We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
195
221
115
71
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
221
115
71
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle buscrispsfree minibusmini discokids clubanimation teamthe grillbig slidefamily holidaythe lion kingspiral staircaseon tapdrop offsnuggetshot dogsdifferent levelsgreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Just back yesterday from an amazing week at the AR Imperial Resport, Calpe. This was our first holiday abroad in six years and first time abroad for my son who is 4 years old. I read some negative reviews before the holiday but these seemed superficial. The resort is described as being on a hillside so of course there are stairs, however we didn't find there to be too many to manage. If you're older or struggle a bit there are lifts which make the resort more accessible but if you're fit and healthy this is no problem. You are a bit away from the town and beach however again this is mentioned in the description. The resort does run a shuttle bus (8 seater) every 15 minutes but you have to book this in advance the day before as the spaces do go quickly. We went to the beach twice. The first time we left at 10.30amand came back at 6.15pm.  The second time we took the 11.30am space but the only availability coming back was 2.45pm. We took the free shuttle there and got a taxi back which was only 10 euros and meant we could come back any time. If you are all inclusive and are heading out for the day, at the same time as booking your transport you can order packed lunches or you can book lunch at the Surf Beach Restaurant which is part of the AR chain. Reception will book this for you. Lunch there is delicious and a nice change eating somewhere different. You'll find this on the beach front on the opposite side of the Ifach (big rock that sticks out of the water - you can't miss it!) The beach is not to be missed! If you booked through Jet2 you can book excursions with the rep in the hotel. We went to Mundo Mar in Benidorm and had a fabulous time seeing the animals, in particular the dolphins! There are drop offs at the various theme parks in Benidorm as well as the town to shop at the markets or visit the beach. There's also an excursion to Valencia as well as a trip to a mountain village. Food in the resort restaurant is lovely. There is something for everyone and it varies each night. Unless you are extremely fussy, you won't struggle to find something you'll like. For the kids there's always pasta, chicken nuggets and pizza. We never had a problem with undercooked food from the grill. It was always nicely cooked and fresh. Drinks in the restaurant are self serve. Beer, wine, soft drinks or water. There is also a bar opposite which is open all day up until midnight and has a good selection of drinks and also snacks and ice cream. The entertainmemt crew are brilliant.  Miriam and Eduardo are fantastic with the kids doing games and party dances with them every night at 9pm. There are also 2 sessions of Rocky Club (kids club) per day however my kids only went once as they were too busy in the pools on the days we stayed in resort. The kids can also all eat together with their friends at 8pm if mums and dads want a quiet meal!  Entertainment from 10pm is really good. We particulatly enjoyed the band "Indie", the mechanical bull and the flamenco dancers.  Accomodation is lovely, fresh and clean. We booked a one bedroom bungalow but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom one. The terrace balcony is lovely to sit on when you're waiting on everyone getting ready for dinner or when you come back at night. The air conditioning in the accommodation was a god send for us as it was so hot last week! All the staff were very friendly from the reception staff to bar ard waiting staff to the cleaners. The staff are a credit to the resort and really help make your holiday! Well done to each and every one of them for helping us have the most amazing time! We really enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again in the future! Would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a family break in the sun!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank mdiffer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AR Imperial Park Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear guest,
We are pleased to know you enjoy your holidays with us.
Thank you very much for trusting in AR Imperial Park hotel and thank you for your beautiful words.
Hope to see you soon.
Your sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The apartments are in badly need of an up date! A lick of paint wouldn't go a miss! Air con vents are in desperate need of being clean! Small flys were consistently coming up the sink! In my view this is not a place for young children! I have a 2 year old we were put in to an apartment with an up stairs with no stair gate to insure safety! My girls had to wear footwear at all time as the floors were so slippery if wet! I did ask for a stair gate and I was told know they did not have one! The resort is quite a bit away from everything there is a small bus that will take you in to town but it must be booked 24 hours in advance! After the 3rd day my 6 year old was bored out of her mind there is nothing to do other then kids club and a few kids slides which the novelty of them wore out pretty fast! she was a little to young! For the kids club!! There is a kids disco every night after dinner! But they repeat the same songs every night it never changes! It's about an hours drive to benidorm and 2 hours drive from airport! Food wise I have never ate so much food in my life always a constant supply which was fantastic but after a while the food does start to become same old! This place in my opinion is an adult resort! And would be great place for adults to come to just stop and relax! Also sun beds are a nightmare to get if not at gate for 9 for it to open at 9:30 you will not get one! A disappointing holiday all round! I never felt comfortable the whole 7 days we were there my husband felt the same so now we are home we need a holiday!!
Couple of wee points hope they help in same way!!!!
. The bus is free of charge if you want to get a taxis try ring one yourself when the resort rings they seem to charge more!!!
. If a jet2 customer there is a bus on a Wednesday ONLY in to benidorm! For the market and parks It is in my opinion quite expensive worked out to be 47€ or 50€!! For 2 adults and 2 children!! And with going to the parks to it all adds up to be quite an amount!!
. This resort is right in the hills! The views are amazing for adults to take in and admire!
. There is only wifi in reception area!
. Try the hot chocolate and cream it beautiful
. Go to the bar and ask for bottles of water they are free
. There is 3 pools! We found the top one to be the best especially for the kids was not overly busy! And we could walk to the others with ease!
. There is a shop on site but it is very over priced!
. Bar opens every day from 11:30 they normal had crips , peanuts, chips, hot dogs or burgers! Available all day until lunch and dinner they then take snacks away at lunch and place them back after! After dinner they are taken away for the day!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank michaelarfarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AR Imperial Park Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Michael,
Thank you very much for trusting in AR Imperial Park hotel for your holidays.
We really appreciate your dedicate couple of minutes of your time to give us your opinion.
We are taking note of your suggestions to continue improving.
Hope to see you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Facilities were fantastic. Great pools, children loved them. Evening entertainment was brilliant.
Good selection of food prepared well.
Spa is amazing!
Yes, there are a lot of steps. But it is built on a hill side so that can't be helped. There are ramps and lifts.
Apartment was nice. Nothing flashy, but perfectly adequate. Lovely view from all rooms. Large balconies.
Bus into town was handy - goes several times a day.
Would definitely go back.
Fantastic value for money

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank 907louiseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AR Imperial Park Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Louise,
Thank you very much for spent couple of minutes of your time to give us your opinion.
I am pleased to know you enjoy your holidays with us.
We will be waiting for your next arrival and we will try to make your vacancies an unforgettable experience again.
Hope to see you soon.
Your sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The highlight of this holiday was the swimming pools. Kept the children (10 and 12) entertained and the all-inclusive bars were close enough that they could come and go as they pleased. As I'm sure you will read you probably need to be in the queue by 9.15 as there is a mad dash for sun loungers when they open the gates at 9.30.
Food was very good - seafood/fish, salads, grill (never had an issue with anything undercooked). Staff were very pleasant and helpful, really went out of their way to make our stay a great experience.
The town of Calpe is really nice for a walk but book the minibus the day before (list opens at 8am) as it is a bit of a walk from the resort, especially in the heat. We paid €8.50 for a taxi back from the old town as we didn't know how long we wanted to stay for. Ended up doing this a couple of times.
Although our two were too old for the kids' club it looked really good and they have a disco every evening at 9 - the staff seemed to really look after the kids and keep them entertained.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Izzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AR Imperial Park Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Izzy,
Thank you very much for your confidence in AR Imperial Park hotel for your holidays.
I am pleased to know you enjoy your holidays with us.
I am taking notes of your suggestions which I really appreciate. That let us continue improving.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel, great view from room with upper terrace. U can always make a meal up in restaurant. Drinks fab. Staff incredible. Animation team dedicated. Special mention for Rocky, Miriam, Carlos and "Eduardo"xx. Bar staff nice especially the legend that is Brian. Met some lovely folk.."big" lee,Charlotte and his lovely kids, "mad ferret"Lee(we conquered the mountain!) and family, pearly king Al, Wanda n JT. "Big Ste and fam. Also the main man Chris "dippy dippy doh" Lisa and kids. HOLA!
Only negative was the 100 metres Sprint for sunbeds in the morning. SORT IT OUT!
Ps. Try the Everest curry house in Calpe. We went 3 times and it was the best Indian food we have ever tasted.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank BoltonFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AR Imperial Park Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Mr. Bolton,
Thank you for your confidence in AR Imperial Park hotel.
I am very happy to know you enjoy your holidays with us. I will communicate your congratulations to the staff, who really appreciate.
Thank you very much for spend couple of minutes of your time to give us your opinion.
Hope to see you soon.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews