We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel, but location could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Madrid Este
Ranked #92 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

we were two young (mid twenties) couples, with two rooms. It was a suprisingly far taxi ride from the airport (about 30Euros I think). But the busier areas of town are about that far, so any good hotel would be that far from the airport.

When we arrived (on a wekend evening), the area of this hotel was desserted. It was obviously the business district. It is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro (subway) station.

the hotel was quite modern in design, and all the ammenties were good. At first we thought breakfast was terrible. We now realize that Spain just isn't big on breakfast, so relatively, this hotel had a decent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel and staff were nice, the room interior was excellent. It's just that I need to walk and spend time before finally I found the hotel. I was here on Saturday and Sunday and Madrid is like a dead city during weekend. Don't travel to here on Saturday and Sunday.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BambangKaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed one night there coming from France to begin a short visit by car to Toledo, Salamanca, Ávila and Segovia, and then two nights on our way back to finally return to Lima, Peru, where we live. For travelling from Madrid to other cities by car is it conveniently located, or if you have a car the hotel is also very good (because it is off the center of Madrid). We were given a good size room, well kept and clean, and the service was attentive and cordial. For 55 Euros a night it cannot be beaten, and for what we needed, it was a smart a very good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here for a week at the start of Sept, the hotel was really cheap for the week I think we payed around 300 for two of us for the week. If your not prepered to travel into the centre of Madrid I don't advise this hotel, the hotel is a 10 min walk from a metro then a 20 min ride into town from the metro. The hotel itself was very clean and modern, the room was big and was cleaned every day so was very happy with this. The staff was excellent aswell, we don't speak no Spanish so they was a big help to us, they gave directions to all the sights and attractions we wanted to see. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on this but other service included free use of the sauna and gym. Overall this is a nice, modern hotel at affordable price...... just a shame about the location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitch1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Modern room w/ shower & shower. Power blinds, but it doesn't cover the window properly, letting in a lot of light. You have to ask for some toiletries at the reception, which is a little hassle. The elevator is extremely small, fits like 2 people with luggages. It will only be a problem if you run into tour groups checking in. It seems a lot of its business comes from tour groups. The hotel is about 15mins walk from the nearest metro. Then, it's another 20mins to the centre. A bit of traveling each day, but it's worth it for good accommodation at reasonable prices. There are supermarkets nearby. We had a good stay and the front staff was very helpful, answering all our questions and calling restaurants for us. They made this stay special!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala
#129 of 438 in Madrid
849 reviews
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#110 of 438 in Madrid
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silken Torre Garden
#107 of 438 in Madrid
674 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#105 of 438 in Madrid
1,488 reviews
ILUNION Atrium
#88 of 438 in Madrid
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Madrid Este? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Madrid Este

Address: Calle Julian Camarillo 19-21, 28037 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Torre Arias)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#69 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#72 Family Hotel in Madrid
#79 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#91 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: ₹ 4,159 - ₹ 8,934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Madrid Este 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Occidental Madrid Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Torre Arias Hotel Madrid
Barcelo Hotel Madrid
Barcelo Hotel Torre Arias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing