We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Hostal Jerez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Jerez
Ranked #43 of 279 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 December 2011

and a gem it is. Lovely room, clean, comfortable with pleasant reception staff. Unfortunately as a previous reviewer has mentioned it is very, very noisy in the front bedrooms and it is a "red Light" district with "ladies of the Night" working 24 hours a day. If you dont mind this and can tolerate the noise from both inside and outside the hostal (rooms have paper-thin walls) then this is a find. Situated in a beautiful building the hostal occupies 2 floors (5 & 6). Very central with some good "breakfast" cafes nearby.

Room Tip: Head for a back room for peace and quiet but the front rooms have the view of Madrid! Difficult choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Friends28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

stayed in Jerez for 5days in november couldnt be better situated to centre!
extremely pleasant staff, lovely room that was cleaned every day and towels
replaced every day also. appears to have been renovated, flatscreen tv. lovely bathroom.front rooms lively views back rooms could hear a pin drop suited me! security at main entrance and at reception desk, sorry cant find negatives !

Room Tip: back room for quiet night front rooms for life !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vera d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I've stayed at Hostal Jerez about six times in the last four years and it has never disappointed. It's very central, right by Gran Via Metro and just a 3 minute walk from Puerta del Sol.
It's on the 6th floor of a beautiful building and is very safe. This time when I visited I discovered it has a doorman, who I think is employed by the hotel which inhabits the bottom four floors, but he's very friendly and chatty regardless of which hostal you're staying in.
The staff are very welcoming and helpful. They speak a variety of languages but are very pleased if you try out your Spanish with them!
There's a small fridge in the reception area selling water and cold drinks in case you're desperate for something in your room.
It's extremely clean and has been refurbished in the last couple of years.
The rooms are a decent size - the single rooms are perhaps just a tiny bit cramped but for one person, how much room do you need?
The bathrooms all have short baths and very powerful showers.
It's quiet and safe. Free WiFi.
On my last trip, the receptionist was happy to call a taxi company to help me arrange a cab to the airport.
It's reasonably priced. I booked about six weeks in advance and my single room was €45 per night.
I can highly recommend the hostal for a short trip to Madrid.
One extra note: Some people will be put off by the fact that it's on Calle Montera, which is rightfully known as "Prostitute Street", but don't let that worry you. It's a main thoroughfare with loads of shops on each side of the road. The main police station is halfway down the road and being right on the corner of Gran Via, it's well-lit and there are lots of people around all the time. It's true that the local prostitutes hang out in the street day and night but that is no problem whatsoever. There is no feeling of threat. Remember that prostitution itself is legal in Spain - it's pimping that's illegal.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms look out over Calle Montera so there's a wonderful buzz when you open your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmsR2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

If you want a clean bed, a small bathroom and a central location, then Hostal Jerez is fine. The negatives issues are: WiFi connection terribly unstable, bathroom lacking sufficient shower soap/gel plus an early check-out time of 11.30am!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dad-On-The-Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I spent three days in Madrid with my family and we chose the Hostal Jerez after reading some reviews on the Internet. We were not disappointed; the hostel is clean, at the very city center, very comfortable and we paid a reasonable price for the triple room. The only thing I did not like was that the central heating was on and it was too hot inside the building.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoliHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#89 of 437 in Madrid
1,343 reviews
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
#78 of 437 in Madrid
998 reviews
Centro
Hostal Luis XV
Hostal Luis XV
#61 of 414 in Madrid
297 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#4 of 279 in Madrid
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Jerez? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Jerez

Address: Calle Montera 47 6a Planta, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 3,981 - ₹ 7,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Jerez 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Jerez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Jerez Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing