We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Ranked #38 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

First time at the Rio Park and not disappointed. Rooms are basic but clean. Air conditioning appeared not to be working, which may be a problem in summer. Food is plentiful with a good choice of dishes. Dining room never over-crowded. Plenty of space and sunbeds round the pool.Drinks are very reasonably priced but the entertainment leaves a lot to be desired. Better to go out to some of the local bars for the tribute acts. A lot has been said about theYellow Brick Road. Didn't find it at all threatening but it is grim, with boarded up bars and shops, graffiti and lots of dog mess! Watch where you're putting your feet!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horsfif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    875
    403
    143
    103
See reviews for
728
1,112
86
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

this hotel does exactly what it says on the tin.
cheap,but not so cheerful,the food was acceptable but not exceptional,plentiful,but needed to be put in the microwave to make it WARM .
Entertainment is at the best poor, and the sight of the staff running about with their WILLY;S hanging out,doing the "FULL MONTY"really is not necessary,may not be bad if they were "big"lads.But it did entertain the older people.
The new bar, annexed ,to the hotel called,"CONNECTIONS" is splendid and comfortable ,good prices,and THEO and his barman are very good.
all in all ,adequate,but,would not go there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pcamm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

It was my first time at the Rio Park however my partner has stayed there before. Overall the hotel is spotlessly clean, the food was great and there was lots of choice. Bar prices were very reasonable. All the staff were polite, helpful and friendly. Thanks to Paco in the bar. The rooms were basic but clean and the maid service excellent (thanks to Isabel). The mattresses were very hard and not very comfortable. We were on the 11th floor near the lift area. The first week wasnt so bad our neighbours were elderly and had their tv on really loud and then had to shout at each other. We are in our 50's and were one of the youngest couples there!. During the second week the hotel really filled up with families and it became very noisy. There are no carpets in hallways so the sound in corridors really travelled. You could hear everything that was happening in the corridor in your room. You could also hear everything that was happening in the room next door. The second week our neighbours were a very amourous couple who enjoyed demonstrating their passion for each other morning and afternoon which did become a little tiresome, We were just glad we only had neighbours on one side and not both. It seemed that all the rooms were the same and we met one couple who had changed rooms 3 times in an effort to get some peace and quiet but were not successful. I think the hotel really do need to consider some sound insulation. There were air conditioning grills in the rooms which just seemed to be holes in the ceiling for the sound to travel. Overall this was the only thing that marred the holiday. There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and the sun shone the whole 2 weeks we were there. I think the pool area is looking a little dated now. Entertainment was good and the separate bar on the street was great. Although my overall rating is good i wont be i a hurry to go back. Be careful if you wear gold jewellery, there were a few reports of muggings in the area. The hotel charge 2.5 euros per day for the safe which i thought was quite expensive, particularly if you are staying for 2 weeks, or for months like some of the guests.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room so you only have one set of neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank yorkshiremiss1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teeside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our third time at the Rio Park but we won't be back. Decor hasn't changed in 7 years, rooms tired and the sofas in the entrance are smelly. Quality of food definately not as good as it has been previously and not hot enough, we saw people microwaving it! On a positive note the hotel is clean and tidy, staf are friendly and the locationis good, situated between the old town and busy nightlife. Beware people carrying clipboards in the old town claiming to be raising money for a centre for deaf people, my husband gave some money then I was asked for some, when I refused explaining the donation was from both of us he became angry, when a shopkeeper overheard he warned us it was a scam and he made off up a side street. The busy bar area is also a problem as I overheard one person on a night out say that she had seen a gang of pick pockets at work and one had tried to snatch her purse out of her bag. My advice is keep your wits about you day or night wherever you are!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KTCOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaBenidorm, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We are sorry on this occasion we were unable to fulfill your Holiday expectations.The hotel has vigorous health, cleanliness and safety inspections weekly by the local Health Authorities.The reception area is religiously cleaned morning , noon and night including the sofas which are also cleaned every day.
Benidorm like any other busy tourist area, unfortunately does experience having its fair share of unsavoury characters in resort . This has been addressed and there is now far more police presence in the streets of Benidorm to protect our valued customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Check in was fine only 3 couples checking in so there should be no problems,The 1st impression was of a pleasant enough reception then up to the room,Oh dear,the TV cables were festooned from the socket off a picture then to the TV which was held on to the bracket with luggage strap.
My 15 year old son got on his sofa bed which colapsed at one end (must admit i did laugh ),anyway it was 14 00 hours and the room was rather warm,put the Air con i said to my beloved for us only find out it will only blow out warm air.I'm glad my son is no younger aas the balcony door was not lockable (being on the 8th floor it could have been a problem).The bathroom was OK ish but again tired.
The food was not to bad ,had better had worse staff were very good and helpful,entertainment was erm amaturish at best .to be fair only saw 3 acts.The location of the hotel is ideal for the clubs and pubs.
Overall not to impressed with the hotel,But Benidorm 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobfromburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 km away
Servigroup Castilla
Servigroup Castilla
#14 of 194 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.9 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Riudor
MedPlaya Hotel Riudor
#40 of 194 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.4 km away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#10 of 194 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#46 of 194 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
1.0 km away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#33 of 194 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,058 reviews
0.3 km away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#21 of 194 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Address: Av de Murcia 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,887 - ₹ 9,478
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park 2*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The many repeat customers could tell you why they come back to the Rio Park again and again- location, atmosphere, and friendly staff. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and resort centre, and offers you plenty of options inside the hotel too. With a fresh modern reception, a choice of bars to relax in, plenty of outdoor space and great food and entertainment, it's not hard to see why the Rio Park is such a popular hotel. The hotel is a lively place with plenty of atmosphere. It's a great hotel to make new friends, meet old ones, or just relax with your loved ones and enjoy all the fun. The staff at the Rio Park provide a friendly and welcoming service and everyone wants to make sure you have a good time. Free Wi-Fi available in all hotel bars. Benidorm offers a wonderful climate all year round, and with its sandy beaches, impressive promenade and lively resort facilities, it is a favourite destination with all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Park
Rio Park Hotel Benidorm
Rio Park Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing