We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleek, nice pool, so-so location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nelva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nelva Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Murcia
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sleek, nice pool, so-so location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Sleek and somewhat cavernous hotel, but very comfortable; we had a good-sized room with a view of the large pool area. Furnishings very contemporary and new, with an amusing backlit photo mural covering the wall above the bed (or beds—two doubles pushed together). A Jetsons-like shower stall with at least eight shower heads was the bathroom highlight. The Nelva was a good choice for us, as the atmosphere provided a relaxing respite from a couple of weeks of heavy touring (in particular, we really enjoyed the pool). Friendly, helpful staff. The only drawback is the location—it's a good 20- to 30-minute walk to the Murcia town center, which would be inconvenient for long stays (it was OK for us as we were there just a couple of nights). The town was a surprise: lovely walks along river area, good art museum, public art and in general a lively arts scene.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahtsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    346
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
110
323
23
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel is lovely. It has a grand minimalistic foyer, speedy lifts with windows for walls that 'ding' at you, and long, wide carpeted corridors with mood lighting that lead you to your wooden hotel room door that blends in to the wooden walls of the same colour and texture.

As a solo traveller perhaps it would have been best for me to stay elsewhere as the minute you walk through the door there is little option for you to meet people. The layout and quietness of the hotel encourages you to retreat to your room and from what I could see from the foyer there is no real 'hotel bar'. That being said, if I were with my wife, it would have been the perfect uninterrupted hotel stay.

Speaking of interruptions, I was unfortunate enough to have a room with an electrical fault meaning that my room keycard would not activate the lights (or more importantly the air conditioning). Three non-bilingual engineers later and I was back at reception explaining my problem for the fourth time. On top of this, after a long night of partying spanish-style, a room maid decided to enter my room without knocking at a most unfriendly hour (it was before 9:00am).

Breakfast is stock standard. Not a great selection of international foods, but the impression I got from the hotel is that it may cater for a large number of local business travellers so the food is cheeses, salamis & chorizo, instead of bacon eggs, baked beans etc..

The reception staff are very friendly and not rude. Their English is fair, but not terribly fluent, but that wasn't really an issue for me except for when it came to explaining my keycard/electricity issue.

I would definitely give this hotel a second chance as I think I just had a bad run first time round. It's close to some great clubs, shopping centres (there is a Carrefour around the corner) and the infinity pool is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KimN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for just one night as Murcia was a stop over on the way to Alicante from Cordoba. We chose this hotel because we wanted somewhere where we could just relax after a long drive. It was perfect: the room was very luxurious, everything you would need and lots of space, including one of those jet massager showers. The main draw was the excellent pool area however, which was of a good size and very well laid out, so we could lie by the pool quite easily for a few hours with no worries about finding a bit of space like most of the city hotels we have stayed in in Spain with pools. This was big enough and really nice-looking.

Room Tip: Imagine they are all the same being a big coroporate hotel. All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just got back from a weeks stay at Nelva. Wish we had booked for two! From start to finish the staff, without exemption, were friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated about 20 mins walk from the centre of Murcia, which offers some lovely restaurants and historic sites like the cathedral. About 45 mins from the airport and beaches by car. Would recommend 'la manga' beaches. Go a bit further along the 22k stretch to find quieter areas.
Would defininately recommend the hotel and Murcia, especially if you fancy somewhere a little bit off the tourist trail, and experience a true taste of Spain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper double bed and not twins pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolSimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is the second year we have stayed at the Hotel Nelva in Murcia and it was as good this time as in 2010.

A lovely room and kingsize bed with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Great bathroom and shower withy first class toiletries. We had an excellent dinner outside on the patio area and an equally excellent breakfast the following morning.

This is a large hotel but nevertheless manages to make you feel special - and with an attentive, polite and helpful staff, especially on the reception desk, makes you feel really welcome from the start.

Room Tip: A superior room is well worth the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murcia hotels
1.1 km away
Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe
1.1 km away
Hotel Silken Siete Coronas
1.5 km away
Catalonia Conde de Floridablanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Zenit Murcia
Hotel Zenit Murcia
#9 of 28 in Murcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.6 km away
NH Amistad Murcia
NH Amistad Murcia
#3 of 28 in Murcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.2 km away
Agalia Hotel
Agalia Hotel
#8 of 28 in Murcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelva Hotel

Property: Nelva Hotel
Address: Avenida Primero de Mayo 5, 30100 Murcia, Spain
Region: Spain > Region of Murcia > Murcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Murcia
#1 Family Hotel in Murcia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Murcia
#1 Business Hotel in Murcia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Murcia
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,892 - ₹ 6,047
Hotel Class:4 star — Nelva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nelva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelva Hotel Murcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing