícate to the staff your congratulations.
Hope to see you son.
Your sincerelly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I will start with the good points beautiful location,(but not good if you can't manage stairs and steep hill to get to hotel) room was clean the view from room was outstanding,kitchen was good with cold fridge,hob,microwave,bathroom with shower good,loung with table and chairs and small sofa bed, tv with 2 English channels ,terrace good with 2sunloungers and table and chairs,spiral staircase leading to roof terrace with a spectacular view especially at night for star glazing.
Bad points bedroom not enough storage or coat hangers,safe was €4 per day to hire the lock,bed and pillows very uncomfortable ( still suffering from stiff neck),entertainment terrible the sound system was so bad you could not understand a word they were saying,most nights they had nothing on apart from kids screaming and spainish dancers who couldn't dance,pool was not bad only stayed there once as too many annoying kids ( thought they be back at school in September) the toliets in pool area was disgusting,the bars round pool was closed,there is only one bar inside and the ques was terrible (young girl serving was very rude) disappointing snack bar was cold burgers as thin as paper cold dogs and a bowl of crisps ,restaurant breakfast cold, dinner same most days and cold and evening don't open till 7.30pm same and cold, so cost us a lot more money eating out a few times due to this lucky we hired a car and we had to pay €7 per day to park which I thought was too much.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne72013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AR Imperial Park Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Mrs. Joanne,
Thank you very much for trusting in AR Imperial Park Hotel for your holidays.
We are so sorry if the hotel has not lived up to your expectations.
We are taking notes of your suggestions to continue improving.
Could be that this hotel is not the kind of product that you are loocking for.
Thank you once again for spend couple of minutes of your time to give us your opinion.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Just arrived back from staying here...luckily it was only 2 nights..
First of all if your a couple without kids it's not the place for you.....i saw the words spa hotel with that view and booked ....don't be fooled ....as it's certainly not a relaxing Spa hotel.the name suggests. ..in fact not exactly sure where spa was.
..let me start with good points...
Staff amazing.....Location breathtaking.....views to die for....pools amazing ...food not bad or good...average ..salad bar was fresh..
Bad points...... We had one of best bungalows ( staff gave us a free upgrade thank you staff ) it had a kitchen....but had nothing it it ...and I mean nothing...no kettle no plates no knives and forks no bottled water ...good job we were all inclusive.......so why have a kitchen...? No safe , or there was , but you had to rent the lock....
Good point ....it had a spiral staircase to the roof...so even better view.
Bad point ....pools ....although nice , full of screaming kids ....its sept, god help us if it was July.
Also they close them and are gated off so you are stuck on the top terraces.......so after dinner you have nowhere to go or walk to....only listen to kids still screaming, kidsparty music ...and parents smoking away watching them ....secondhand smoke while having a drink is not my cup of tea....ohh here and inside reception is only place to get wifi.....shocking for this day and age....ok so it's back to your room....tiny bedroom metal bars at the window...its like a prison cell, white walls a few white sheets....old brown bathroom suite...
.not sounding spa hotel at all.......
Now for very bad points....
Lack of sleep......so music on the terrace is noisy , but that's ok....its a holiday camp
But once bars are closed ....we were woken all night by drunken crowds walking past either right by your bedroom window or front terrace.......screaming singing , slamming doors...very unsettling....and not once several times.....
I'm not old by the way early 50s.....so like I said it's Not a place if you want peace and quiet ....great for families with lots of kids...plenty off fast-food and fizzy pop.
Luckily we hired a car , so went to benissa beach....stunning . A must .
Would we return Nooo ....would we recommend for families yessss...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank angieswaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AR Imperial Park Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Mrs. Waves,
Thank you for your confidence in AR Imperial Park for your holidays.
I hope you enjoy your holidays with us.
I am taking notes of your suggestion in order to continue improving.
Hope to see you son.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

I have stayed in better quality hostels. The rooms were filthy and in some serious need of TLC/DIY updating.

We complained to the reception who weren't much help and shrugged it off saying the hotel was conpletely full. They accused my sister if being a liar after they told her to check the following day.
Had to complain to our travel rep who eventually got us a different room even though "the hotel was full".

Food was bad, things were cold and had to wait minimum of 10 minutes in a queue for meat which wasnt cooked through. Same food every day so if you go all inclusive prepare to eat the same thing every night.

There was rarly a life guard there and the hotel very much favoured spanish guests over everyone else. There was a rule in the pool area where you are not allowed floats/inflatables in the pool.. fair enough. Except it was only ever the english kids told off. The spanish kids werent told off once with their linos in the pool.

I've attached a couple of my photos showing the dirty- true quality of the rooms. Totally wouldnt recommend.

Currently in the process of a formal complaint to get some money back as for £700pp for a week all inclusive I felt totally mortified and have stayed in better quality hostels.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Badfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews