We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stay in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
Ranked #31 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Everything I needed for my short stay in Madrid – a central location with good transport links and nice accommodation with the ability to fix simple meals.

After reading other comments about kitchen crockery, I mentioned that I’d need a full set of utensils, etc when I made my reservation and when I checked in I was told that it was all ready in the room, which it was. The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful and never made any attempt to speak to me in English, which I appreciated as I wanted to speak Spanish, even though they had excellent English when I heard them dealing with other guests.

The room (junior suite on top floor) was well proportioned, with comfortable beds, quiet and efficient air con and a small but adequate kitchen. The bathroom design was flawed as I would have sacrificed the bidet in order to have more space for the toilet which was right up against the sink countertop. The shower water temperature was also rather temperamental and never constant which was disappointing given the good pressure and shower head.

Toiletries provided included wall-mounted shower gel/shampoo, which was made in Germany and quite pleasant. Comb, shoe-shine, shower cap, toothbrush/paste, razor/cream but no body lotion or conditioner. The flat-screen TV had many digital and HD channels (mostly Spanish, TV and radio) and although I could get a good WiFi signal in the room, it would only work correctly when I was in the lobby.

Electronic safe worked well and there was ample storage for 2 people. The terrace was a great size though pretty bare, with table & 4 chairs and a sunbed. Unfortunately, given the temperatures during my stay (edging 40C most days), I could only use the terrace for breakfast when it was a comfortable 25C as facing west at the rear of the property, it was in full sun from late morning onwards. It was fairly private, though could have done with the same opaque screening from the apartment in the neighbouring residential block as there was between other suite terraces as the residents in the apartment were clearly visible.

The property is just a few minutes’ walk to either Plaza de Espana or Ventura Rodriguez metro stations but you can be on the Gran Via in about 5 minutes walking. There are several Dia supermarkets in the locality (one in the next street) or there’s a large supermarket in the basement of most Corte Ingles department stores, the nearest being at Arguelles metro (about 10 mins’ walk away). The hotel is also just a few blocks away from the parks on the west side, the Templo de Debod and the Teleferico.

I found the hotel to be very quiet and it was nice to get back to tranquility after the heat and bustle of central Madrid. I will consider it for my next stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are away from the street and face SW so get a lot of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 417 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The rooms are a good size and very clean. Loved having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The staff spoke English which was a plus since my Spanish is bad. It's conveniently located near the metro, shopping and other landmarks. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if I were to visit Spain again. I was recommended this hotel and I am glad I booked here based on the recommendation. The only negative was that they did not have wash clothes but we had our own anyway. So if you use a washcloth when you shower be sure to bring your own.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thisiseasycash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My sister and i had quite an enjoyable stay at the viena suites. The room was spacious and the beds were really comfortable! The air con was great with the 35+ degree heat of madrid!
The Viena suites were let down by a few things though, the staff werent always helpful (apart from a few cheerful staff members), even though we left our towels on the floor to be changed they were hung back up every day unchanged and finally the wifi was unreliable in our room.
The hotel also didnt do airport transfers even when we had a very late flight into madrid.
Overall its a nice hotel in a good location, in close proximity to the palace and central madrid however it waslet down by some minor faults.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadeleineTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. Very clean, excellent location for exploring Madrid wIth the royal palace about 15mins walk. The staff were fantastic and even helped us find an English speaking doctor. Free wifi in all room and very good value. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffield88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel is excellent. Our room had a balcony from the bedroom, and one from the living room. There is a tv in the bedroom, and one in the living room. It has a kitchen, microwave etc. A kettle is available at reception. Clean and very spacious suites.
We found the reception staff to be excellent. Very friendly and helpful. There is an espresso machine near reception (1.60 per cup), I wasn't sure how to use it, so the man at reception made it for me. Each time we walked passed reception we were greeted with a smile.
The Temble of Debod, Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, Gran Via and Plaza de Espana are all within 2km. El Corte Ingles is on Gran Via, and has a supermarket.
To get here from the airport, we used the Metro (subway), LIne 8 to Nuevos Ministerios, then change to Line 10 towards Puerta del sur, getting off at Plaza de Espana. From there it is a 500m walk.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGFlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,758 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#64 of 441 in Madrid
1,795 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#46 of 441 in Madrid
681 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#6 of 441 in Madrid
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana

Address: Calle Juan Alvarez Mendizabal 17, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Sercotel Suites Viena)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 5,541 - ₹ 11,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Viena Plaza de España is a cosy Hotel located in a quiet Street in the Centre of Madrid. Only 200 metres separate Suites Viena Plaza de España from Plaza de Espana and in less than a 5 minute walk you are in Gran Via, Debod Temple or the Royal Palace. Suites Viena Plaza de España is a modern building (2007) with 50 Studios, 5 Junior Suites (with a terrace) and 2 Senior Suites (with a separate living room. Every room has AA/Heat (all year), working table, safe, free wifi and satellite TV. Also, there is a little kitchen in every room, equipped with a microwave, a small fridge, cooktop and extractor. Kitchen facilities are handed in, free of charge, to all the guests who demand it. We have special added values you can benefit of through our official online page. Buffet Breakfast is served by the Traditional "Viena Capellanes". Private Parking, connected to rooms through the elevator. Free Wifi in the whole building. Business Corner: free use of PC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viena Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing