We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent staff.”
Review of Rocinante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocinante Hotel
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here over the weekend and had a great stay. The hotel is located just outside of Calpe and takes about 15 minutes to walk into the town , there is a small path at the side of the hotel.(Although coming back is up hill so if you struggle with walking i would recommend a taxi)When we arrived , we were greeted by a lovely lady who was very helpful and gave us a map and showed us how to get into the town. There is a nice bar area and large area for breakfast although we did not have breakfast. Our room was large and very clean. There is everything you need, tv, shower gel, cups etc and a large fan. My only tiny issue was there is no air con. Although the fan helps, it can tend to circulate hot air around but did not cause a massive issue. Our view from our room was great and looked right over calpe with a great view of the rock.The room was cleaned everyday and was spotless with a large balcony area (inc free wifi). There was also a very friendly man working on reception. The pool was big enough and very clean. There were plenty of sun loungers and the whole pool area was very clean. I would recommend this hotel. Also, a taxi into Benidorm from the hotel was only 35 euro so it a good side of calpe to get a taxi from.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2015

The whole of the Costa Blanca has grown tremendously – the number of high rise-hotels and apartments has reshaped the coastline. This family-owned-and-run hotel is a touch of the traditional Costa Blanca. In our opinion it was better to stay just outside Calpe rather than in the town and this hotel was ideal. There was no air conditioning which posed me (personally) some problems. We had a powerful fan but we had to keep the balcony door open and this led to a few mosquito bites. Having said that, I am particularly prone to mosquito bites so don’t read too much into this criticism. The family was extremely friendly and helpful. There is a great pool and relaxation area and the style of the whole hotel is very Spanish. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and these were adequate. No English on TV.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjohnlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the Rocinante Calpe for 2 nights I had the impression that it was a motel ..I was pleasantly surprised once inside the room was clean with a double bed although I had paid for a single I had already eaten so it was coffee and bed ..The hotel is on the main road but I had no road noise and a good nights sleep ..Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked ..I came back that evening and had a meal which was good value and tasty ..If ever I needed to stay overnight in the area again I would book in at the Rocinante
DAVE L.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Hotel is located right on the highway overlooking the Peñón of Ifach and the town of Calpe. Parking is free right at the door. Although Calpe is loaded with beachfront hotels, the vast majority of those in the listings were either full or way above what I was willing to pay. Since my main interest in Calpe was the Peñón and not the beach, it really didn't matter to much to me that I wasn't right close to it. And, when one is traveling by car, free convenient parking is a definite plus. My room had a balcony with a head on view of the Peñón. There were two twin beds, night stand, easy chair, TV, recessed closet area covered by a curtain, and an electric fan, which I did not need at all, as temperatures were in the 70's during the day and a good bit cooler after the sun went down. The bathroom was adequate and the shower worked well. They have restaurant service, but it didn't seem that many were using it. I noticed that breakfast was priced at 5€. The lady at the desk was very nice and very friendly. The room cost was 42.50€ per night. Regarding the Peñón, I had heard varying stories about the difficulty of the climb, so I decided to give it a try and, if need be, turn around if I reached the point of not feeling comfortable with it. The first part, from the base to the tunnel entrance is no problem and no special footwear is required. And the views are amazing at every turn. Once you reach the tunnel, which cuts through the rock to the other side, a good pair of hiking shoes is highly recommended. Although I saw a lot of people without them. I have a terrible, almost paralyzing fear of unprotected edges. My body goes into panic mode, I feel sick to my stomach, and my legs buckle and feel like jelly. But I had no problem at all in this regard. I felt very secure, calm, and safe all the way to the top. Even on the top, you are on a wide flat area with no sheer drop. There was nowhere along the route where I was teetering on an edge with an abyss. I was thrilled. The pathway to the top is mainly very rocky. In many cases the rocks are very smooth and thus the need for good grip shoes. In a number of areas, it is up to you exactly how you want to proceed. My biggest concern was avoiding a twisted ankle, so I was looking for a branch to grip on to, a flat stone to step on, etc. There are no trail blaze markings at all so, if you find yourself alone, you have to decide what will work best for you and your feet. Regarding the amount of time required, this is tough. I didn't look at my watch when I started, but I think it must have been five hours from car door to car door. But, I spent a LOT of time taking pictures, sitting down along the way to rest, enjoy a view, post real time pics to Facebook with the iPad, etc. So, this time frame could easily be cut in half. For anyone in reasonably good shape and a good pair of shoes, a hike to the top of the Peñón should not be missed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank paco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calpe hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#9 of 31 in Calpe
359 reviews
2.7 km away
Apartamentos Larimar
Apartamentos Larimar
#20 of 31 in Calpe
31 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#3 of 31 in Calpe
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Paraiso Mar
Paraiso Mar
#14 of 31 in Calpe
51 reviews
3.3 km away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#11 of 31 in Calpe
264 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel RH Ifach
Hotel RH Ifach
#6 of 31 in Calpe
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocinante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocinante Hotel

Address: Partida Benicolada 3D, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Price Range: ₹ 2,832 - ₹ 4,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocinante Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Rocinante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing