We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HOTEL SH IFACH

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HOTEL SH IFACH
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Ifach Hotel for 4 weeks, All Inclusive, from 18 Jan 2011.
The hotel has large rooms, with safe and fridge, and large balconies. Everything works, except for some misalignment between lift floors and landing level. All services we tried were very good - cases taken from the airport coach and delivered to our room, and returned when we left; cleaning thorough; common facilities very good. Restaurant meals offered a good selection of buffet-style food - always 6 choices at main meals, 3xmeat, 2xfish and 1xveg: salads excellent, but veg a bit hit or miss. Altogether a very pleasant experience.
The only downside was the location, some 2kms from Calpe town, which ain't very interesting, and is hilly. Local buses leave from near the hotel, but were often "standing room only" when they reached our stop. Buses run to the local railway station, but are timed to just miss the departure times of the trains.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dennis1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    358
    127
    55
    27
See reviews for
379
260
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

this hotel is compact, the rooms spacious and clean with large bathrooms and balconies. One of the few hotels where you can dance most evenings, along with musical entertainers, especially with Jon Silver! Restaurant had a mixture of different salads, soups, assorted breads, meat, ham, cheese, pizza, pasta, fish - with freshly cooked meat and fish for lunch and dinner. Water & Wine was opened at each sitting. Breakfast had everything you could wish for, coffee is from machine - but there were several different types or you could take a packet of Nescafe or have the freshly ground coffee, plus teas, also different fruit juices - from machine. We have been to this hotel five times and always find it a very clean, friendly hotel. The pool area is clean with new sunbeds round, with bar (open in Summer), large towels. We went with Saga and the hotel had a few Spanish guests staying over the weekend, the hotel was full during our stay by both English and Spanish, we met other guests who have been to this hotel several times before also. Nice clean compact friendly hotel with relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank connie038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

This is my first review. I had gone for a break from being a carer. I just wanted to relax, walk about and socilaise. I am mid sixties male and active.The service was grumpy to non existent. The room was spacious and very clean I was on the 10th floor with no sea view. The temperature at night was chilly so can't comment on air con but room comfortable. I am not a food person and certainly not a fussy eater but God it was awful. I had gone Saga all inclusive but food so bad I bought snacks when out and about. Lots of people with tummy bugs me included.The local area was dead at night. The promenade walks for few miles to old town about 45 mins easy walking. Views of beach, sea ang general area very good.
There are a scattering of bars and restaurants along the coast which are pleasant and the old town has lots of them and shops too. The old town is very steep but the sea front is fairly flat walking and ideal for a mobility scooter which you can hire.
The food and service was terrible. Entertainment cringeworthy and all on ground floor so there was no area to escape. In daytime the area was very scenic and relaxing. I definitely would not go back to the the hotel and the area out of season.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DVB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at the hotel SH Ifach from 4th May 2010 for two weeks and booked through SAGA. Let me give you the good points first. The swimming pool in the basement was lovely. Friendly woman in charge of pool, gymnasium etc – fine. Rooms were a good size with the bathrooms also being quite large. Balcony on the 15th floor was quite large and faced south so we got the sun in the morning until past mid-day. The Saga tour guide Ann was very pleasant helpful and informative and gave us a very interesting commentary while we were on the coach visiting local places of interest. Jon Silver the singer was fantastic especially with the ladies and got nearly everybody up onto the ‘dance’ floor.
THE DOWNSIDE...The bar/entertainment area is in the lobby along with reception which is terrible because the outside doors are constantly opening and closing during the evening and it is impossible to create any atmosphere whatsoever especially on some evenings when the entertainment was quite poor and amateurish. Is it normal to have a hotel bar and entertainment in the reception area/lobby with all the comings and goings at the reception desk?

The food is OK’ish BUT the same every day with various dishes reappearing in a different guise. Watch out for bottles of wine that are already open when they come to serve you. Surely any decent, honest restaurant will open the bottle in front of you – draw your own conclusion. Overall you would not starve but unlike other hotels you will not look forward to meal times. There were only TWO waiters on duty when we were there so you can imagine how poor the service was. The cooks operating the grill were surly and made the entire dining experience a miserable event. We also had to get our morning coffee or tea from a dispenser on the wall – worse than a motorway cafe. On the whole the restaurant staff were not friendly but this is not surprising as they were vastly understaffed.
The reception staff and bar staff – remember it’s all on the ground floor were miserable and unhelpful except for the events manager Elena Gil who is lovely.
Do not believe the brochures regarding sea views etc – there are two high rise apartment blocks right in front of the hotel making it impossible to have a clear view of the sea. You can just see the sea either side of these tower blocks but what an awful view. Cannot comment on the rear of the hotel but it probably overlooked the pool area that was really dreary and tired. Overall the hotel looked tired and in need of a complete revamp to spruce it up but I would imagine they run things on a very tight budget. Was a four star hotel once but now it would struggle to attain two srars.
Housekeeping was adequate with the maids being polite and efficient and just got on with the job with a very neutral attitude.
The outdoor pool area looks really nice in the brochures but in reality it is concrete and very spartan. It was not really a pleasure to sit in such austere surroundings with tired old sun parasols and tatty sun beds. Not pleasant.
THIS IS THE BEST PART... Imagine Spain in May – the sun is blazing down and we were in a room on the 15th floor (top floor) and bear in mind the fact that heat rises. Well, we were astounded to find that the AIR CONDITIONING was switched OFF and the reception staff told us that it would not be turned on until the end of the month. They eventually moved us to the 13th floor but this was just as hot and unpleasant.
We asked reception for a fan to cool the room but were told there were no fans in the hotel they could let us use. The two Saga reps were completely unsympathetic with regard to our dilemma and merely said that a fan would not be any use at all as it would simply blow the hot air from one part of the bedroom to another. We therefore had 14 baking hot nights and although we complained about this the hotel reception were quite surly and did nothing.
In conclusion this hotel is NOT somewhere you would want to stay for your annual holiday. Do not accept the good reports you may find as these people probably have far lower standards than normal and they do not know good service from bad.
Upon our return to the UK we put in a long complaint to SAGA regarding the poor service from the hotel and the SAGA reps – the list was endless and after due consideration SAGA upheld all our complaints and refunded us a considerable portion of our holiday cost.
My advice to you is to go to the Calpe area but DO NOT STAY AT THE IFACH HOTEL. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank nothappy_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

After spending 16 years travelling to Calpe and staying in an apartment we thought we would spoil ourselves this year and stay in the Sol Ifach - a hotel we'd watched being built over the years. Avoiding the SAGA trade time of year we found the hotel full of mainly Spanish people - with British guests very much in the minority. ( Some Russins ) We like this Spanish feel - and found the staff so friendly and helpful especailly if you tried a few Spanish words. Rooms were large and clean with super bathrooms - ours looked over the sea so we didn't get the afternoon/evening sun. Pool area was super - lots of sun beds available although around lunchtime and at the weekend it got a little busier. Breakfast was great - but after a few days we did find evening dinner a little tired so ate out at some old favourite restaurants - maybe just B & B next time ? 250 metres from the beach and with a supermarket just around the corner we wanted for nothing. At check out - the night Manager who lived close to Alicante airport said that if we hadn't pre booked a taxi he would have taken us !! So - service wonderful - lots of smiles from all the staff - we will definitely return - no more apartments for us !!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pete084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calpe hotels
1.8 km away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
1.0 km away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
0.3 km away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#9 of 30 in Calpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.0 km away
AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel
1.3 km away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#8 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL SH IFACH? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL SH IFACH

Property: HOTEL SH IFACH
Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I S/N, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Calpe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,318 - ₹ 10,830
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL SH IFACH 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Ifach Hotel is located only 150 metres from the excellent Fossa Beach, blessed with warm and crystal-clear waters, along the Infanta Elena seafront promenade. Only 150 metres from the Port of Calpe from which the famous Rock of Ifach rises up. 1 Kilometre from the centre of Calpe, a shopping centre and the main bus station. 75 Kilometres from Alicante airport. The SH Ifach Hotel is located on one of the main highways through Calpe and enjoys views over the famous Rock of Ifach. The hotel provides 193 guest rooms: 170 Double rooms 22 Superior double rooms 1 Suite All of their characteristics and equipment explained in detail: The SH Ifach hotel is located only 1 kilometre from the centre of Calpe, where the ancient heart of the town is home to the "Torreo de la Peca" defence tower, the ancient walls and the Church of the Virgin of the Snow, the only remaining example of the Arabic Mudejar style architecture in the whole of the province of Valencia. The location enjoys a privileged climate almost all year round. The large and bright lobby welcomes guests to a modern hotel, designed for the enjoyment of your vacations or the celebration of very special events. The hotel have a new FREE WIFI system available the whole zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your HOTEL SH IFACH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sh Ifach Hotel Calpe
Sol Ifach Calpe
Sol Ifach Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing