We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice room & Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Oriente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Oriente
Ranked #95 of 447 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
DenHaag
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice room & Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The room and the location of Hostal Oriente are perfect. Together with having a reasobale rate this makes Hostal Orinete a very good choise. The room looked classic and nice. It had anough space for an extra bed for our son. Though on the street side, the noise was not to bad. After all it's an pedestrian street. No motorised vehicels. Missed a bit that there is no breakfast available in the place itself, but more for atmosphere than something else because. next door there is a branch of a famous Spanish fast food chain, where you can have sandwiches, rolls, coffee fresh juice etc. Yes, not everybody speaks English, but I think that's hardly a problem. Als the lady who didn.t speak English could point us to the police which we unfortunatly needed. The bad English of the police officers is more a problem!
Entrance to first floor is not impressive, but once you are inside: Room is nice and rate reasonable, so together with the perfect location: highly recommanded!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    184
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
148
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Great location, clean rooms and friendly staff. Only disadvantage is that it's quite noisy. If you don't mind hearing your neighbour flush his toilet, then it's definitely a perfect base for a few days sightseeing madrid!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmielNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hostal location is excelente, in front of one exit of the Opera metro. There is no way to get wrong. Close to the main atractions and everything: shop, restaurants, etc.
Nice and clean room, had everything I need. I did no have problem with the communication as I speak spanish. They also offer free internet access at one computer they have.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heka_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We completely echo all of the positive reviews of this hostal. It is very easy to find once you exit the Opera metro station, being immediately opposite.
It is true that the chap on reception does not speak much English but this was not a problem on checking in and the lovely ladies who keep the accommodation so clean speak very good English and work on reception sometimes too. The rooms that our friends and ourselves occupied were extremely clean, as were all areas, and comfortable. Our room was on the front of the hostal and street noise was heard into the small hours, whereas our friends' room on the back was quiet. It is possible to leave your luggage there while you go off and explore, as we did on our last day. There is a coffee machine in the general area on the second floor, and a table where you can sit and eat lunch or breakfast, which can be purchased from the supermarket opposite. There is 15 minutes of free internet in the same room. McDonalds is virtually next door and serves very good coffee at a reasonable price.
The location of the Oriente is superb, just a short walk away from the Palace and Plaza Mayor, from where we got on the Red Top bus and also the starting point for the excellent Sandemans' free walking tour. The Tourist Information Office is also in this location. Both of these were excellent starting points for exploring the city, especially the walking tour, learning a lot about the city from Anouschka, our enthusiastic guide. A tip from her worth sharing is that the Palace has free entrance on Wednesdays for those with an EU passport - but be prepared for long queues unless you get there early. She pointed out the Chocolateria San Gines, just around the corner from the hostal Oriente, where you can enjoy churros and hot chocolate or coffee 24/7 - very nice but very filling - 6 each is rather a lot, we couldn't eat them all!
We bought a two-day red top bus tour ticket and did a tour on each day, including transport to the Bernabeu stadium and extra tours in the evening to see the city lit up rather than booking extra night tours for that purpose. You can get to all of the major sights on the red bus. We also purchased the ten trip metro ticket from the airport which can be shared between your party and this worked out well.
All in all a very good trip to Madrid with the Hostal Oriente providing an excellent base.

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livingfortoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Located directly above Placa Oriente where street performers come out at night with the national theater just meters away, you're paying for location here.

The room was nothing to write home about, clean but small. Decent selection of cable channels. Reception was unobtrusive and spoke limited English. No restaurant on-site but tons right in the vicinity.

However, as previously mentioned, walkable to almost all major sites in the old part of Madrid. El Prado Museum would've been maybe the farthest, at 20-25 minutes away, but the Madrid metro is excellent.

Overall, Hostal Oriente represented good value for a clean, decent property with an excellent location. My room faced the inner courtyard so there wasn't any extraneous noise, but walls are relatively thin so I could hear snoring from another room (!) I was happy with my stay and would recommend.

Travel tips: (1) It’s worth checking on-line to see what events are on during your visit. You may be surprised to learn of the many free things available. For instance, I lined up with the other (cheap… er, budget conscious) artlovers at the Prado Museum. Usual entry is €10 but the museum is free from 6-8pm. The line moved quickly and within 10 minutes, we were in. Invest €3.50 of the money you saved on an audioguide, an excellent resource for giving the history and interesting backstories of the many Biblical and mythological-themed works. (2) Another valuable freebie is Sandeman’s city tours (www.neweuropetours.eu). Done by excellent passionate freelance guides, there are free walking city tours (guides work on tips only) as well as reasonably priced paid tours in 14 cities across Europe. (FYI, the guide must pay the tour company €2.50 per passenger, so remember to factor that into your tip). The 3 hour walking tour I did was an excellent orientation to the city. (3) Using the metro from the airport to get to Hostal Oriente was an easy 50 minute trip. Yes, you have to change lines twice, but I arrived in the early afternoon and the cars were never overcrowded. Madrid offers discounted 10-trip metro cards. There is also an unlimited 2-day tourist metro card that is roughly the same price. However, note that trips to / from the airport will require a €1 supplement.

For more travel tips on things to do in Madrid, including catching a flamenco show and where to find the best tapas, check out my travel blog as I take a trip around the world.

http://dreamtravelblog.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/spanish-people-are-good-looking/

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Gala
Hostal Gala
#96 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#87 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#50 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#86 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#47 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Oriente? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Oriente

Property: Hostal Oriente
Address: C Arenal 23, 1st Floor, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#63 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#85 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,853 - ₹ 7,925
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Oriente 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriente Hostal Madrid
Oriente Hostal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing