We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveller rating
412
524
141
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
524
141
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location car lift roman theatre superior room high step sea view underground parking city hall helpful staff large car lovely hotel within easy walking distance the main street old town pedestrian area fifth floor beautiful town
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Spent two nights here, The hotel is modern and very clean. The reception staff very helpful and friendly as are all the staff.
The restaurant is reasonably priced and has a good choice of menu.
Parking at the time of our visit was very easy in the streets nearby but there is also parking inside at extra cost.
A taxi to the port area cost 6 to 7 euros.
All in all a very nice stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_M_12_12, Gerente at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Rod D

I would like to start by thanking you, as hotel manager, for the time you have spent sharing this opinion with us about your stay at the NH Cartagena Hotel.

Thank you for the recommendation you make about the hotel, as well as your comments about your stay at our hotel. Believe me, for us they are very important, and for this we work in our day to day.

In NH Hotel Group we aim to provide excellence in the service we offer, and to that end we continue to work on improving it.

We hope to retell, with your confidence in the future and welcome you again, at the NH Cartagena.

Thank you very much for your attention and receive a greeting

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Very good hotel with an excellent location close to the port. There were plenty of good restaurants to choose from nearby, just s short walk away. We would not hesitate to book this hotel again if we visit Cartagena again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank dianeking77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_M_12_12, Gerente at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear dianeking77

I would like to start by thanking you, as hotel manager, for the time you have spent sharing this opinion with us about your stay at the NH Cartagena Hotel.

Thank you for the recommendation you make about our hotel, to future clients. Believe me, for us they are very important, and for this we work in our day to day.

In NH Hotel Group we aim to provide excellence in the service we offer, and to that end we continue to work on improving it.

We hope to retell, with your confidence in the future and welcome you again, at the NH Cartagena.

Thank you very much for your attention and receive a greeting

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Having just stayed 2 nights, this hotel is perfectly located in safe pedestrianised areas with restaurants and bars, next to the ornate city hall and on the edge of gardens bordering the port and marina. Access by car can be tricky if driving from the east - go round the 3rd roundabout and take next left into the last part of Calle Real which looks pedestrianised. The hotel is on the left. Parking is accessed via a roller-shutter door on the left of the main entrance, using the intercom and entering the car lift which goes to the confined cellar parking on level -3. Not recommended for drivers of large cars. An internal lift connects with reception and the upper floors. A charge of £16.50 per night is made which reflects that parking is at a premium in this part of the city.
The staff were pleasant and helpful, allowing us to leave our car parked after checkout until we finished sightseeing. We booked a superior room with sea view which was well worth the extra cost. Our 5th floor room opened onto an open terrace with views of the busy port and perfect for pre or after dinner drinks. The room was modern and clean, with all amenities, fine for a short stay. Beware you don't assume the wine and snacks are complimentary - they are part of the mini bar menu. We booked the breakfast which was mainly buffet style with a range of fruit, pastries, yogurts and hot drinks, although cooked items are limited to fried or scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage to order. Alternatively these are numerous street cafes nearby.
The main attraction of the hotel is its proximity to shops, restaurants and points of interest - the Roman theatre museum, naval museum, castle, civil war museum, tourist bus and boat.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JCBShipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_M_12_12, Gerente at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear JCBShipley

I would like to start by thanking you, as hotel manager, for the time you have spent sharing this opinion with us about your stay at the NH Cartagena Hotel.

Thank you for all the innumerable comments that you send us, about your stay at our hotel. Believe me, for us they are very important, and for this we work day by day.

In NH Hotel Group we aim to provide excellence in the service we offer, and to that end we continue to work on improving it.

We hope to retell, with your confidence in the future and welcome you again, at the NH Cartagena.

Thank you very much for your attention and receive a greeting

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Just spent a weekend in Cartagena with friends and stayed at the NH Cartagena. The hotel was idealy situated, very close to the sea, ports, shops, bars and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

The rooms were very modern, comfortable and clean. A lovely chocolate fudge cake with fruit was waiting to welcome us along with a bottle of water. There was a chargeable mini bar but to use the fridge and the safe was free.

Breakfast was amazing, with almost everything you could wish for, from Continental and cooked to fresh smoothies and pastries. Fresh fruit, dried fruit, cereal, toast, desserts, jellies, all presented in a very attractive way. It was almost 19 Euros per person, very expensive, however we spent over an hour and worked our way through the courses!!

Our rooms were on the 5th floor and we had a very spacious terrace with table and chairs. Although the view was not directly a seaview, we could still see the sea.

The location was perfect for us to explore the beautiful town, with all its history and culture but also to relax and enjoy the friendly, Spanish hospitality.

Room Tip: Terrace on 5th floor
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_M_12_12, Gerente at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear Lynne C

I would like to start by thanking you, as hotel manager, for the time you have spent sharing this opinion with us about your stay at the NH Cartagena Hotel.

Thank you for the comments you make, about your stay at our hotel. Believe me, for us they are very important, and for this we work day by day.

In NH Hotel Group we aim to provide excellence in the service we offer, and to that end we continue to work on improving it.

We hope to retell, with your confidence in the future and welcome you again, at the NH Cartagena.

Thank you very much for your attention and receive a greeting

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We stayed 4 nights here on our tour of Murcia.

The hotel is quite easy to find and has unrivalled sea views from some rooms that can
look at the various cruise ships that dock nearby nearly every day.

The restaurant is a little basic for a 4* hotel although an enjoyable dinner was taken on our first night.

We were upgraded to a sea view room and the although small had everything you wanted.

Service at the hotel was very good with local map supplied on request.

We did not take breakfast at the hotel after reading other reviews which expressed that it was expensive. We ate instead each morning at a local cafe about 7 minutes walk along the main street Calor Mayor called Panaderia Confiteria Pani which was excellent. 2@ fresh orange juices, 2 @ tomato breads, 2@ coffees all for E6 total.

Car parking is at a premium in Cartegena, so we used the underground hotel car park
which as mentioned before is daunting to enter via a lift! - cost E16 per day.

A excellent choice hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Sea views rooms overlooking the port.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_M_12_12, Gerente at NH Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear Peter H,

I would like to start by thanking you, as hotel manager, for the time you have spent sharing this opinion with us about your stay at the NH Cartagena Hotel.

Thank you for the comments you make, about your stay at our hotel. Believe me, for us they are very important, and for this we work day by day.

In NH Hotel Group we aim to provide excellence in the service we offer, and to that end we continue to work on improving it.

We hope to retell, with your confidence in the future and welcome you again, at the NH Cartagena.

Thank you very much for your attention and receive a greeting

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews